Welcome to the July edition of Focus on Fellows. We invite all Fellows to submit information (whether about themselves or other Fellows) about awards, news, job changes, and/or recent publications. Member highlights will be distributed to all Fellows through email and social media. Please email focus@amercol.org and include a brief description of the items you would like considered for inclusion in our announcements. Thank you.
The United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit appointed Joel D. Applebaum as a United States Bankruptcy Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan effective May 31, 2019. Judge Applebaum will be located in the Court's divisional unit in Flint.
Chief Judge Jeffrey R. Howard of the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit announced that Janet E. Bostwick has been selected to fill the vacancy in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Massachusetts in Boston, created by the retirement of the Hon. Joan N. Feeney. Attorney Bostwick will be appointed to the bankruptcy bench upon FBI clearance. Judge Feeney has joined JAMS in Boston.
The Commercial Law League of America (CLLA) and its Bankruptcy Section will present the Lawrence P. King Award to G. Eric Brunstad, Jr. (Dechert LLP) at NCBJ in Washington, D.C. in October 2019. The award recognizes a lawyer, judge, teacher or legislator who exemplifies the best in scholarship, advocacy, judicial administration or legislative activities in the field of bankruptcy.
The Business Law Section congratulated members who celebrated 50 years as members of The Florida Bar, including Stephen D. Busey (Smith Hulsey & Busey).

Richard P. Carmody
 (Adams and Reese LLP) received the Saint Ignatius College Prep - Chicago Alumni Award for Excellence, awarded at the school's 2019 Jubilee Reunion. Richard is one of two outstanding Saint Ignatius College Prep alumni recognized for his dedication and commitment to serving others in their communities and careers. Pictured from left to right: Ronald Peterson, Richard Carmody, and Hon. Eugene Wedoff.

The Turnaround Management Association's 2019 Turnaround and Transaction of the Year Awards recognized Goodwin partners Michael H. Goldstein and Gregory Fox for their work as counsel for client Gibson Brands, Inc. in its chapter 11 restructuring, which was named Mid-Size Company Transaction of the Year. The annual awards employ a rigorous peer review process to select the leading professionals in the field.
Debra Grassgreen (Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones) has been elected as the next President of the International Insolvency Institute. Her two-year term began on June 17, 2019. The International Insolvency Institute is a non-profit, limited-membership organization dedicated to advancing and promoting insolvency as a respected discipline in the international field.
After working almost 29 years in the Sacramento office of Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, Marc A. Levinson has transferred to Orrick's San Francisco office.
Hon. Geoffrey B. Morawetz has been appointed Chief Justice of the Superior Court of Justice of Ontario. Chief Justices are responsible for the leadership and administration of their courts, and serve as members of the Canadian Judicial Council. The Superior Court of Justice of Ontario has jurisdiction over criminal, civil, and family cases, and is the largest superior trial court in Canada.
Julie B. Teicher (Maddin Hauser) was elected as chair of the Jewish Family Service of Metropolitan Detroit Board of Directors.
Riley C. Walter joined Wanger Jones Helsley as a shareholder after over 20 years of leading his own firm.
Of Interest
American College of Bankruptcy
P.O. Box 249, Stanardsville, VA 22973
focus@amercol.org | 434-939-6004 Tel | 434-939-6030 Fax | www.amercol.org