The World Needs Visionaries
Claflin Students Awarded Clyburn Scholarships to Earn B.S. and MPH through 4+1 Dual Degree Program

Emersen Frazier
Jamal Walker
Emersen Frazier and Jamal Walker have been selected to receive the James E. and Emily E. Clyburn Public Health Endowed Scholarship Award. They will use the scholarships to complete the 4+1 Dual Degree Program, where students earn a bachelor's degree from Claflin University and a Master of Public Health from the Arnold School of Public Health at the University of South Carolina in a five-year period. Frazier is a senior political science major from Topeka, Kansas. Walker is a biology major from Hopkins, S.C.
"The current public health crisis has put a spotlight on the health disparities that exist throughout this nation. It has always been the goal of this scholarship to assist in the reduction of these inequities and to improve access to affordable health care for all South Carolinians," said Congressman Clyburn. "I commend presidents Warmack and Caslen for their commitment to this program's success and would like to personally congratulate this year's recipients, Ms. Frazier and Mr. Walker." 
Created in 2005 as a partnership between Claflin University and the University of South Carolina, the 4+1 Dual Degree Program is designed to increase the number of professionals and researchers from minority and medically underserved populations who are trained in public health, particularly health disparities. Over the years, the program has undergone various changes with the universities reaffirming their dedication to it in the fall of 2019 when the institutions' new presidents ( Dr. Dwuan J. Warmack, Claflin, and Dr. Bob Caslen, UofSC) met to discuss their commitment to the program's success through their inter-institutional partnership.
Since 2013, chair and professor of biology Dr. Gloria McCutcheon has served as the primary point of contact for the program on behalf of Claflin University, and guided students through the undergraduate portion of the program. By teaching public health at Claflin, she not only opens the doors for numerous career opportunities, but she is able to enhance students' interest in science to increase and expand the biomedical and public health workforce to include diverse people and views. 
"The 4+1 program is yet another way to engage the gifted students at Claflin University in public health," she said. McCutcheon is an avid supporter of students across the university who express an interest in public health and encourages them to study both chronic disease prevention and community health promotion. "This is certainly yet another way that Congressman Clyburn and the late Mrs. Emily Clyburn have made a significant impact on health in our communities. We are so excited that two of our students will begin the program this summer at UofSC and return to Claflin to complete their senior year while continuing with the Master of Public Health Program at UofSC in the Arnold School of Public Health," she said. [UofSC]

Rebroadcast of Spring 2020 Virtual Commencement Convocation

If you missed the Spring 2020 Virtual Commencement Convocation, you can view it by clicking here.

Faculty News

Dr. Gloria S. McCutcheon, chair and professor of biology, was presented the 2019 S.C. Environmental Awareness Award on Thursday, May 28. She is the first professor from a historically black college and university to receive this award. 

McCutcheon is a scientist, author, teacher, community worker and trailblazer in the conservation of natural resources. Her professional work has focused on the study of beneficial insects in soybean, cotton, vegetables and medicinal plants.

McCutcheon served at Clemson University for 33 years directing M.S. and Ph.D. students who made great contributions in sustainable agriculture across many sectors throughout South Carolina, the nation and the world. Her early research at Clemson University provided substantiating data to assure farmers and the agricultural community that through integrated pest management, conservation of these beneficial insects promotes a cleaner environment and more economical crop production.

The South Carolina General Assembly established the S.C. Environmental Awareness Award during the 1992 legislative session to recognize outstanding contributions to the protection, conservation and improvement of the state's natural resources.

Click here to see a list of past award winners .

Alumni News

Britton Bryant, '09, recently published a digital book titled "Short I Am." The book tells the story of a young boy who struggles with his height and feels inadequate within his class and among his peers. He longs to feel important and to make a positive impact within his classroom- a goal he accomplishes by the end of the book. Britton is a youth minister at New Galilee Christian Church in Holly Hill, S.C., and also serves as a community leader in Berkeley and Orangeburg counties.

Vincent Sanders II, '17, is the  new adolescent outreach coordinator at the Tri-County Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse in Orangeburg. Sanders is responsible for increasing awareness of alcohol and other drug abuse issues in the Tri-County community via multiple social m edia outlets and school educational seminars. He is also responsible for overseeing the Edisto Health Coalition's youth group and initiating creative activities and events that will motivate them to stay away from drugs.

Winners of the CUIAA Scholarship Raffle will be announced on Thursday, June 4, at 12 p.m. on Claflin University's Facebook page. Click here to watch. 
Panther Pride

Claflin Sprinter Derick St. Jean Earns USTFCCCA All-American Honor

Claflin University sprinter Derick St. Jean has been named a U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) NCAA Division II Men's Indoor Track & Field All-American. The All-American Team was announced on Tuesday, May 26, by the USTFCCCA.
St Jean, a rising junior from Dominica, was ranked sixth nationally in the 400 meters at 47.30. He scored 12 points at the CIAA Championships, including a third place finish in the 200 meters.
A different criteria this year determined the All-America winners after the 2020 NCAA Division II Indoor Track & Field Championships were canceled. Student-athletes on the start list of their respective events and relay teams accepted into their events at the DII Indoor Championships were recognized as Indoor All-Americans. Prior to COVID-19, All-America honors were based on individual and relay performances at the national championship meet.

May 29, 2020
In This Issue

Calendar of Events
Connect with Us
@Claflin is published by the Office of Communications & Marketing 
President: Dr. Dwaun J. Warmack
Vice President for Institutional Advancement: Rev. Dr. Whittaker V. Middleton, '73
Assistant Vice President for Communications & Marketing: George Johnson Jr.
Public Relations Director: J. Craig Cotton
Public Relations/Social Media Coordinator: Charnita Mack
Web Communications Manager: Colin Myers, '07
Sports Information Director: Romanda Noble-Watson
Photographers: Cecil Williams, '60, Geoff Henderson and Colin Myers, '07