View our photos on flickr

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

View our videos on YouTube

The FCC is the most popular junior open wheel series on Facebook!


With over 2600 fans on Facebook the series has become the most popular junior open wheel series on the internet.


Don't just let the drivers have all the fun! 

If you have photos, videos, or stories about the Formula Car Challenge share them with the whole gang!

The Formula Car Challenge is a registered trademark of World Speed Incorporated.
29687 Arnold Drive Sonoma, CA 95476
Drop Shadow Accent Image
2013 Formula Car Challenge Alumni Report

Bringing home championships, trophies and awards in open-wheel, prototypes, and sedans


Sonoma, California

November 5th, 2013


Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear competitors are showing up all over the map, and winning some very serious races and championships. Here's where you'll find some of them:


2013 FCC National Champions Michael Whelden and TJ Fischer were selected by Mazda Motorsport to compete in the Mazda Club Racer Shootout. The event takes place this weekend at Buttonwillow Raceway Park. Five of the best racers in the country were selected, and the winner will be awarded over $75,000 in funding for 2014.


Michael Guasch raced in the Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear from 2005-12, and has a large collection of FCC pole awards and wins to his credit. Guasch won the 59th Annual 12 Hours of Sebring, and this season he won the 2013 American LeMans Series Prototype Challenge Championship.


Chris Cumming raced in the FCC during the 2006-2007 seasons. In 2007 he won the West Coast Star Mazda Championship. Cumming then went on to win the 2008 and 2009 Pro Mazda Championship Expert titles. This season he finished second in the 2013 American LeMans Series Prototype Challenge Championship, only one point behind Guasch.


Kevin Woods competed in the 2008 and 2009 Formula Car Challenge, and won his first race in only his sixth start. This season Woods won the Pirelli GT3 Cup Trophy Championship.


Zach Veach, the 2011/12 FCC Winter Series Champ,

finished 7th in the 2013 Indy Lights championship

with Andretti Autosport.   


Jorge Goncalvez, who won the 2009 FCC Winter Series Championship in the Pro FM class, finished 6th in the 2013 Indy Lights championship.


Gabby Chaves, who competed in the Formula Car Challenge in 2012 went on to win multiple races in the 2012 Pro Mazda Championship finishing second overall in the championship. After the season closed Chaves went to the  Superkarts! USA SuperNationals in Las Vegas and took the Tag Senior Championship. In 2013 Chaves finished 2nd in the 2013 Indy Lights championship.


2011 FCC Pro FM Champion Lloyd Read finished 8th in the 2013 Pro Formula Mazda Championship, and recently began testing in Indy Lights with Bryan Herta Autosport. 


Zack Meyer, who finished in 4th place in the FCC 2011/12 Winter Series, recently announced that he will be competing in the 2014 Indy Lights Championship with Team Moore Racing. 


2012 FCC Pro FM Champion Kyle Kaiser  drove for World Speed Motorsports in the 2013 Pro Formula Mazda Championship where he finished 7th in points with multiple top 5 finishes in his rookie season. Kaiser is scheduled to return to the Pro Mazda Championship for 2014.


Tristan Vautier competed in the Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear in 2011 to gain additional track time and experience, then he went on to win the 2011 Pro Mazda Championship. Tristan won the 2012 Indy Lights Championship, and moved up into IndyCar in 2013.


Neil Alberico who competed in the Formula Car Challenge in 2011 in both the Pro FM and FM classes was selected as a Team USA Scholarship driver and went on to win FF races in Britain. In 2012 he moved back to the US to compete in the USF2000 Championship where he finished 7th in points and closed the season with a podium finish. In 2013 Alberico finished second in the USF2000 Championship, and won six out of the 14 races.


Dane Cameron raced in the FCC Indy GP of Sonoma event in 2010, and won both races in the Pro FM category. Cameron went on to compete in a Mazda RX-8 GT in the 2011 and 2012 Grand American ROLEX Series. Cameron won the 12 Hours of Sebring in the Prototype Challenge class in 2012, and secured pole position at Petit LeMans in 2013.


2011 Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear National FM Champion Darryl Wills went on to win the 2011 SCCA FM National Championship, and became a "Super Sweep" champion. The SCCA Super Sweep recognizes drivers that win a key national event, the nation-wide points championship, their divisional championship and the SCCA National Championship Runoffs-all in the same class. In 2012 Wills ran a limited schedule in Indy Lights, and in 2013 he secured another SCCA National Championship.

"We are proud of these drivers and all of our racers, as this is a very difficult sport." noted Series Official Jeff Loge. "When these drivers move up and go and win a world class events that just makes all the hard work we do worth it. We hope to have more of our alumni take some serious wins next season, and having watched them up close and personal I know it's going to happen."

Racers have been using the FCC as a springboard to pro racing since 2005, and many of them continue to race in the series in between their other events. Racing in the Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear is very cost effective was to stay competitive.

Drop Shadow Accent Image
The 2014 FCC Winter Series at Auto Club Speedway


Fontana, CA
October 29th, 2013


The schedule and format for the Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear seventh annual winter championship was announced today. The competition will take place at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana on January 17th-19th

"We are very pleased to be able to provide the opportunity for drivers and teams to prepare for the 2014 season with an organized winter championship," explained series official Jeff Loge. "This is a great place for drivers and teams to get started as they gear up for next season."


"The races will be scored in the same fashion as our National Championship weekend," added Loge. "The Winter Series Champion is decided based on the sum of points from the races, as well as a point for fastest qualifier, and a point for fastest race lap in each class. The event is being run during the SCCA Majors weekend, and so this will also allow our local racers to accumulate points towards going to the SCCA Runoffs if that is one of their 2013 goals." 

In the past many pro teams and drivers have joined the usual west coast based racers in preparation for their upcoming seasons." Jorge Goncalvez, who won the FCC Winter Championship in 2009 finished 6th in points in the Indy Lights championship in 2013. 2012 Pro FM class Winter Series Champion Zach Veach closed out the 2013 season in Indy Lights by securing the pole position at Auto Club Speedway. He finished 7th in the Indy Lights series overall.

Drop Shadow Accent Image
About The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear:
The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear is a regionalized open wheel racing series with an annual national championship. There are multiple regions across the country, and each region has unique features and events. 

Once a year the regions meet for the NASA National Championships. The championship features a multi-class format -Formula Mazda (FM), Pro Formula Mazda (PFM), and the FormulaSPEED2.0 (FS2.0) . All classes are powered by Mazda, and equipped with Goodyear Racing tires. 

Each region is supported by a Region Promoter who is well versed in racing, and who can provide assistance to teams and independent drivers.

The series is partnered with GoodyearMazda USAMAZDASPEED Motorsports DevelopmentRed Line Oil, GoPro, and NASA Pro Racing.