canada_day4.jpg
UPTOWN MARKET

Our Qualicum store is open until 9pm Thursday nights all summer long. 

Come in and see us! 

JUST
ARRIVED

in both stores
a FABULOUS NEW selection of BARGAIN BOOKS

INCREDIBLY LOW
PRICES

UP TO 70% OFF REGULAR RETAIL


SUMMER
READING

Tuck one or two 
of these new paperbacks into  your bag and head 
to the beach!

A Tiding of Magpies by Steve Burrows
Canadian Author

School of Velocity by Eric Beck Rubin
Canadian Author

The Figgs
 by Ali Bryan
Canadian Author

The Perfect Couple
by Elin Hilderbrand

Hello Sunshine
 by Laura Dave

Mysterious Fragrance of the Yellow Mountains
by Yasuko Thanh
Canadian Author

Ten Dead Comedians
by Fred Van Lente

Tickets

KATHAUMIXW

Featuring choirs from Australia and The Slovak Republic

Tuesday, July 10th 7pm
Knox United Church, Parksville

TICKETS:
$18.00 Adults 
$10.00 Students
________

The Parish of St. Anne & St. Edmund proudly present
CONCERT FOR A SUMMER'S EVENING

Thursday, July 12th 7:30pm
St. Edmunds Church, Parksville
TICKETS
$20.00 Adults, 
$5.00 Students, Children 12 & under, free.
________

Little Qualicum Cheeseworks presents
JAZZ, TEA & CHEESECAKE 2018

Sunday, July 15th 1:30pm
Morningstar Farm, Parksville
TICKETS: $25.00 each

_________

JESSE COOK - BEYOND BORDERS TOUR
at the Qualicum Beach Civic Centre

Thursday, Sept. 27th 7:30pm
Tickets : $50 each

 
 CONNECT
with us online
 
Follow us on Twitter 

Like us on Facebook 

Young Adult

These books are from our young adult section. 

It's okay to read them. In fact you'll find they often have provocative themes and complex characters.

PS We read them too! 

Neanderthal Opens to Door to the Universe
by Preston Norton

Perfect for fans of John Green and Becky Albertalli, "an utterly unforgettable, must-read for every fan of contemporary YA."

Save the Date
by Morgan Matson 

Father of the Bride meets Sixteen Candles

Over the course of three ridiculously chaotic days, Charlie will learn more than she ever expected about the family she thought she knew by heart. 

Future Six
by Pittacus Lore

Newcomers as well as fans of the original series will devour this fast-paced, action-packed sci-fi adventure that's perfect for fans of Marvel's X-Men, Alexandra Bracken's Darkest Minds trilogy, and Tahereh Maf's Shatter Me series.

Once in a Town Called Moth
by Trilby Kent

The fish out of water story of a young Mennonite girl from Bolivia trying to find her way in a big city.


FIND US 
ONLINE
enter-key-keyboard.jpg
The  Mulberry  Bush Bookstore  Website

Stay connected with 
us on-line at

You'll find store information, event & sale news, ticket information, and so much more!

You can also search our online store by author, title, keyword and more.

Visit us 24 hours at our:

July 2018 Newsletter

In celebration of Canada's 151st Birthday read below for new books with a distinct focus on Canada. Be sure to come into our store and see all of our fantastic Canadian authors section. 

We are currently working on an exciting list of author events for the fall. We'll be sure to share all the details soon!

For books we personally recommend, find our  Staff Picks below. 

Don't forget to read all the way to the bottom of this message to see if you are our  Great Book Giveaway winner for July.

Happy reading,
Barb & Tom

LONG WEEKEND HOURS:
 
Our Parksville store is open Sunday, July 1st, 10am - 5pm and Monday, July 2nd both stores are open 9:30am - 5pm.
Staff Picks
Jan's Pick
Wild Fierce Life
by Joanna Streetly

"Most of the true tales in this book take place before cellphones and GPS were commonplace.  Funny, illuminating, sometimes frightening, powerful, and haunting vignettes of life on the west coast.  Whether it's maneuvering a baby from a float house to a boat to an island, riding her kayak in the dark surrounded by bio-luminescent life and stars that take your breath away, or unexpected encounters with wildlife, Streetly takes you on a journey you'll never forget. This is my favourite non-fiction book so far this year."
Tom's Pick
The Weather Detective
by Peter Wohlleben

The internationally bestselling author of The Hidden Life of Trees shows how we can decipher nature's secret signs by studying the weather.

At what temperature do bees stay home? Why do southerly winds in winter often bring storms? How can birdsong or flower scents help you tell the time? These are among the many questions Wohlleben poses in his newly translated book. Full of the very latest discoveries, combined with ancient now-forgotten lore, The Weather Detective helps you read nature's secret signs and discover a rich new layer of meaning in the world around you.

"A very practical book, with many interesting facts and suggestions. "
Barb's Pick
Our House
by Louise Candlish

Releasing August 7th. Reserve a copy here

"Fiona Lawson, recently separated from her husband, Bram, returns home one day to find another family moving in to her house, and her husband and sons missing. As she starts to put the pieces together she finds herself caught up in mystery, deception, blackmail and more.  This domestic suspense has a fabulous twist at the end!   I highly recommend this novel:  it will be your favourite read of the summer! "
Marianne's Pick
The Word is Murder
by Anthony Horowitz

A woman crosses a London street.

It is just after 11am on a bright spring morning, and she is going into a funeral parlor to plan her own service.

Six hours later the woman is dead, strangled with a crimson curtain cord in her own home.

