Wellesley Books Newsletter  
July 11th, 2018


It's summer, and in Wellesley, that means it's time for July Jubilation!  On Saturday, July 21st, the storefronts of Wellesley sprout tables and racks full of sidewalk sale bargains -- and we will have lots of amazing mark-downs in front of our store!  Besides the deals, there are lots of family-friendly activities all over Wellesley Square, including face painting, a petting zoo, magicians, bounce houses, dance performances, and music from  the Wellesley Symphony.  There's so much to do, it's nearly impossible to experience everything.  And did I mention the free parking?  Visit us during this fun event and snag some bargains while you shop your way through town.  For more details about July Jubilation, click on the picture to the left.

Bill's Book Group For Guys
 
by Tom Perrotta


From the "Steinbeck of suburbia" comes a penetrating and hilarious novel about sex, love, and identity on the front lines of America's culture wars.

Join Bill's Book Group for Guys for a relaxed evening in the store discussing a specially-chosen book while enjoying a beer, glass of wine, or select single-malt whiskey.  $25 buys the book and a ticket to the event.
Betty's Lunchtime Book Group
 
by John Boyne



Betty Sudarsky, unparalleled bookseller and experienced book club leader, chooses each book carefully and leads the discussion.  Bring your own lunch if you like; Betty supplies snacks, drinks, and insight.  No need to sign up; drop-ins are welcome.  
Bookseller Recommendations

William Recommends:
The Great Believers by Rebecca Makkai
Within two storylines, one taking place in Chicago during the AIDS crisis in the 1980s and one in Paris in modern times, Makkai brings two lovely stories rife with real relationships and political issues to vivid life.  But this isn't a depressing novel; it's filled with the warmth of everything that's best in human nature -- love, family, friendship, and the manner in which people will rise to the occasion.  I loved every page of it, and it is a perfect summer read!





Rebecca Recommends:
How To Be Famous by Caitlin Moran
Reading How to be Famous is like lingering in the pub with your smartest friend and getting buzzed off of the conversation as much as whatever's in your pint glasses.  This is a sequel of sorts to How to Build a Girl, but the story's more polished and the politics feel more urgent.  Queue up the Britpop playlist and throw this one in your beach bag. 
 
 
 
 
 


Marilyn Recommends:
Life In The Garden by Penelope Lively
This is the perfect time of year to read this beautifully written, informative, and thoughtful book about all aspects of gardening. Lively writes about garden history, fictional gardens, and her own gardens as well as others of family and tour visits she has taken. I knew it was going to be delightful from page 2 when she wrote, "The daffodils her mother tried to grow in Egypt were rightly aghast at what was required of them..." 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Rachael Recommends:
Bearskin by James A. McLaughlin
Rice Moore is no stranger to trouble. It seems to follow him wherever he goes, including the remote forest preserve for which he is responsible. Someone has been poaching black bears, so Rice sets into motion a plan that could dredge up his violent past. This debut is a taught, unsettling tale of justice and retribution, and it's perfect for fans of Longmire or Elmore Leonard. 
 
New In Hardcover

Clock Dance
 by
Anne Tyler

The Cabin At The End Of The World
by
Paul Tremblay

Bound For Gold
 by
William Martin

My Year Of Rest And Relaxation
 by
Ottessa Moshfegh

Before And Again
 by
Barbara Delinsky

Spinning Silver
 by
Naomi Novik
New In Paperback

My Absolute Darling
 by
Gabriel Tallent

The Rules Of Magic
by
Alice Hoffman

The Girl In The Tower
 by
Katherine Arden

The Girl Who Takes An Eye For An Eye
 by
David Lagercrantz

The Right Side
 by
Spencer Quinn

Artemis
 by
Andy Weir
The Return Of The Kids' ARC Program
 
The Kids Summer ARC Program is back!  Through Labor Day (September 3rd), anyone from the ages of 8 to 17 may participate.  On weekdays, from 10:00am to 5:00pm and on weekends from 11:00am until 4:00pm, any young reader may check out a free advance copy of a book to read.  All we ask is that when you return the ARC (as they are known in the book biz), you fill out a short form expressing how you felt about the book.  Your review may even end up here in the newsletter!  This is a cool way to read hot titles before publication and give feedback to our staff about them.  It's totally free, and totally fun!
   
Bookseller Recommendations For Young Adults
 
Geoff Recommends:
The Loneliest Girl In The Universe
by Lauren James
Due to tragic events, Romy is the sole occupant of the Infinity, a spaceship whose mission is to establish a new Earth. The novel begins as a quiet contemplation on solitude and the life of a teenager desperate for connection, but it slowly builds to a surprisingly intense psychological thriller. YA readers who like a sci-fi flavor to their stories will enjoy this character study, and will be keen to find out what really happened to the crew of Romy's ship -- and what will happen when a new ship sent from Earth finally catches up with hers.

   
 
New Books For Kids


Wings Of Fire: The Lost Continent
 by
 Tui T. Sutherland

The Boy, The Boat, And The Beast
 by
Samantha M. Clark

The Cardboard Kingdom
 by
Chad Sell
New Books For Young Adults

Fugitive Six
 by
Pittacus Lore

My Plain Jane
 by
 Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

The Game Of Hope
 by
Sandra Gulland
Gifts For Summer Get-Togethers

Summer is a great time to gather friends and family for a special occasion.  If you are heading for your summer house, we have adorable lobster pot pinchers, lobster napkins, and even lobster insulated lunch totes to keep your lobster rolls nice and cool.  Our paper plate selection is bright and vibrant, perfect for a summer day picnic.  If the whole family comes to visit, try out a new board game or jigsaw puzzle to keep everyone entertained.





What's more 'summer' than ice cream?  When you throw your ice cream social, you'll turn heads with our colorful dessert dishes and ice cream themed place mats, gift tags, and table accents.  We even have pens that look just like ice cream cones!
What We're Reading Now...

Lorna

Colleen

Peter

Sally and Jane

Melinda

Gillian
Downloadable Audiobooks

Members get their first audiobook for free and enjoy any audiobook for just $14.99 each month, regardless of list price. You'll also save 30% on all audiobook gifts and additional purchases. The best part? Supporting Wellesley Books each month.
Tell Me More!

Dog of the Week
Rudy 

 Rudy is a Bernese Mountain Dog who loves to travel in the  car.  He doesn't care where he is going, as long as he is going with his family.  Recently, they brought him to the store and received his biscuit treat.  Now, we are his favorite destination.  Welcome to Wellesley Books, Rudy! 
 

Thank you for supporting your community
independent bookstore!
Sincerely,
William D. Carl

Contact us:
store @wellesleybooks.com
82 Central Street,
Wellesley, Ma. 02482
781-431-1160

     View on Instagram   Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   Find us on Google+