Students, Parents, Teachers & Friends of Education,

Dreams of attending college and pursuing a career became a reality for four Barrow County eighth grade students when they were selected as the 2018-2019 REACH Scholars for the Barrow County School System.

* Jeanna Presley from Bear Creek Middle School, 
* Dylan Ceraso from Haymon-Morris Middle School, 
* Morgan Watkins from Russel Middle School, and 
* Alex Tovar-Villagomez from Westside Middle School.

They will be joining a very exclusive group of students across the state who are striving to maintain their grades in order to graduate high school and college prepared for a career. Scholars who successfully complete the program are awarded a $10,000 scholarship that can be used at any HOPE eligible college in Georgia. This is the fourth group of scholars to be chosen in Barrow County. Read press release .

                            Positive Relationships

At the Georgia Department of Education Parent Mentor Kickoff Conference in Savannah, Georgia, Ms. Jamie Lynn Scheidt, a teacher at Haymon Morris Middle School, gave the closing keynote address. Ms. Scheidt shared with parent mentors and special education directors from across the state on, "My Story of Building Positive Relationships with Families of Children with Special Needs". Ms. Scheidt provided an inspirational presentation, encouraging attendees to be reminded of the extraordinary blessings that come with working with students with special needs. She thanked parent mentors and parents of students with special needs across the state for their love and support of exceptional students.

The Barrow County School System is proud of Ms. Scheidt and her devotion to our students, families, and community. Thank you, Ms. Scheidt, for demonstrating your BOLDness! 

Patriot Day

September 11, 2001 is a day most will never forget. Students and staff across the school district participated in remembering the events of that day, honoring our fallen, and the heroism of first responders. See pictures.

Dr. Chris McMichael

Board Members
Debi Krause
Garey Huff Sr.
Connie Wehunt
Michael Shelley
Lynn Stevens
Rickey Bailey
Suzanne Angle
Rolando Alvarez
Mark Still 


*    *    *    *    *

September 25
BOE Work Session

September 27
Tailgate Barrow

October 2
BOE Meeting

October 5
No School/Students
Teacher Planning

October 8
Columbus Day Holiday

October 9-12
Student Fall Break

October 17
Report Cards

October 30
BOE Work Session
*   *   *   *   *

Barrow County
School System:

Boldly Committed to
Student Success

Ensuring an exceptional
education that leads each
student to become a high
achieving and responsible

179 West Athens Street
Winder, Georgia  30680
(770) 867-4527
*   *   *   *   *