Community Foundation of Morgan County Philanthropy Awards
2016 Community Foundation of Morgan County Philanthropy Dinner
Please join the Community Foundation of Morgan County in recognizing those who have dedicated their lives to serving Morgan County.
  • Ruth Rusie Legacy Award
    Kenny Hale
    , Waverly Park
  • Founders Award
    Polly Amy, Raymond Blunk & James

    Dr. William Roberson, Supt. Monroe-Gregg School District was awarded a Founders Award in 2014.
  • Corporate Citizen of the Year
    Steve Langley, Mt. Olive Manufacturing
  • Non-Profit of the Year
    Morgan County Schools of Religious Education
  • Volunteer of the Year
    David Reddick, Morgan County Bicentennial Celebration
  • Youth Volunteer of the Year
    Kate Plunkett & Alexa Shrake, Relay for Life & IU Morgan Cancer Center
  • Non-Profit Staff Member of the Year
    Diana Roy, United Way of Central Indiana
  • Non-Profit Board Member of the Year
    Brett Worth, Artesian Little League
Pictured Left to Right: Ann Murtlow, President and CEO of United Way of Central Indiana; Ruth Rusie, Life-Long Volunteer and 2016 Philanthropy Award Speaker; and, Diana Roy, 2016 Non-Profit Staff Member of the year and Morgan County Area Director of United Way of Central Indiana.
This year's award recipinets will join the ranks of past winners selected by our Morgan County community, including this year's speaker, Ruth Rusie.
Purchase Tickets  
Please join us in recognizing these individuals who have dedicated their lives to serving Morgan County. Tickets are $35 each, or $185 for a table of six, and can be purchased at either CFMC office or online.  

2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Finalists and 2016 CFMC Grantees will also be recognized at the Philanthropy Dinner on Thursday, November 3, 2016 at 6:00 p.m. at the South Central Indiana-REMC Community Room in Martinsville.  
Pediatric Health Institute
The Morgan County Pediatric Health Institute has been chosen by the State Farm Youth Advisory board for the opportunity to win $25,000 towards programming.

Now through November 4th anyone with a valid email address can vote up to 10 times per day for the Morgan County Pediatric Health Institute!

About the Morgan County Pediatric Health Institute

The Community Foundation of Morgan County and Bradford Woods are working to change our poor health status ranking and revitalize the health of our community with the creation of the Morgan County Pediatric Health Institute.

Indiana is one of the lowest ranking states in overall health in America. To make matters worse, Morgan County ranks toward the bottom as one of the most unhealthy counties in Indiana. We have a community of people whose health is comprised by diabetes, obesity, heart disease, mental health issues, drug addictions and other conditions, many of which could be avoided or treated with healthier lifestyle choices.
The institute will focus on reversing the unhealthy trends in our community. Physical activity, nutrition lessons, and social programs will be provided to community youth in order to address obesity, diabetes, substance abuse, and both mental and social health issues. Working with local schools to offer a 26 week pilot program for at-risk youth, these young people will spend time participating in physical activities, nutrition lessons, therapy activities, and challenge courses that encourage peer accountability. The pilot program will also teach students and their families how to prepare healthy meals and to shop for food on a budget.

Lilly Endowment Scholarship Finalists

We received a record breaking number of applications this fall for the   Morgan County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program. From the 75 applicants, six Morgan County high school seniors have been chosen as finalists.

The 2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Finalists are:
  • Mercedes DeMoss, Martinsville High School
  • Garrett Fehrman, Mooresville High School
  • Lucy Hall, Martinsville High School
  • Hunter Marsh, Monrovia High School
  • Katelin Scott, Roncalli High School
  • Hayley Taylor, Martinsville High School
These finalists will be honored for their achievements on Thursday, November 3rd at the 3rd Annual Philanthropy Dinner  held at the South Central Indiana - REMC in Martinsville.

Visit our blog to hear from past Morgan County Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

Continue Reading »
2016 CFMC Impact Grants

This month we awarded $100,063 in impact grants to area non-profit organizations. In previous years approximately $30,000 was distributed through grants to support programs within Morgan County.

2016 CFMC Impact Grants:

Organization Project Award Amount
Crossing School of Business & Entrepreneurship

Stirrup Success

$ 6,000

Link Observatory Space Science Institute

Public Engagement & STEM Education

$ 15,000

Centerstone of Indiana

Morgan County Parents On Board Pilot Program $ 10,000

Martinsville Arts Council

Sheltering the Arts

$ 10,000

Churches in Mission

Financial Stability for Martinsville Families $ 10,000

Gleaners Food Bank of Indiana

Monrovia School-Based Pantry
$ 7,000

The Haven Youth Center

Friday Fitness: Aerobics and Aquatics $ 6,290

Indiana University
(Bradford Woods)

N.O.A.H. Network

$ 24,373


SAWs/Ellie's Hope 2017

$ 5,000

Charles L. Smith Elementary, MSD of Martinsville

Transitioning to a Fine Arts Academy

$ 6,400

Call us toll-free at (855) 280-3095

Find Us Online: Visit our blog View our profile on LinkedIn  Like us on Facebook  Find us on Google+