Cellar Door Books
Say Friend and Enter

News & Events
February 2018
5225 Canyon Crest Dr. #30A, Riverside CA | 951.787.7807 | cellardoorbookstore.com
Store Hours: Mon - Sat 10 am-8pm | Sun 10 am-6 pm
g
Storytime: every Saturday at 11 pm
Upcoming Events
Friday, February 2 at 6 pm
Teen Advisory Board Meeting
Saturday, February 10 at 7 pm
Game Night
Sunday, February 11 at 1 pm
Open Chess Play with Coach Palmer
Monday, February 19 at 7 pm
UCR's Creative Writing MFA Reading
February is Black History Month! Be sure to check out our in-store displays.
"People don't realize how a man's whole life can be changed with one book." 
- Malcolm X
January Best "Cellars"
     Macmillan |  9781250158062
     Penguin Random House |  9781524740917
     Cinco Puntos Press |  9781935955955
     Scholastic |  9780545083782
     Scholastic |  9781338038415
     Simon & Schuster |  9781481438254
     Macmillan |  9781555977887
     Houghton Mifflin Harcourt |  9780544800830
     Hachette |  978-0316229296
     Scholastic |  9780545646239
February Staff Picks

Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi (out Feb. 13)
"This was one of those books that in ten pages I wanted to talk to other people about it. An incredible debut... Emezi deftly melds Igbo-Nigerian folklore with contemporary literary fiction and the result is breathtaking."  - Elisa


Addison Cooke and the Treasure of the Incas by Jonathan Stokes:  "Addison Cooke comes from a long line of archaeologists, and he and his sister Molly are as comfortable in the New York Museum of Archaeology as anywhere else... kids with moxy, brains and a willingness to adventure in order to save their family. Indiana Jones with kids, this is so much fun!" - Linda

Reading with author Sang-Hee Lee  sangheelee
in assoc. with UCR's Department of Anthropology
Thursday, March 1 at 6 pm

Join us in welcoming local author and Professor of Anthropology at UC Riverside, Sang-Hee Lee! She'll be reading from her new book, Close Encounters with Humankind: A Paleoanthropologist Investigates Our Evolving Species
Sign Up for Cellar Door's Summer Camp

Looking for an engaging summer activity for your kids? Sign-up for our new Summer Camp! The program, geared towards kids age 9-12, will start June 19. Each session is themed after a book, and will include lunch, a copy of the book, an activity with Crafty U Too, and a free water bottle. ($85 per session)

We've got more summer activities up our sleeve: a Magic Tree House camp for our early readers; a writing workshop for kids; a Teen Social Action Summer program; and, finally, the return of Alicia's art classes for kids. Watch for more information in the coming weeks - but reserve your spot now! To register for any of these programs, speak with a bookseller in-store, give us a call at (951) 787-7807, or send an email to info@cellardoorbookstore.com. 
The Riverside Dickens Festival presents: a Great Expectations Recitation  dickens
Saturday, February 10 at 12 pm

Cellar Door Books' very own Richard Wing (in character as a Victorian gentleman, of course) will be in-store to recite passages from Charles Dickens's classic work, Great Expectations, in anticipation of the Riverside Dickens Festival's Silver Jubilee. 
Jamii Publishing Book Release jamii
Saturday, February 16 at 6 pm

Come join us for a special night as Jamii Publishing welcomes and celebrates the release of two new local poetry authors: Elisa Urmston and Micah Tasaka. There will be a book signing, and light refreshments will be provided. Special guest readers to be announced!
In Memory of Ursula K. Le Guin
(October 21, 1929-January 22, 2018)

"I am in mourning for a woman who affected my ideas about gender, the imperative to know oneself no matter how difficult the journey, the power of words, and, of course, the illusive character of cats... Ursula Le Guin challenged the literary world and us to do better."
Book Clubs for Adults

Cellar Door Book Club (Meets the fourth Sunday of the month at 3 pm)
Sunday, February 25: The Lightkeepers by Abby Geni
Sunday, March 25: History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

Mystery Book Club  (Meets the third Thursday of the month at 6 pm)
Thursday, February 15: Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart
Thursday, March 15: Darktown by Thomas Mullen

Science-Fiction & Fantasy  (Meets the third Saturday of the month at 5 pm)
Saturday, February 17: The Just City by Jo Walton
Saturday, March 17: Vicious by V.E. Schwab