Enter disgraced police detective Daniel Hawthorne, a brilliant, eccentric man as quick with an insult as he is to crack a case. And Hawthorne has a partner, the celebrated novelist Anthony Horowitz, curious about the case and looking for new material.


"The perfect summer mystery. So much fun to read and so cleverly written. Highly recommended."
Rachael's Pick
Anna, Like Thunder
by Peppy Herring

"When a Russian trading ship runs aground off the shores of Washington State's Olympic Peninsula in 1808, the crew and the Captain's wife, 18 year-old Anna, find themselves alternately aided, captured and traded by different indigenous tribes. Anna's reaction is unique among her fellow prisoners and her clear voice and observing eye ensnare reader in her tale. As Anna experiences a way of life so alien to her upbringing - inclusion, communal tasks and celebrations, respect for nature - she begins to question Russian imperialist aspirations and the beliefs and values borne by her upbringing. A compelling read for fans of historical fiction and a west coast answer to Michael Crummey's The River Thieves."
Leigh's Pick
The Secret Life of Cows
by Rosamund Young

At her famous Kite's Nest Farm in Worcestershire, England, the cows (as well as sheep, hens, and pigs) all roam free. They make their own choices about rearing, grazing, and housing. Left to be themselves, the cows exhibit temperaments and interests as diverse as our own.

"
I always enjoy stories concerning the intelligence and awareness of animals, and their relationships to humans and other animals. This charming book is an eye-opener and a pleasant read.
"

heart_glossy_canada.jpg
OH CANADA
New Canadian Books to Celebrate Who We Are and Where We Live
Off the Hook: The Essential West Coast Seafood Recipes

by DL Acken & Aurelia Louvel

The islands of Canada's West Coast are home to some of the freshest and most sustainable seafood in the world. In this exquisitely photographed and curated cookbook you'll find 60+ easy and approachable recipes using simple techniques written for home cooks of any skill level. 

From Peel 'n' Eat Spot Prawns to Dungeness Crab Cakes to Beet Smoked Salmon Lox, the bounty of the Pacific Northwest comes to life in recipes that will inspire delight. Food photographer Danielle (DL) Acken and food stylist Aurelia Louvet deliver classic recipes with a uniquely modern West Coast twist.
Flora and Fauna of Coastal British Columbia and the Pacific Northwest
by Collin Varner

The Flora and Fauna of Coastal British Columbia and the Pacific Northwest  is an extensive, easy-to-follow resource guide to the plant and animal life of this vast and diverse bioregion. 

The book is divided into flora and fauna, with detailed subsections for flowering plants, berries, ferns, shrubs and bushes, trees, funghi, birds, mammals, amphibians, reptiles, and insects. Each species is illustrated by clear photography and a concise description of its appearance, biology, and habitat, as well as its traditional use and medicinal properties.
21 Things You May Not Know about The Indian Act
by Bob Joseph

Since its creation in 1876, the Indian Act has shaped, controlled, and constrained the lives and opportunities of Indigenous Peoples, and is at the root of many enduring stereotypes.

Bob Joseph's book comes at a key time in the reconciliation process, when awareness from both Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities is at a crescendo. Joseph explains how Indigenous Peoples can step out from under the Indian Act and return to self-government, self-determination, and self-reliance, and why doing so would result in a better country for every Canadian. 
E.J. Hughes
Paints Vancouver Island
by Robert Amos

The reputation of E. J. Hughes in British Columbia is second only to that of Emily Carr. His paintings, collected by every major gallery in our country, fetch more than $1 million at auction. Yet Hughes lived a notoriously private life.

Hughes painted scenes from all over BC, but he especially loved Vancouver Island, and lived most of his 93 years at Shawnigan Lake and Duncan. This book features paintings from his beloved island home-from Sidney, past Goldstream and the Malahat to Cowichan Bay, Genoa Bay, and Maple Bay. With stops along the way, he painted scenes from Ladysmith, Nanaimo, Comox, and Courtenay. Hughes recorded the passing of an era, capturing the coastal steamships, log booms, fishing boats, and the landscapes he treasured.
Sailing with Vancouver: A Modern Sea Dog, Antique Charts and a Voyage Through Time
by Sam McKinney

As Sam McKinney retraced the explorations of Captain George Vancouver and his men from Puget Sound to Queen Charlotte Sound he wondered, "Could I have been one of them?"

In the 1790s, Vancouver's crew rowed for long hours day after day, and camped on rocky beaches in all weathers to chart the intricate coastline for European colonial exploits. Two hundred years later, McKinney followed their ancient path in his 25-foot sailboat, anchoring where they did, meeting the same winds and waves, and sharing "the link of vulnerability that is the ever-present condition of all people who go to sea."
The Promise of Canada: People and Ideas That Have Shaped Our Country
by Charlotte Gray

New in paperback

From the acclaimed historian Charlotte Gray comes a richly rewarding book about what it means to be Canadian. Readers already know Gray as an award-winning biographer, a writer who has brilliantly captured significant individuals and dramatic moments in our history. Now, in 
The Promise of Canada , she weaves together masterful portraits of nine influential Canadians, creating a unique history of our country.

A History of Canada in Ten Maps
by Adam Shoalts

New in paperback

Adam Shoalts, one of Canada's foremost explorers, tells the stories behind these centuries old maps, and how they came to shape what became "Canada." 

It's a story that will surprise readers, and reveal the Canada we never knew was hidden. It brings to life the characters and the bloody disputes that forged our history, by showing us what the world looked like before it entered the history books. Combining storytelling, cartography, geography, archaeology and of course history, this book shows us Canada in a way we've never seen it before.