View our photos on flickr

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

View our videos on YouTube

The FCC is the most popular junior open wheel series on Facebook!


With over 2600 fans on Facebook the series has become the most popular junior open wheel series on the internet.


Don't just let the drivers have all the fun! 

If you have photos, videos, or stories about the Formula Car Challenge share them with the whole gang!

The Formula Car Challenge is a registered trademark of World Speed Incorporated.
29687 Arnold Drive Sonoma, CA 95476
Drop Shadow Accent Image

Another Great Formula Car Challenge Season
Comes to A Close

Whelden, Fischer, and Nicklin take class championships for 2013

Sonoma, CA
October 29th, 2013

The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear visited Sonoma Raceway for the double header finale this past weekend. Parker Nicklin had already locked the FS2.0 class championship, and TJ Fischer had already locked the Formula Mazda championship during the previous race weekend. Both drivers showed up for the finale ready to compete in the Pro FM class.


2013 FCC Pro FM National Champion Michael Whelden started off the weekend by taking the overall pole position and win on Saturday. This was Whelden's 10th win of the season. 2010 FCC FM West Coast Champion Cameron Parsons secured pole position in FM, and won the race by a very narrow margin to Woody Yerxa. Mark Richard took the FS2.0 win.


Saturday Pole Positions

Pro FM - Michael Whelden

FS2.0 - Mark Richard

FM - Cameron Parsons


Saturday Race Winners

Pro FM - Michael Whelden

FS2.0 - Mark Richard

FM - Cameron Parsons


Saturday night the series celebrated the end of the season at World Speed Headquarters. The series champions were recognized, and Eric Purcell of EFM Racing was presented with the 2013 Crew Member of the Year Award for all of his hard work and dedication to TJ Fischer's 2013 FCC program.


On Sunday Cameron Parsons secured pole position and the win in Formula Mazda, and Richard won in FS2.0. In the Pro FM class newcomer Parker Nicklin qualified with the fastest time, and took the class win in only his second Pro FM race.


Sunday Pole Positions

Pro FM - Parker Nicklin

FS2.0 - Mark Richard

FM - Cameron Parsons


Sunday Race Winners

Pro FM - Parker Nicklin

FS2.0 - Mark Richard

FM - Cameron Parsons


2013 FCC presented by Goodyear West Coast Region Champions

Pro Formula Mazda: Michael Whelden

FormulaSPEED2.0: Parker Nicklin

Formula Mazda: TJ Fischer


"We have to thank all of the competitors who participated this season," noted Series Official Jeff Loge. "We had 48 unique racers take place in our events this season, and that made for some very exciting racing. Of course it also couldn't have been as successful without the help of our marketing partners; Mazda, Goodyear, Red Line Oil, GoPro, and NASA."


The series heads to Southern California next for the FCC Winter Series on the Auto Club Speedway road course on January 17th-19th. 


Michael Whelden and TJ Fischer were both selected for the Mazda Club Racer Shootout and will be among five total drivers aiming to win a very coveted Mazda factory ride this November.


Drop Shadow Accent Image
The 2014 FCC Winter Series at Auto Club Speedway


Fontana, CA
October 29th, 2013


The schedule and format for the Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear seventh annual winter championship was announced today. The competition will take place at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana on January 17th-19th

"We are very pleased to be able to provide the opportunity for drivers and teams to prepare for the 2014 season with an organized winter championship," explained series official Jeff Loge. "This is a great place for drivers and teams to get started as they gear up for next season."


"The races will be scored in the same fashion as our National Championship weekend," added Loge. "The Winter Series Champion is decided based on the sum of points from the races, as well as a point for fastest qualifier, and a point for fastest race lap in each class. The event is being run during the SCCA Majors weekend, and so this will also allow our local racers to accumulate points towards going to the SCCA Runoffs if that is one of their 2013 goals." 

In the past many pro teams and drivers have joined the usual west coast based racers in preparation for their upcoming seasons." Jorge Goncalvez, who won the FCC Winter Championship in 2009 finished 6th in points in the Indy Lights championship in 2013. 2012 Pro FM class Winter Series Champion Zach Veach closed out the 2013 season in Indy Lights by securing the pole position at Auto Club Speedway. He finished 7th in the Indy Lights series overall.

Drop Shadow Accent Image
About The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear:
The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear is a regionalized open wheel racing series with an annual national championship. There are multiple regions across the country, and each region has unique features and events. 

Once a year the regions meet for the NASA National Championships. The championship features a multi-class format -Formula Mazda (FM), Pro Formula Mazda (PFM), and the FormulaSPEED2.0 (FS2.0) . All classes are powered by Mazda, and equipped with Goodyear Racing tires. 

Each region is supported by a Region Promoter who is well versed in racing, and who can provide assistance to teams and independent drivers.

The series is partnered with GoodyearMazda USAMAZDASPEED Motorsports DevelopmentRed Line Oil, GoPro, and NASA Pro Racing.