Wellesley Books Newsletter 
  September 27th, 2017
Ah, the smell of pumpkin spice lattes in the air, the attack of the downtown ash tree leaves, the earlier nightfall, and the cool, crisp chill in the air (well, not yet -- but soon!)  . . . it must be the beginning of autumn in Wellesley!  This is easily my favorite season in New England, and there's always so much to discover.  Fall into the store for hundreds of new book titles (the publishers always wait to release the biggest books in autumn).  While you're here, check out our amazing gifts.  Our new gift buyer, Amy, has been scouring the various gift shows for new, fabulous gifts that you'll just have to own.  Any season is great at the bookstore, but this autumn promises to be the best one yet -- and in New England, that's saying something!
Upcoming Events At Wellesley Books
All events are free to the public, unless otherwise noted.
 Purchase the lead title  from Wellesley Books to enter the signing line!  

TOMORROW!  Thursday, September 28th, 7:00 PM.  Award-winning author Francisco X. Stork ( Marcelo In The Real World) presents and signs his thrilling new young adult novel, Disappeared.  A young reporter in Juarez searches for her best friend, a girl kidnapped by a cartel.  Her brother, a soccer star, finds himself supplementing the family income by running errands for a shady family.  The siblings will be forced to flee across the desert towards the United States, in a tale ripped from today's headlines.

Tuesday, October 3rd, 7:00 PM. In the follow-up to his bestseller Rescue Road, acclaimed journalist Peter Zheutlin offers a heartwarming and often humorous new look into the world of rescue dogs with his new book, Rescued. Sharing lessons from his own experiences adopting Labs with large personalities, as well as stories and advice from dozens of families and rescue advocates, Zheutlin will reveal the surprising and inspiring life lessons rescue dogs can teach us. As a special treat, we will have adoptable dogs from a local shelter at this event!

SOLD OUT! Thursday, October 5th, 7:00 PM.  Beloved chef and award-winning cookbook author Joanne Chang ( Flour) will discuss and sign the first cookbook from her acclaimed Boston restaurant, Myers+Chang, just in time for its tenth anniversary.  This new book, Myers+Chang At Home, pairs favorite recipes with colorful photography that perfectly captures the spirit of the restaurant.  Please note that this is a ticketed event. Your ticket includes a copy of Myers+Chang At Home, Joanne's presentation, and entry into the signing line.  SOLD OUT!

Tuesday, October 10th, 7:00 PM.  Join us for an evening of fascinating autobiography as author Joyce Maynard ( Labor Day) discusses and signs her new memoir, The Best Of Us.  Presented in conversation with fellow author Andre Dubus III ( House Of Sand And Fog), this is certain to be an absorbing program.  Please note that this is a ticketed event. Your $5 ticket can be used as a coupon off the price of the book.

SOLD OUT!  Thursday, October 12th, 7:00 PM.  Celeste Ng's first book, Everything I Never Told You, was a huge bestseller and one of our favorite books of 2015.  Her new novel, Little Fires Everywhere, is equally thought-provoking, featuring social commentary and gripping drama as a custody case divides the town of Shaker Heights into opposing factions.  Join Celeste as she discusses and signs this terrific new book.  SOLD OUT!

Sunday, October 15th, 4:00 PM.  The bestselling author of the Kingdom Keepers series, Ridley Pearson, presents the second book in the Lock and Key trilogy -- The Downward Spiral.  The author will visit the store to speak about this thrilling middle-grade series, in which the reader learns about the origins of the animosity between Sherlock Holmes and James Moriarty, as told by James's sister, Moria.  Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series, said, "Only a mastermind like Ridley Pearson could put such a fresh spin on Sherlock Holmes."

Tuesday, October 17th, 7:00 PM.  From Newbery Award-winning author Avi ( Crispin: The Cross of Lead) comes The Player King, the gripping and amazingly true tale of a boy plucked from the gutter to become the King of England.  Meet the author and learn all about England in 1486 and King Henry VII while enjoying a rousing story of power, battles, and adventure!  Please note that this is a ticketed event. Your $5 ticket can be used as a coupon off the price of the book.
Bill's Book Group For Guys
by Richard Ford

As a sportswriter, Frank Bascombe makes his living studying people who live entirely within themselves, a condition that Frank himself aspires to attain, but at thirty-eight, he suffers from incurable dreaminess.  This painfully funny novel established Ford as one of the best realist American writers.

Join Bill's Book Group for Guys for a relaxed evening in the store discussing a specially-chosen book while enjoying a beer, glass of wine, or select single-malt whiskey.  $25 buys the book and a ticket to the event.
Betty's Lunchtime Book Group
by Margaret Atwood

Betty Sudarsky, unparalleled bookseller and experienced book club leader, chooses each book carefully and leads the discussion.  Bring your own lunch if you like; Betty supplies snacks, drinks, and insight.  No need to sign up; drop-ins are welcome.  
Bookseller Recommendations

William Recommends:

The Ninth Hour by Alice McDermott
In this new novel, the reader is introduced to a cloister of nuns who aid a young, pregnant widow after her husband commits suicide.  Through several generations, the family grows and changes, but their lives are always intertwined with those of the nuns, even when at their messiest.  More than a family epic, this novel is also a rumination on mortality, Christian ethics, our expectation of the afterlife, guilt and sin, and the blessing of forgiveness.  Fans of Colm Toibin and Marilynne Robinson should take note.

