Washburn Law Homepage    |      enewsletter archives     |     Update my information     |     Make a donation 
new enewsletter banner March 2012 
May 2013

Photograph: Dean Thomas Romig.

Washburn Law's oil and gas law program has been a leader among law schools for nearly a quarter of a century, teaching all aspects of oil and gas law.


Recognizing the need to formally position our program nationally we have launched the Oil and Gas Law Center, directed by Professor David Pierce, Norman R. Pozez Chair in Business and Transactional Law. You can read more  about the Center in this newsletter and in-depth in the upcoming issue of the Washburn Lawyer alumni magazine. 


We have recently honored five of our distinguished professors with endowed chairs and/or professorships made possible by contributions from generous alumni. The article in this issue highlights those professors, many of whom you will remember from your time at Washburn Law.


As always, I look forward to upcoming travels and events in which I will have the opportunity to meet with you and other alumni who continue to be our loyal supporters. 


Best regards,

Image: Tom's signature.  

Tom Romig 

Dean and Professor of Law

Oil and Gas Law Center Launched
Photograph: David Pierce.Washburn University School of Law has launched its new Oil and Gas Law Center, which is the law school's fifth Center for Excellence. Professor David Pierce is the Center's director. Pierce has been the driving force behind the oil and gas law program at Washburn Law since its inception nearly a quarter of a century ago in 1989.
"Our program takes a positive approach to the subject matter because it's not necessarily pro-industry but it's certainly not anti-industry. We are training the future lawyers the industry will need to do business effectively. We are training the future lawyers governmental agencies will need to effectively regulate the industry," Pierce said.

[Read more]

Endowed Chairs, Professorships Awarded
Washburn University School of Law has awarded endowed chairs and professorships to five law professors.The endowments honor the professors for their contributions to the Law School and their field of law. The positions provide them with extra resources to pursue their work. For example, the funding allows them to hire research assistants, travel to conferences, or invite speakers to the Law School.

Bill RichWilliam Rich was named the James R. Ahrens Chair in Torts and Constitutional Law.





Professor David PierceDavid E. Pierce was named

the Norman R. Pozez Chair in Business and Transactional Law and Professor of Law.



Linda ElrodLinda Henry Elrod was reaffirmed as the Richard S. Righter Distinguished Professor of Law.





Professor Jim ConcannonJames M. Concannon was named the Senator Robert J. Dole Distinguished Professor of Law.




Professor Amy WestbrookAmy Deen Westbrook was named the Kurt M. Sager Memorial Distinguished Professor of International and Commercial Law.

Commencement 2013
Photograph: Commencement 2013. Washburn University School of Law held its 108th Commencement on May 11. One hundred fifty-one students graduated, and 76 certificates were awarded in 8 different specialty areas. Twelve students were recognized for their pro bono work.


Stanley C. Sager, '57, was the recipient of the honorary doctor of law and the commencement speaker. Will Foster was named William O. Douglas Outstanding Professor of the Year, and The Honorable C. William "Bill" Ossmann, '77, was named Adjunct Professor of the Year. 
Select photos from commencement are available on Facebook.
LARW Ranked
11th Nationally

Washburn University School of Law's Legal Analysis, Research, and Writing Program is ranked 11th among all law schools in the U.S. News and World Report's 2014 Best Graduate Schools ranking. The LARW program at Washburn Law is the only law school specialty program in Kansas and the Kansas City metro area to receive a national ranking for 2014. [Read more]

In-State Tuition for Colorado Residents
Colorado residents will qualify for in-state tuition at Washburn Law beginning fall 2013. They will join Kansas and Missouri residents in access to in-state tuition.

Other students may apply for resident tuition after they have lived in Kansas for only six months. Contact the Admissions Office for details.
June 7
Admitted Student BBQ 
June 21

June 27-28
Selected Topics and Miscellany CLE, Law School Room 102

August 15-16
Case Management CLE, Law School Room 120

September 12
Advanced Family Law CLE, Kansas City

September 17
Constitution Day Event, Washburn campus

October 4
Alumni Golf Tournament & CLE, Mayetta, Kan.

October 5
Board of Governor's Meeting, Kansas City
Dean's Circle, Kansas City

Quick Links

Give Now  

Join our Mailing List!



Image: Become a fan on Facebook. Image: Follow Washburn Law on Twitter. YouTubeLogo