Wellesley Books Newsletter 
  April 26th, 2017
Independent Bookstore Day is a one-day national party that takes place at indie bookstores across the country on the last Saturday in April.  This year, we celebrate on April 29th with a day full of fun events and surprises.  Join us at 11:00 AM for a Dr. Suess brunch, featuring green eggs and ham.  At 4:00 PM, we will enjoy a Hamilton-themed Happy Hour.  We're not giving away our shot, but we may partake in a few!  Throughout the day we will have literary trivia with prizes and giveaways.  Don't forget the exclusive books and literary items that you can only get on Independent Bookstore Day.  Far from being a dying anachronism, in a world of tweets and algorithms and pageless digital downloads, bookstores are living, breathing organisms that continue to grow and expand. In fact, there are more independent bookstores this year than there were last year! And all are at your service. Please join us on April 29th for a day full of literary fun.
Upcoming Events At Wellesley Books
Exciting New Event! 

 


 
All events are free to the public, unless otherwise noted.
 Purchase the lead title  from Wellesley Books to enter the signing line!  
 
 
Thursday, April 27th, 7:00 PM.  Help us celebrate National Poetry Month with an evening panel featuring three terrific local poets.  Heather Bryant has written two chapbooks of poetry, as well as many academic articles; her newest chapbook is My Wedding Dress.  Since August 15, 2003 she has written a poem a day, bringing her total to well over 4,000.  Lynne Viti is a senior lecturer in the Writing Program at Wellesley College, where she has taught writing-intensive courses in bioethics, legal studies, media studies, and journalism.  She won an Honorable Mention in the 2015 Allen Ginsberg Poetry Contest, and her first poetry collection is Baltimore GirlsJC Spece is an editor at Fathom Books, and his honors include a Ruth Lilly Fellowship and the Corrente Prize in Poetry. His first book of poems, Roads, was released in 2013, and he has two books scheduled for release in the next year.



Friday, April 28th, 7:00 PM.  Out Of Line: A Life Of Playing With Fire is a funny, fierce, and poignant memoir by world-renowned chef, restaurateur, and Top Chef judge Barbara Lynch, recounting her rise from a hard-knocks South Boston childhood to culinary stardom.  It is also a love letter to South Boston and its vanishing culture -- a town governed by Irish Catholic mothers and its own code of honor.  Lynch will sign copies of her new book and speak about her remarkable process of self-invention, including her encounters with many colorful characters of the food world.



Wednesday, May 3rd, 7:00 PM.  Join us for a fun and fascinating experience you won't want to miss! Wine experts and novices alike will enjoy amateur drinker Bianca Bosker's presentation about the lives of sommeliers, and how to discern the difference between various varietals. Compulsively readable, sometimes counterintuitive, and frequently hilarious, Bosker's new book Cork Dork illuminates how tasting better can help us live better -- and will change the way you drink wine forever.  Wine Folly calls it "The Kitchen Confidential of wine."




Friday, May 5th, 7:00 PM.  The author of The Rosie Project, Graeme Simsion, will read from and autograph his new, wonderful novel The Best Of Adam Sharp, the story of a man who meets a woman at a karaoke bar, their passion for each other, and the soundtrack of their lives.  Music is so very important to this tale, and William adored this story about regret and love. This is a ticketed event. Your $5 ticket can be used as a coupon off the price of the book. You may purchase a ticket here.






Wednesday, May 10th, 7:00 PM.  Rescheduled!  Victor Lodato signs and discusses his wonderful new novel, Edgar & Lucy. Eight-year-old Edgar Fini remembers nothing of the accident. He only knows that his father is gone, his mother, Lucy, has a limp, and his grandmother believes in ghosts. When Edgar meets a man with his own tragic history, the boy begins a journey into a secret wilderness where nothing is clear. In order to save her son, Lucy has no choice but to confront the demons of her past.  William and Jane loved this book and agree that it is certain to be one of the best-reviewed books of the year!




Thursday, May 11th, 7:00 PM.  Saints For All Occasions is a sweeping, unforgettable novel from the best-selling author of Maine and Commencement, about the hope, sacrifice, and love between two sisters, and the secret that drives them apart.  After leaving Ireland for Boston, the novel follows a large Catholic family through fifty years and explores the funny, and sometimes achingly sad, ways a secret at the heart of one family both breaks them and binds them together.  This is a ticketed event. Your $5 ticket can be used as a coupon off the price of the book.  You may purchase a ticket here.



Mark your calendar!
 
 
  Wednesday, May 24th, 7:00 PM -- Sting Like A Bee by Leigh Montville

Thursday, June 8th, 7:00 PM -- The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever! by Sarah Aronson  
 
Wednesday, June 14th, 7:00 PM -- A House Among The Trees by Julia Glass
(Ticketed)
 
Monday, June 19th, 7:00 PM -- Trap The Devil by Ben Coes  
 
Bill's Book Group For Guys
 
by David Mitchell


From David Mitchell comes a sinewy, meditative novel of boyhood on the cusp of adulthood, tracking a single year in thirteen-year old Jason Taylor's life in the sleepiest village in Worcestershire in a dying Cold War England.


