Wisconsin Architects Honored for Award-Winning Design

MADISON (April 27, 2016) . . . Eight building projects have been recognized for excellence in architectural design by the 2016 Design Awards program of AIA Wisconsin, the state society of the American Institute of Architects (AIA).
This year's award-winning architecture includes a variety of projects that connect with the landscape, celebrate community, reinvent living space, repurpose existing facilities, and revive a historic home. They demonstrate the power of architecture to positively affect the environments in which we live, work and relax. The eight building projects have been recognized for their innovative design solutions as well as for their attention to detail and creative use of materials. The common thread running through all these award-winning projects is that they were designed by architects who are members of AIA Wisconsin.
A jury of nationally distinguished architects from outside Wisconsin selected the award-winning projects. Members of the 2016 Design Awards jury were Stephen Cavanaugh, AIA, Chicago; Timothy Hickman, AIA, Des Moines; and Enrique Norten, Hon. FAIA, New York/Mexico City.
The four projects and architects selected to receive Honor Awards for overall architectural design excellence include:
  • Linear Cabin, St. Germain, designed by Johnsen Schmaling Architects, Milwaukee - a small family retreat with an abstract and artful quality on top of a wooded bluff overlooking a lake.
  • Redux House, Whitefish Bay, designed by Johnsen Schmaling Architects, Milwaukee - a dramatic reinvention of a prototypical suburban ranch into an open contemporary dwelling from inside to outside.
  • Lake Michigan Beach Cottage, Belgium, designed by Ramsey Jones Architects, Milwaukee - a new beach cottage that optimizes the opportunity of its site with structural clarity and simple massing.
  • Guest House Garden Pavilion, Milwaukee, designed by Vetter Denk Architecture, Milwaukee - a modest and sleek structure of wood and steel that has become a community gathering space and a symbol of urban agriculture.
The four projects and architects selected to receive Merit Awards for excellence in particular aspects of architectural design include:
  • WTS Paradigm, Middleton, designed by Eppstein Uhen Architects, Inc., Madison - an energetic corporate office space in a repurposed industrial building that uses local materials in original ways.
  • Milwaukee Art Museum, Milwaukee, designed by HGA Architects and Engineers, Milwaukee - a creatively organized new addition with an entrance at the lakefront and the complete renovation of existing gallery space.
  • Mountain House, Big Sky, Montana, designed by Johnsen Schmaling Architects, Milwaukee - an elegant new home designed to rest on existing foundation walls and shaped by the surrounding landscape.
  • Adelman House Restoration and Pool House Addition, Fox Point, designed by The Kubala Washatko Architects, Inc., Cedarburg - a comprehensive and sensitive restoration of a historic home with an addition that supports and enhances the original structure.
The 2016 AIA Wisconsin Design Awards were presented to the architects, building owners and contractors at a special awards luncheon on April 27 at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center in Madison. The annual Design Awards program represents the highest recognition given for excellence in architectural design by the state's professional society of architects.
The chairs of AIA Wisconsin's 62nd annual Design Awards program are architects Mark Kruser, AIA, Middleton, and Josh Johnson, AIA, Middleton. With over 1,350 individual members, AIA Wisconsin is the state society of the American Institute of Architects, representing architects in private practice, business, industry, government and education. Founded in 1911, AIA Wisconsin is dedicated to advancing architectural design through leadership and advocacy.


Media Contact:

Brenda Taylor 608-257-8477



Documents available for Download: