Highlights from the
2016 Induction Ceremony

ORMHOF Welcomes the Class of 2016
Left to rIght: 2016 Inductees Tracy Valenta and Larry Ragland, ORMHOF Chairman      Mark McMillin, 2016 Inductees Jim Ober, Bud Feldkamp and Don Amador.

With more than 450 industry representatives, off-road legends, friends, family and fans looking on, Don Amador, Bud Feldkamp, Jim Ober, Larry Ragland and Tracy Valenta were formally inducted into the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame.
The Induction Ceremony, held at ORMHOF inductee Michael Gaughan's South Point Hotel Casino in Las Vegas, was presented by BFGoodrich Tires, as the brand celebrates forty years since the introduction of its Radial All-Terrain T/A™ tire as well as its entry into SCORE Baja desert racing.

The five members of the Class of 2016 join 78 previous inductees, dating back to 1978.  See photos and bios on all of the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame inductees here.
Vintage Race Vehicles on Display at the South Point in Honor of 2016 Inductees

Heads were turning at the Valet Parking area during the Induction Ceremony at the South Point Hotel Casino, as vintage cars raced by 2016 Inductees Larry Ragland, Bud Feldkamp and Tracy Valenta were on display.  A big ORMHOF thanks goes out to everyone who worked to restore these cars in time for the Ceremony, and bring them to Las Vegas for all to see and enjoy.
Blue Ribbon Coalition Receives
ORMHOF Donation for Land Use Advocacy
Left to rIght: ORMHOF Chairman Mark McMillin and 2016 Inductee Don Amador.

Each year the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame pledges a portion of the funds received from corporate partnerships to an organization dedicated to Land Use Advocacy. Last year the donation was presented to the American Lands Council. This year ORMHOF is pleased to donate to the Blue Ribbon Coalition.

ORMHOF Chairman Mark McMillin surprised Blue Ribbon Coalition representative Don Amador with the news while he was on stage being recognized as one of the newest members of the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame. Chairman McMillin went one step further, matching the ORMHOF donation with a personal donation.  For more information on the Blue Ribbon Coalition, click here.
SCORE's Charlie and Linda Engelbart Presented with the Louis Unser
Never Give Up Award 
Left to Right: Linda Engelbart accepts the Louis Unser Never Give Up Award as host Ryan Arciero, Laverne Unser and ORMHOF Chairman Mark McMillin look on.
Long-time SCORE volunteers Charlie and Linda Engelbart were honored as the recipients of the 2016 Louis Unser Never Give Up Award, for demonstrating a relentless attitude, indomitable spirit and perseverance, as recognized by the ORMHOF Board of Directors.

The award is named in honor of legendary racer Louis Unser. Despite major health challenges, he compiled an impressive list of wins, including nine Pikes Peak Hill Climb titles. Louis' wife Laverne was on hand to make the presentation, in honor of her late husband.

The Engelbarts' join Rod Hall as  recipients of this prestigious award.
Rising Star Award Recipients Announced 

With votes being cast up until the night before the Induction Ceremony by Voting Members of the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame, the nominees in the six categories for the Rising Star Awards were truly surprised when their names were announced. This year's rising Star Awards were presented by Glen Helen Raceway. Congratulations to all of the recipients and to everyone who was nominated!
Sara Price
Motorcycle / ATV/UTV
Erik Miller
Rock Sports
Charlene Bower
Off-Road Industry
Todd Ockert
Off-Road Advocate
Andy McMillin
Off-Road Racing
Kyle LeDuc
Short Course
Andy and Kyle were unable to attend the Ceremony.

To become a Voting Member of the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame, click here.
ORMHOF Presents Inaugural Volunteer Award to Tom Heyl
Left to Right: Emcees Emme Hall and Ryan Arciero congratulate a surprised Tom Heyl on receiving ORMHOF's inaugural Volunteer Award.

Tom Heyl is one of many unsung heroes of off-road that ORMHOF is looking forward to recognizing over the coming years.  The Volunteer Award came as a complete surprise and a bit of a shock to Tom, who is used to working behind the scenes at ORMHOF with Rod Hall. Congratulations to Tom on receiving this well-deserved recognition, and thank you for all you do for the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame.
Dignitaries from Baja, California
Attend Induction Ceremony
Baja California Secretary of Tourism, Oscar Escobedo, addresses the audience at the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame 2016 Induction Ceremony.  ORMHOF Inductee Nico Saad, standing second from right, organized the visit.

Dignitaries from the State of Baja, California were honored guests at the 2016 Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. The visit was coordinated by ORMHOF Inductee Nico Saad. Nico is a former Federal and State Director of Tourism for Baja, California. He is also recognized for working with NORRA and SCORE to bring off-road racing to the Baja Peninsula.

The Secretary of Tourism for Baja, Oscar Escobedo, received a warm welcome from the audience.  His comments were greeted with a round of applause, when he announced that he and his delegation will do whatever it takes to ensure that off-road racing has a great future in the State of Baja, California.

Other dignitaries in attendance included the incoming Mayor of Ensenada, Marco Novelo; the President of the Ensenada Chambers of Commerce, Marco Coronado;  
the President of Proturismo, Amador Arteaga; and the President of the Ensenada Development Industrial Program, Octavio Sanchez Ramonetti.
Auction Raises Funds for ORMHOF
Left to Right: Emcees Ryan Arciero and Emme Hall having fun with the live auction at the 2016 Induction Ceremony in Las Vegas.
Thank you to everyone who participated in the online, live and silent auctions during the Induction Ceremony. The auctions are one of ORMHOF's major fundraisers for the year. A 501c3 non-profit organization, the Hall of Fame depends on the generosity of the off-road community for funding. A special ORMHOF thank you to all of the individuals and businesses who contributed items to this year's auction. Financial donations in any amount are always welcome; use the Donate icon at the bottom of this newsletter.

to view the Induction Ceremony photo gallery on Facebook
ORMHOF Welcomes Rory Ward and Bonnie Vessels to the Board of Directors

Rory Ward and Bonnie Vessels are the newest members of the Board of Directors and will each serve three year terms representing the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame.

Rory Ward is a professional firefighter by trade. He is an off-road enthusiast who enjoys finding historic vehicles and restoring them to their former glory, including the Mickey Thompson Challenger IV, pictured above.

Bonnie Vessels is the wife of legacy inductee Frank 'Scoop' Vessels. The iconic Vessels racing logo is instantly recognizable to off-road racing fans. Bonnie is looking forward to working with the other members of the board to preserve the history of the sport.


Mark McMillin, Chairman
Rod Hall, Vice Chairman
Colin Butcher
Dave Cole
Frank De Angelo
Bud Feldkamp
Zachary Gerber
Bob Ham
Wes Harbor
Dick Landfield
Bonnie Vessels
Rory Ward



On behalf of the entire board of directors, I would like to thank and
recognize these businesses and individuals for their support of the
Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame.

We invite you to join this distinguished group.
Mark McMillin, Chairman

Contact Mark 
Celebrate the past. Be part of the future. 
The Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame is a 501c3 Non-Profit Organization.
A portion of your donation or membership may be tax deductible.
Please consult with your tax professional for more information.

to view the Induction Ceremony photo gallery on Facebook
Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame | barbara@ormhof.org | ormhof.org