Join Bill's Book Group for Guys for a relaxed evening in the store discussing a specially-chosen book while enjoying a beer, glass of wine, or select single-malt whiskey.  $25 buys the book and a ticket to the event.
Betty's Lunchtime Book Group
 
by Anthony Doerr



 Betty Sudarsky, unparalleled bookseller and experienced book club leader, chooses each book carefully and leads the discussion.  Bring your own lunch if you like; Betty supplies snacks, drinks, and insight.  No need to sign up; drop-ins are welcome.
Bookseller Recommendations

Sally Recommends:

Anything Is Possible by Elizabeth Strout
This fabulous collection of linked stories reintroduces us to Lucy Barton from Strout's brilliant previous novel. The cast of characters includes Lucy and her friends and family from their small Illinois town. There are secrets revealed about her complicated childhood as well as new stories about the people and family relationships that surrounded her growing up. Another spectacular read from this well-loved author.





Stephanie Recommends:

Out Of Line by Barbara Lynch
With funny, frank, and poignant writing, Lynch shares personal stories of growing up as one of seven kids with a single mother in the projects of "Southie."  From bluffing her way into her first professional cooking job to founding a Boston restaurant empire, her life and improbable career path is an extraordinary tale that readers will devour. It's peppered with colorful language and encounters with famous Bostonians -- including mob boss Whitey Bulgar and chefs Todd English, Lydia Shire, and Ana Sortun. Pour yourself a glass of wine and enjoy!




William Recommends:

Ararat by Christopher Golden
When scientists investigate a cave on the titular mountain, they discover a ship, which could be what remains of the legendary Noah's Ark.  A sarcophagus hidden deep within could contain secrets from mankind's past as well as newly discovered terrors.  As a snowstorm traps them on the summit, they will have to decide whether to try to make it down the mountain or remain with the coffin and its terrifying contents.  Fans of Dan Simmons, Douglas Preston, and Lincoln Child will enjoy this heart-stopping scientific adventure novel.



 
Betty Recommends :
 
The Stars Are Fire
by Anita Shreve
Anita Shreve sets her characters down in complicated emotional labyrinths and asks them to find their way home.  In 1947, Grace is unhappily married with two children in coastal Maine when a calamitous fire strikes.  With nothing remaining and her husband unaccounted for, Grace takes her children and starts a new life, fleeing to a friend in Canada.  Her resiliency is remarkable and gives an otherwise desperate tale an important underpinning of hope.  This is a very satisfying novel. 
 
 
New In Hardcover

This Fight Is Our Fight
 by
Elizabeth Warren

Killers Of The Flower Moon
 by
David Grann

Beartown
 by
 Fredrick Backman

Spoils
 by
 Brian Van Reet

Last Hope Island
 by
Lynne Olson

Option B
 by
 Sheryl Sandberg and Adam Grant
New In Paperback

Eligible
 by
Curtis Sittenfeld

Joe Gould's Teeth
 by
Jill Lepore

The Versions Of Us
 by
Laura Barnett

The Nightingale
 by
 Kristin Hannah

The One In A Million Boy by
Monica Wood

The Second Life Of Nick Mason
 by
Steve Hamilton
New Books For Kids

Moo Moo In A Tutu
 by
Tim Miller

Rulers Of The Playground
by
 Joseph Kuefler

The Giant Jumperee
 by
 Julia Donaldson and Helen Oxenbury
New Books For Young Adults

Saint Death
 by
Marcus Sedgwick

The Whole Thing Together
 by
Ann Brashares

Grendel's Guide To Love And War
 by
A. E. Kaplan


Time To Pamper Mom 

Mark your calendars -- Mother's Day is May 14th.  Time to pamper her with sweet smelling soaps, outrageous shower caps, designer gardening tools, a wide assortment of fashionable jewelry, scarves, socks, and much more!

 

Downstairs At Wellesley Books

Did you know we have discounted gift items in our Used Book Cellar in addition to used books and remainders?  Whenever we are overstocked or need to make room for new items, we mark down some of the great gifts in the store and feature them downstairs!  Currently, you will find several kinds of socks, journals and notebooks, fancy cocktail napkins, hats, scarves, games, kitchen items, and all kinds of toys at amazing prices.   You never know what surprises you'll find in our Used Book Cellar!

What We're Reading Now...

Jane

Sally

Bill

Rebecca

Peter

Melinda
Dog of the Week

Cocoa

  Cocoa is a youthful eleven year old English Springer Spaniel whose owner has moved to Connecticut but visited us recently.  Cocoa remembered exactly where the biscuits were kept!  He enjoys playing with his ball and cuddling with his owner.  Welcome to Wellesley Books, Cocoa! 
Introducing Libro.fm Memberships

Do you love listening to your favorite books on the go?  More and more people do -- and Libro.fm offers the best way to listen, with superior audio quality audiobooks (2x industry standard) -- and more than 70,000 to choose from!. The folks at Libro.fm are indies, just like us, and a portion of every sale goes to your favorite independent bookstore.  It's the best way to "shop local" for digital audiobooks.  Plus, Libro.fm now offers monthly memberships! For just $14.99 each month, choose one free audiobook, and get 30% off all additional purchases.  To celebrate the launch, your first month's membership is just 99¢! All Libro.fm audiobooks are DRM-free -- you buy it, you own it -- and unused credits never expire. You'll get a great listening experience at a discounted price, along with a huge selection, and the satisfaction of supporting your local business.  Visit  libro.fm/wellesleybooks  to start your membership and get your first month for just 99¢! (Have unused Audible credits? Come see us in the store -- we can help you convert up to two Audible credits over to Libro.fm!)
 

 


"A book is the only place in which you can examine a fragile thought without breaking it."

-- Edward P. Morgan


Thank you for supporting your community
independent bookstore!
Sincerely,
William D. Carl

Contact us:
store @wellesleybooks.com
82 Central Street,
Wellesley, Ma. 02482
781-431-1160

     View on Instagram   Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   Find us on Google+