A Breath of Music from The Dranoff 2 Piano
Suite #3 for Solo Cello, op. 87 by Benjamin Britten
The Conclusion
Please click on the image

The aesthetic marriage of a composer facing death, Janus-like as ever, and a performer who was his frequent muse – the suites are dedicated to Mstislav Rostropovich -  yields music of uncommon contemplation.

Rarely have such superficially simple raw materials -- in this case three Russian folk melodies and the Byzantine chant for the dead from the Russian Orthodox liturgy -- provided such nourishing manna. The composer treads an historical path as a Moebius strip and in so doing takes both listener and performer on a spiritual pilgrimage.
Jason Calloway

Jason Calloway is a founding member of the Amernet String Quartet. With a deep commitment to the music of our time, they have commissioned works from many of today’s leading composers.

Benjamin Britten grew up in a house which looked out across the North Sea that would inspire much of his music.His partner and muse, Peter Pears, bought a house in the Suffolk town of Snape (near Aldeburgh on the coast) where the photo was taken. It was in Snape that they founded the Aldeburgh Festival of Music and the Arts.