December 2021

On behalf of the Agricultural Adaptation Council (AAC) board and staff, I would like to thank our members, funding partners and stakeholders for their support and engagement over the past year.
On December 2, we hosted our 26th annual meeting. We were very pleased with the number of member organizations in attendance. You can read more about the meeting and our newly elected board in the article below.
Over the past year, AAC staff have been busy managing a suite of programs. We are currently working with Ontario Regional Priorities Partnership Program (ON-RP3) applicants, under our joint initiative with Ontario Genomics and Genome Canada. AAC is also delivering phase two of the Greenhouse Competitiveness and Innovation Initiative (GCII) with the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA). And earlier this year, we wrapped up the delivery of the Emergency Processing Fund (EPF) for food processers in Ontario, Manitoba and Nunavut, which was funded through Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC).
We are thankful to both OMAFRA and AAFC for choosing AAC as delivery partner for these programs. We are also very pleased with the success of ON-RP3 and partnership with Ontario Genomics and Genome Canada. All of these funding programs are helping stimulate growth and opportunity across the agriculture and food sector.
We are looking forward to receiving applications from our member organizations for the AAC Sectoral Collaboration Initiative (ASCI). The deadline for applications is January 17. Further details about the program can be found on the AAC website.
I look forward to working with the new board in the upcoming year, engaging with our 60 member organizations and continuing to seek new program delivery opportunities for AAC.
We want to wish you a safe and happy holiday season!

Doug Alexander, AAC Chair
The Agricultural Adaptation Council (AAC) reflected on its past year of program delivery and discussed future opportunities at its December 2nd annual general meeting.  

“AAC is primed for the future, by leveraging our 26 years of experience in effective program delivery for the Ontario agriculture and food industry.” said newly elected Board Chair, Doug Alexander. “I am confident in the 2021-2022 board’s ability to carry on the momentum of the past board – continuing to seek new program delivery opportunities, engage with our 60 member organizations and move the strategic plan forward.”

The 2021-2022 board was elected at the AGM and includes:
  • Chair: Doug Alexander, Agri-business/Retail/Food Processor
  • Vice Chair: Ed Scharringa, General Farm Interest
  • Treasurer: Dennis Fischer, Livestock
  • Secretary: Sara Wood, Youth-at-Large
  • Peggy Brekveld, General Farm Interest
  • Scott Buchan, Supply Management
  • Keith Black, Grains/Seeds/Oilseeds/Specialty Crops
  • Maaike Campbell, Livestock
  • Norman Charbonneau, Horticulture
  • Chris Hiemstra, Other Industries/Commodity Groups
  • Ashley Knapton, Youth-at-Large
  • Ruth Knight, Other Organizations
  • Jamie Payton, Grains/Seeds/Oilseeds/Specialty Crops
  • Mark Wales, Horticulture
  • Henry Wydeven, Supply Management

Click here to read the full story.