Wellesley Books Newsletter 
  January 18th, 2017

Happy National Winnie-The-Pooh Day!  Today, we celebrate the birthday of A. A. Milne, the creator of the infamous honey-stealing "silly old bear."  Did you know that A. A, Milne was the first author to license a literary character -- our friend Winnie -- in January 1930?  We love Milne's charming books, and we carry several in the children's classics section of the store.  We also carry two delightful books for children, Winnie: The True Story Of The Bear Who Inspired Winnie-The-Pooh, written by Sally Walker and illustrated by Jonathan D. Voss, and Caldecott-award winner Finding Winnie: The True Story Of The World's Most Famous Bear, written by Lindsey Mattick and illustrated by Sophie Blackall.  For adults, we carry The Natural World Of Winnie-The-Pooh, by Kathryn Aalto, the true story of the forest that inspired the Hundred Acre Wood. Milne once said of his readers, "Wherever they go, and whatever happens to them on the way, in that enchanted place on the top of the forest, a little boy and his Bear will always be playing."  They are, most assuredly, still playing in our hearts.
Upcoming Events At Wellesley Books
 
All events are free to the public, unless otherwise noted.
 Purchase the lead title  from Wellesley Books to enter the signing line!  



  Wednesday, February 1st, 7:00 PM.   Abby Fabiaschi reads from and signs her new novel, I Liked My Life, which Booklist called "Warm and hopeful."  Maddy is the cornerstone of her family, a true matriarch... until she commits suicide, leaving her husband and teenage daughter heartbroken and reeling, wondering what happened. As they sift through details of her last days, trying to understand the woman they thought they knew, they are forced to come to terms with unsettling truths.  Fans of Jodi Picoult and Celeste Ng will love this book.




Saturday, February 11th, 4:00 PM.  Calling all middle grade readers -- and parents!  We've gathered together six amazing authors for an exciting Middle Grade Panel with a discussion and group signing.  Join Victoria Coe, Bridget Hodder, Lee Gjertsen Malone, Erin Petti, Elly Swartz, and Monica Tesler as they read from and explore their new novels. 



  Mark your calendar!

March 27th, 7:00 PM -- The Tea Girl Of Hummingbird Lane by Lisa See
April 28th -- Out Of Line by Barbara Lynch 
Bill's Book Group For Guys
 
by Norman MacLean


In 1949, an elite team of smoke jumpers parachuted into a wildfire in Montana and only a few survived.  Norman MacLean, author of A River Runs Through It, provides a somber and poetic retelling of this tragic event utilizing his distinctive prose.

Join Bill's Book Group for Guys for a relaxed evening in the store discussing a specially-chosen book while enjoying a beer, glass of wine, or select single-malt whiskey.  $25 buys the book and a ticket to the event.
Betty's Lunchtime Book Group
 
by Karen Russell



 Betty Sudarsky, unparalleled bookseller and experienced book club leader, chooses each book carefully and leads the discussion.  Bring your own lunch if you like; Betty supplies snacks, drinks, and insight.  No need to sign up; drop-ins are welcome.
Bookseller Recommendations

Sally Recommends:

The Association Of Small Bombs by Karan Mahajan
This is a brutal, yet compelling story of a violent event in India told from the perspective of the victims, the terrorists and the survivors. Beautifully written, this novel is timely and disturbing.  It has been on many "best of 2016" lists -- deservedly so.







William Recommends:

Burning Bright  by Nick Petrie
Burning Bright solidifies Petrie's place among the best thriller writers working today. His hero, Peter Ash, wanders from town to town, living outdoors because his PTSD will not allow him to remain inside walls for very long. When he discovers a woman on the run from shadowy killers, Ash knows he must help her in spite of his near-crippling claustrophobia. Petrie gives us characters we love, warts and all, and there is a true sense of forward propulsion to his action-packed tale.  If you love Lee Child or Robert Ludlum, you really should try Petrie!



Phyllis Recommends:

The Midnight Cool by Lydia Peelle
This novel is a classic tale of the downtrodden striving to achieve the American dream, with some important unique new twists.  Peelle's characters are so real and appealing, as are their struggles to bridge class divides as they come to grips with some of the more negative aspects of power.  Set in Tennessee at the onset of World War I, The Midnight Cool gives unique insights into wartime rhetoric and bigotry, mule trading, and prohibition among other cultural issues of the times.  Well written, fast paced and interesting!



Rebecca Recommends :
 
Don't Suck, Don't Die: Giving Up Vic Chesnutt by Kristin Hersh    
Known as both a solo singer/songwriter and as the pioneering force behind the bands Throwing Muses and 50FootWave, Kristin Hersh's writing is as startling, expectation-defying and fresh as her music.  Here, she chronicles her friendship with the brilliant and frustrating Vic Chesnutt and the end of her own long marriage. 
 
 
 
New In Hardcover

The Sleepwalker
 by
Chris Bohjalian

Doctorow: Collected Stories
 by
E.L. Doctorow

The Dry
 by
Jane Harper

My Life,My Love, My Legacy
 by
Coretta Scott King

In The Great Green Room
 by
Amy Gary

Lillian Boxfish Takes A Walk
by
Kathleen Rooney
New In Paperback

Arcadia
 by
Iain Pears

Quicksand: What It Means To Be Human by
Henning Mankell

The Dogs Of Littlefield
by
 Suzanne Berne

Rise Of The Rocket Girls
by
Nathalia Holt

Georgia
 by
Dawn Tripp

The Travelers
 by
Chris Pavone
New Books For Kids

I Am Jim Henson
 by
Brad Meltzer

Seeking A Bunny
 by
Angela DiTerlizzi and
Allie Smith

Story Thieves 3: Secret Origins
 by
James Riley

Check out our cool new YA Twitter feed here!
Learn all about the best new titles and what's hot right now.


New Books For Young Adults

History Is All You
 Left Me
 by
Adam Silvera

Roseblood
 by
A.G. Howard

Carve The Mark
 by
Veronica Roth


Snowy Day Puzzle Fun

Stay cozy, warm, and mentally engaged with puzzles of all kinds
 on these cold winter days!

 

Downstairs At Wellesley Books

Sometimes a publisher prints too many copies of a title, and they pass on the savings to you by releasing excess copies very inexpensively.  We call these remainders, and we carry a selection of adult and children's book remainders downstairs in our Used Book Cellar.  All of these books pictured to the left are priced below $6.00!  Pick up a few, and don't forget to browse through our used books and discounted gifts.

 
Introducing Libro.fm

Wellesley Books has partnered with Libro.fm to bring you the best in digital audiobooks.  Visit our website to get more details about this great new service, or visit Libro.fm to sign up and download your next great read.  It's like Audible.com (which is owned by Amazon), so if you would rather have your dollars go to an independent, locally-owned business, then this is a terrific option. Now available as an Android App!

 

What We're Reading Now...

Marilyn

Jane

Phyllis

Sally

Melinda and William

B.J.
Dog of the Week
Winston 

   Winston (Winny to his friends) is a three year old mini Yorkshire Terrier who visited us recently.  He really enjoys being out with people!  He is quite adept at removing the socks from peoples' feet, and he plays a mean game of catch.    Welcome to Wellesley Books, Winston! 

"Literature and butterflies are the two sweetest passions known to man."
 --  Vladimir Nabokov


Thank you for supporting your community
independent bookstore!
Sincerely,
William D. Carl

Contact us:
store @wellesleybooks.com
82 Central Street,
Wellesley, Ma. 02482
781-431-1160

     View on Instagram   Like us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   Find us on Google+