Members of the Society for Psychophysiological Research are invited to submit nominations for this year’s Award for Distinguished Early Career Contributions to Psychophysiology. We plan to select two awardees, one male and one female.

The period of eligibility is eight years following the completion of doctoral training. Therefore, to be eligible for the award, a nominee must be a current member of SPR who has made noteworthy contributions to the field of psychophysiology and the Society, and who received his or her doctorate on or after January 1, 2012. Previous nominees who did not receive the award may be nominated again, provided that they remain eligible given the eight-year time limit. The eight-year time limit may be extended by a maximum of two years for career interruptions, which may include (but are not limited to) parental leave, elder care, illness/medical leave, mandatory military service, or disruptions due to civil conflicts or natural disasters. Interruptions must have occurred in the time since the doctoral degree was conferred. 

A letter of nomination should include a summary of the candidate’s scientific and scholarly contributions.  The deadline for receipt of nominations is Friday, December 13, 2019 . Nominees will be contacted and asked to furnish supporting materials by January 15, 2020. These supporting materials will include documentation of contributions to psychophysiological science and SPR, as well as a brief description of career-interrupting circumstances (if relevant).

The awardees will receive a plaque and will be invited to give an address at the 2020 SPR Annual Meeting in Vancouver, Canada, October 7-11, 2020.  Meeting registration fees for the awardees will be waived (although not other travel costs). In addition, following editorial consultation, his or her presentation will be published in the journal, Psychophysiology . It is expected that the winners will provide their award paper to Monica Fabiani, PhD, Editor of Psychophysiology , shortly before the Annual Meeting, ideally by August 15, 2020, for inclusion in an early 2021 issue. 

Please send letters of nomination to the Chair of the Distinguished Early Career Award Committee via email:

Terry Blumenthal, PhD
Wake Forest University
Society for Psychophysiological Research | SPRweb.org