Wellesley Books Newsletter 
  January 3rd, 2018


Happy New Year!  It's time to make those resolutions -- and this year, we're all sticking to them! Whether you want to shore up your nest-egg or shed those pesky last ten pounds from the holidays, you will surely need some advice.  From books, of course!  We have books to help you be happier all around, books to inspire you, and great cookbooks to teach you how to prepare that perfect meal.  Perhaps you would like to relax more or escape into a good novel when life (and those resolutions) gets tough. Wherever you want to take yourself in 2018, we have a book to guide you on your journey.  What's our resolution?  We had a terrific year with our events in 2017 (see the banner above), and we resolve to bring you more exciting events this year, starting with Elly Swartz and Kristin Hannah in February!  Here's to 2018, and may you keep at least half of your resolutions!

Upcoming Events At Wellesley Books
 
All events are free to the public, unless otherwise noted.
 Purchase the lead title  from Wellesley Books to enter the signing line!  
 
 
 
 
Saturday, February 3rd, 4:00 PM. Elly Swartz, author of last year's wonderful Finding Perfect, reads from and signs copies of her new novel for Middle School kids, Smart Cookie.  This charming story revolves around the importance of family and the need to sometimes keep secrets.  Frankie is determined to find her Dad a new wife, and she posts a profile on a dating website.  With humor and heart, Swartz details the results of this escapade.  
 
 
   
 
 
Thursday, February 8th, 7 :00PM.  Join best-selling author Kristin Hannah ( The Nightingale) as she presents her new novel, The Great Alone.  When thirteen-year-old Leni Allbright's unpredictable father loses his job, he makes an impulsive, desperate decision: he will move the family to Alaska, where they will live off the land.  Your $5 ticket can be used as a coupon off the price of the book. This Wellesley Books event will take place at The Rivers School in Weston.



Bill's Book Group For Guys
 
by Cormac McCarthy


Cormac McCarthy's true epic is based on historical events from the 1850s on the Texas-Mexico border. It traces the fortunes of the Kid, a 14-year-old from Tennessee who stumbles into a nightmarish world where Indians are being murdered for their scalps.


Join Bill's Book Group for Guys for a relaxed evening in the store discussing a specially-chosen book while enjoying a beer, glass of wine, or select single-malt whiskey.  $20 buys the book and a ticket to the event.
Betty's Lunchtime Book Group
 
by Emily Fridlund

Guest Moderator -- Julie Buchta

Betty Sudarsky, unparalleled bookseller and experienced book club leader, chooses each book carefully and leads the discussion.  Bring your own lunch if you like; Betty supplies snacks, drinks, and insight.  No need to sign up; drop-ins are welcome.  
Bookseller Recommendations
s

Jane Recommends:
The Woman In The Window by A.J. Finn
Can you solve a crime without leaving your home? Agoraphobic and alcoholic, Anna Fox spends her days drinking merlot, watching old movies, and spying on the neighbors. Until one day she sees -- what?  A murder? Or a hallucination? You'll zoom through the pages of this psychological thriller to find the answer!  Fans of Ruth Ware or B.A. Paris will love this book.




 
Lorna Recommends:
Sourdough by Robin Sloan
The unexpected gift of a crock full of sourdough starter leads software engineer Lois Clary on a journey of self discovery as she gains new skills and new friendships in the halls of San Francisco food markets.  This fun novel will have you craving a nice, crusty loaf of bread.






Betty Recommends:
The Rooster Bar by John Grisham
Discouraged by their sub-par law school and the crushing debt they've incurred to study there, three law students set out to maximize their legal skills.  Their acts turn into more than a caper when they are unmasked.  Still they almost manage to run faster than the law in what is a charming new John Grisham tale.  Perfect for reading by a fire, the book has pace, charming characters, and just enough grit. 
 
 
 
 
 
Gillian Recommends: 
The Dark Lake by Sarah Bailey  
When a beautiful young teacher is found murdered in a small Australian town, Detective Gemma Woodstock is confident that her own complicated past with the victim won't compromise her ability to solve the case.  She couldn't be more wrong! 



New In Hardcover

The Wanted
 by
Robert Crais

A State Of Freedom
 by
Neel Mukherjee

The Wolves Of Winter
by
Tyrell Johnson

Timeless
 by
Patrick Ahearn

Meditation For Fidgety Skeptics
 by
 Dan Harris

The Music Shop
 by
Rachel Joyce
New In Paperback

The Hearts Of Men
 by
Nickolas Butler

South And West
by
Joan Didion

Mississippi Blood
 by
Greg Iles

The Impossible Fortress
 by
Jason Rekulak

The Dry
 by
Jane Harper

The Futures
 by
Anna Pitoniak
New Books For Kids

Dog Man And Cat Kid
 by
Dav Pilkey

Detention Of Doom
 by
Derek Fridolfs and Dustin Nguyen

Notorious RBG: Young People's Edition
 by
Irin Carmon and Shana Knizhnik
New Books For Young Adults

Batman: Nightwalker
 by
Marie Lu

The Cruel Prince
 by
Holly Black

Everless
 by
Sara Holland


Gifts For Great prices

Our gift department is throwing their annual After Christmas Sale.  Save on items such as gift wrap, boxed holiday cards, table cloths, decorations, and even more holiday treasures.  Stock up for next year, but visit us as soon as you can.  Quantities are limited, and the most popular gifts will sell out swiftly!
 
What We're Reading Now...

Melinda

Wesley

William

Phyllis

Peter

Lauren
Dog of the Week
Tippi 
 
   Tippi is a three and a half year old Chihuahua / terrier mix who braved the frigid temperatures to show off her new coat.  She was named after the actress Tippi Hedren, as her owners love the film The Birds.  Tippi also loves birds -- the real kind, not the film.  Her favorite activities are cuddling, chasing squirrels, and eating whipped cream.  Welcome to Wellesley Books, Tippi!
Introducing Libro.fm Memberships
Do you love listening to your favorite books on the go?  More and more people do -- and Libro.fm offers the best way to listen, with superior audio quality audiobooks (2x industry standard) -- and more than 70,000 to choose from!. The folks at Libro.fm are indies, just like us, and a portion of every sale goes to your favorite independent bookstore.  It's the best way to "shop local" for digital audiobooks.  Plus, Libro.fm now offers monthly memberships! For just $14.99 each month, choose one free audiobook, and get 30% off all additional purchases.  To celebrate the launch, your first month's membership is just 99¢! All Libro.fm audiobooks are DRM-free -- you buy it, you own it -- and unused credits never expire. You'll get a great listening experience at a discounted price, along with a huge selection, and the satisfaction of supporting your local business.  Visit  libro.fm/wellesleybooks  to start your membership and get your first month for just 99¢! (Have unused Audible credits? Come see us in the store -- we can help you convert up to two Audible credits over to Libro.fm!)
 


 

"What really knocks me out is a book that, when you're all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it. That doesn't happen much, though."
-- J.D. Salinger


Thank you for supporting your community
independent bookstore!
Sincerely,
William D. Carl

Contact us:
store @wellesleybooks.com
82 Central Street,
Wellesley, Ma. 02482
781-431-1160

     View on Instagram   Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   Find us on Google+