July 11, 2017
For Immediate Release
2017 John Mackey Award
Preseason Watch List Released 

Visit for all details
John Mackey Award  
The 2017 John Mackey Award will be presented live on ESPNU in December.
New York, N.Y. (July 11, 2017) - The Friends of John Mackey have released the 2017 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2017 Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 6, 2017 and then presented live on December 7, 2017 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. All future announcements can be found at .

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, recognizes fourteen alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04), Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06), Fred Davis ('07), Chase Coffman ('08), D.J. Williams ('10),  Dwayne Allen ('11) of the New England Patriots, Tyler Eifert ('12)  of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins ('13) of the New York Jets, Nick O'Leary ('14) of the Buffalo Bills, Hunter Henry of the Los Angeles Chargers and 2016 John Mackey Award recipient Jake Butt of the Denver Broncos. 
2017 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast over 745 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.
The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Seventeen of the association's 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the entire 2016 preseason watch list calendar:
Monday July 10:                     Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
Tuesday July 11                     Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy
Wednesday July 12               Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
Thursday July 13                   Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
Friday July 14                        Jim Thorpe Award
Monday July 17                      Butkus Award / Paul Hornung Award
Tuesday July 18                     Biletnikoff Award / Wuerffel Trophy
Wednesday July 19                Davey O'Brien Award
Thursday July 20                   Doak Walker Award
Friday July 21                        Walter Camp Award

The Friends of John Mackey are responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award & the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit for more information.  
Add any trademarks here