Memoir & Biography  (Meets the second Wednesday of the month at 6 pm)
*Tuesday, February 13: The Beautiful Struggle by Ta-Nehisi Coates
Wednesday, March 14: This is Just My Face: Try Not to Stare by Gabourey Sidibe

Latino Book Club  (Meets the fourth Tuesday of the month at 6:30 pm)
Tuesday, February 27: The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende
Tuesday, March 27: Still Water Saints by Alex Espinoza

Historical Fiction Book Club  (Meets the fourth Saturday of the month at 5 pm)
Saturday, February 24: Richard III by William Shakespeare
Saturday, March 24: Rise to Rebellion by Jeffrey Shaara

Agatha Christie Book Club  (Meets the third Tuesday of the month at 6:30 pm)
Tuesday, February 20: Sad Cypress
Tuesday, March 20: The Moving Finger

Philosophical Horror  (Meets the third Wednesday of the month at 6 pm)
*Wednesday, February 21: A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay
Monday, March 19: Zone One by Colson Whitehead

Black Lit Book Club  (Meets the final Friday of the month at 6 pm)
Friday, February 23: Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward
Friday, March 23: The Fishermen by Chgoze Obioma

Speculative Fiction Book Club  (Meets the second Friday of the month at 6:30 pm)
Friday, February 9: Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchet
Friday, March 9: Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi

LGBTQ Book Club  (Meets the third Friday of the month at 6 pm)
*Monday, February 12: Queer  by Meg-John Barker, ill. by Julia Schele
Friday, March 16: Michael Tolliver Lives by Armistead Maupin

Not Your Father's Teen Lit  (Meets the first Saturday of the month at 6 pm)
Saturday, February 3: Illuminae by Aimee Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
Saturday, March 3: Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Revolution or Revelation  (Meets the first Sunday of the month at 12:30 pm)
Sunday, February 4:  Wars of the Roses by Dan Jones

Bucket List Book Club  (Meets the third Sunday of the month at 3 pm)
Sunday, February 18: Doctor Faustus (The Complete Plays) by Christopher Marlowe
Sunday, March 18: Emma by Jane Austen

Phy-Sci Book Club  (Meets the fourth Wednesday of the month at 6 pm)
Wednesday, February 28: If Our Bodies Could Talk by James Hamblin
Wednesday, March 28: We Have No Idea by Jorge Cham and Daniel Whiteson

Current Affairs Book Club  (Meets the second Sunday of the month at 4 pm)
Sunday, February 11: We Were Eight Years in Power by Ta-Nehisi Coates
Sunday, March 11: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Feminist Book Club  (Meets the first Tuesday of the month at 6 pm)
Tuesday, February 6: Her Body and Other Parties by Carmen Maria Machado
Tuesday, March 6: Trainwreck by Sady Doyle

NEW! Graphic Novel Book Club  (Meets the first Wednesday of the month at 6:30 pm)
Wednesday, February 7: Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan, ill. by Fiona Staples
Wednesday, March 7: Kindred by Octavia Butler, adapted by Damian Duffy, ill. by John Jennings

NEW! Libros en Espanol (Meets the second Tuesday of the month at 6:30 pm)
Tuesday, March 13: Como agua para chocolate by Laura Esquivel

Book Clubs for Kids and Youth

Early Reader Book Club (Meets the second Saturday of the month at 1 pm)
Saturday, February 10: Shark School: Deep-Sea Disaster by Davy Ocean
Saturday, March 10: Dragon Masters: Rise of the Earth Dragon by Tracey West

NEW! Spanish Reader Book Club  (Meets the third Saturday of the month at 1 pm)
Saturday, February 17: Hola, Hombre Mosca by Tedd Arnold
Saturday, March 17: El Patito Feo by Merce Escardo i Bas

Kid's Book Club (Meets the second Thursday of the month at 4 pm)
Thursday, February 8: This is Not a Werewolf Story by Sandra Evan
Thursday, March 8: The Only Road by Alexandra Diaz

Dumbeldore's Army (Meets the first Monday of the month at 3:30 pm)
Monday, February 5: The Siren by Kiera Cass
Monday, March 5: Enchanted Air by Margarita Engle

Visit our Book Clubs page here for more info.
STAY CONNECTED: