Call for Entries:
SEJ's Awards for Reporting on the Environment
Deadline: April 1, 2020, 11:59 p.m. EST

The Society of Environmental Journalists invites you to enter the Awards for Reporting on the Environment, which recognize the best environmental reporting of the last year. Enter your best stories on environment, energy, business, agriculture, or other related issues published from March 1, 2019 to Feb. 29, 2020 (b ooks must be published in calendar year 2019 ).

The best overall entry will receive the Nina Mason Pulliam Award for Outstanding Environmental Reporting: $10,000 cash prize, plus expenses to attend SEJ's 30th Annual Conference in Boise, ID, September 23-27, 2020, courtesy of the  The Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust . A total of $7500 in cash prizes are also offered in the categories listed below.

  • Deadline to enter is April 1, 2020, 11:59 p.m. EASTERN STANDARD TIME (formerly local time)
  • If you miss the deadline, you have until April 7, 2020, 11:59 p.m. EST -- but it will cost an extra $100 above the regular fee to enter after April 1.
  • Entry fee must be paid before you can access the entry form.
  • Journalists residing in low- to mid-income countries, as designated by the World Bank, can enter for $10US (embedded journalists from other countries excluded).
  • Market size has been changed to newsroom size to allow for a more fair assessment of newsroom resources.
  • Feature Story and Explanatory Reporting categories are now split into large and small newsroom.
  • No more limits on file sizes (you'll still have to combine some PDFs).

Entry Fees: 
SEJ Members: $45
Nonmember Journalists: $110
SEJ Student Members: $15
Nonmember Students: $25 
Low- to Mid-income Countries (See World Bank designations) : $10


Questions? Contact Chris Bruggers .

2020 SEJ Award Categories: 

  • Kevin Carmody Award for Outstanding Investigative Reporting, Large Newsroom / Small Newsroom: An investigative report or series on a single environmental topic using journalistic skills to disclose facts that businesses, government agencies or other people, absent the reporting, would not likely be disclosed.  Judges will be encouraged to weigh the results of the reporting in their deliberations. $500 first place, $250 second place cash prizes. 

  • Outstanding Beat Reporting, Large Newsroom / Small Newsroom: Up to five broadcast or published news reports and/or commentary on a broad range of environmental topics or a broad range of various issues within a single environmental topic. Entry must be the work of an individual, either alone or with a small supporting team. $500 first place, $250 second place cash prizes. 

  • Outstanding Feature Story, Large Newsroom / Small Newsroom: Entry must be a single environmental interest story not directly tied to a recent news event, with an emphasis on storytelling. Multi-part stories are prohibited. $500 first place, $250 second place cash prizes. 

  • Outstanding Explanatory Reporting, Large Newsroom / Small Newsroom: A story, series or occasional series that illuminates a significant, complex environmental subject, demonstrating mastery of the subject, storytelling and clear presentation. $500 first place, $250 second place cash prizes.

  • Rachel Carson Environment Book Award: A nonfiction book, originally published between January 1 and December 31, 2019, covering an environmental topic. Memoirs and picture books are not eligible. However, photojournalism books that tell an environmental story through images and text are eligible. $500 first place, $250 second place cash prizes. 

  • Outstanding Student Reporting: A story or series on an environmental topic by a student enrolled in a university, college or high school. The story or stories must be be published, aired or otherwise produced in a media outlet accessible to the general public. $500 first place, $250 second place cash prizes. 

See past Award winners:
2002  |  2003  |  2004  |  2005  |  2006  |  2007  |  2008  |  2009  |  2010  |  2011  |  2012  |  2013  |  2014  |  2015  |  2016 2017  |  2018 | 2019