Betty Recommends:

Forest Dark by Nicole Krauss
Jules, at the end of a very profitable career and his marriage, goes to Israel to make peace with his parents (now gone) and on the way discovers a genetic link to King David.  A younger author, whose strained marriage plays out in the back of her mind, is looking for clarity and falls into an exploration of Kafka.  Each has a crazy character for an escort and part of the fun is differentiating the real from the virtual.  Brilliant, provocative, and often hilarious, this is Krauss's most accomplished novel to date.

Sally Recommends:

The Heart's Invisible Furies by John Boyne
This epic novel details the story of Cyril Avery from the time of his illegitimate birth in Ireland through seventy years of his life. Reminiscent of early John Irving, it tells of his grappling with life, love, acceptance, and his sexuality. It is warm and funny and heartbreaking and quite wonderful!


Pete Recommends :
The Outer Beach by Robert Finch
This book will remind you that there are still some wild places left on the Cape.  The author deals with many topics, such as environmentalism, the role of nature, disasters and their aftermaths, lighthouses, dancing, and other topics he's pondered in over fifty years and over a thousand miles of walking.  Finch's mix of personal stories, essays, and local history will inspire you to speed past Hyannis to get to the 'real' Cape.    
New In Hardcover

Don't Let Go
Harlan Coben

Sleeping Beauties
Stephen and
Owen King

Five-Carat Soul
James McBride

The TB12 Method
Tom Brady

The Prague Sonata
Bradford Morrow

The Cuban Affair
 Nelson DeMille
New In Paperback

Michael Chabon

 Joe Ide

The Girl From Venice
 Martin Cruz Smith

 Daisy Goodwin

Blood At The Root
Patrick Phillips

Words Of Radiance
Brandon Sanderson
New Books For Kids

Story Thieves: Pick The Plot
James Riley

Hog Wild
Sandra Boynton And Friends

Bruce's Big Move by
Ryan T. Higgins
New Books For Young Adults

A Short History Of The Girl Next Door
Jared Reck

Jennifer Mathieu

Patrick Ness

News From The Used Book Cellar 
Every Saturday, from noon to 3:00 PM, Melinda, our used books guru,  takes trade-ins of used paperbacks for store credit in our Used Book Cellar. There is a limit of two bags or one box -- about fifty books -- but this is a perfect time to make room on your bookshelves for the new books arriving this fall!  Currently, she is receiving more kids books than she can handle, but she is in need of adult paperbacks, especially non-fiction.  If you have gently-read memoirs, biographies, history, or reference books, Melinda would love to give you a credit that you can use to buy new books.

Fall Fashions have arrived at Wellesley Books 

Complement your autumn wardrobe!  We have great new styles of hats, scarves, totes, and accessories for men and women.  


What We're Reading Now...





Dog of the Week
Puddles is a one and a half year old beagle / whippet mix, who was named for all the puddles she left after munching on ice cubes.  She was a rescue from Schultz House.  She enjoys running at the playground, running at home -- just running in general!  She also really, really loves those ice cubes!  Welcome to Wellesley Books, Puddles.
Introducing Libro.fm Memberships

Do you love listening to your favorite books on the go?  More and more people do -- and Libro.fm offers the best way to listen, with superior audio quality audiobooks (2x industry standard) -- and more than 70,000 to choose from!. The folks at Libro.fm are indies, just like us, and a portion of every sale goes to your favorite independent bookstore.  It's the best way to "shop local" for digital audiobooks.  Plus, Libro.fm now offers monthly memberships! For just $14.99 each month, choose one free audiobook, and get 30% off all additional purchases.  To celebrate the launch, your first month's membership is just 99¢! All Libro.fm audiobooks are DRM-free -- you buy it, you own it -- and unused credits never expire. You'll get a great listening experience at a discounted price, along with a huge selection, and the satisfaction of supporting your local business.  Visit  libro.fm/wellesleybooks  to start your membership and get your first month for just 99¢! (Have unused Audible credits? Come see us in the store -- we can help you convert up to two Audible credits over to Libro.fm!)


"A book lying idle on a shelf is wasted ammunition. Like money, books must be kept in constant circulation... A book is not only a friend, it makes friends for you. When you have possessed a book with mind and spirit, you are enriched. But when you pass it on you are enriched threefold." 
-- Henry Miller

Thank you for supporting your community
independent bookstore!
William D. Carl

Contact us:
store @wellesleybooks.com
82 Central Street,
Wellesley, Ma. 02482

     View on Instagram   Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   Find us on Google+