ADV logo

January 2019
A Message From Our President
Ryan J. Hall, Cooper-Smith
2018-2019 AAF Toledo President

Happy New Year from AAF Toledo!
As we embark on a new calendar year, what better time than now to remember the best of 2018? The ADDYs are the advertising industry's largest and most representative competition, attracting over 40,000 entries every year in local events. The AAF Toledo ADDY Awards are the first of a three-tier, national competition. Learn more about past year winners, Silver Medal Award recipients and the ADDY award process here .
Join us on Wednesday, January 16 th for the first Lunch & Learn program of 2019 which will be held at The Premier from 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. Be inspired by past AAF Toledo Silver Medal Award recipients as they share their career retrospective and what the future holds for the creative industry. Don’t forget, our non-profit partner, St. Paul’s Community Center is looking for donations: toothpaste, shampoo, gloves, sweatshirts, and sweatpants are all needed this winter season. Be sure to visit our website for more details!
Save the date for Friday, March 29 th and start recruiting bowlers for our annual AdPIN bowling tournament! This sell-out event is a fan favorite and includes, glow bowling, shoes, food, trophies and more! Online registration is now available and teams are encouraged to register early as space is limited. Again, this event sells out fast so be sure to book your team now!
Thank you for your continued support of AAF Toledo. Keep up with all that is happening by following us on Facebook , Instagram , LinkedIn , and Twitter , or by visiting for current event and program information!
If you would like to become more involved within the club, we have several committees that could use your help! We would love to have your input, and you do not need to be on the Board of Governors in order to participate. To find out more about becoming involved on one of our committees, please reach out to Patty Schoepf by clicking HERE .

Ryan J. Hall
Cooper-Smith Advertising
Media Buyer

To stay on up to date with everything AAF Toledo, please follow us on Facebook , Instagram , LinkedIn , and Twitter .
Upcoming Events
January 4

January 11
ADDY Judging

January 16

February 1

February 21

March 29

April 1-15

The Advertising Club of Toledo/AAF Toledo - Toledo Community Foundation Fund was established in 2001.

To provide annual scholarships for students pursuing a communications, marketing, public relations or related degree at The University of Toledo or Bowling Green State University (or another accredited university or college in Ohio or Michigan) who will be full-time (as defined by the institution) college undergraduate or graduate students. Scholarship recipients may re-apply in subsequent years. Applicants must be U.S. citizens.

It is anticipated that at least two $1,000 scholarships will be awarded in early May. Finalists may be interviewed. Recipients will be introduced at the AAF Toledo June luncheon.

Deadline: February 1, 2019 at 11:59 PM EST

Make Giving a Part of Buying!
PromoHits has committed to donating 5% of its total product sales from January-June 2019 to four local charities! 
You can be part of this simply by purchasing your promotional products and telling us which of the 4 designated charities you'd like to support.

There is no extra cost to you! 

The four local charities to benefit from this initiative are:

To learn more or to place an order and choose which charity you'd like to support, call 419-358-0700 or email .

Follow us on Facebook to learn more about these charities and our involvement through PromoCares!
Thank You For Supporting St. Paul's Community Center
Thank you to those who attended "Our Favorite Things" and brought donations for St. Paul's Community Center.

Andrew Jex
Freelance Videographer

Krystal Kraemer
Design Student

David Navarre
Flanders Creatives

Valerie Thompson
Environmental Designer


Erin Hirschfeld
Graphic Designer
Erin Ink

Karen Hopkinson
Account Manager, NW Ohio & Michigan
Great Lakes Publihsing

July 1, 2018-June 30, 2019

Who Am I?
My place of birth is:
Toledo, Ohio

My hobbies are:
eating, cooking, anything involving art or comedy

The last good book I read was:
Rich Dad, Poor Dad

My oddest habit is:
portioning my food so that my last bite is the best piece of everything

Device I couldn't live without:
my phone

My greatest accomplishment outside my profession:
reconciling with my estranged father

The reason I got into advertising/marketing:
I wanted to create art on a large scale. I was also very intrigued about how art can persuade people.

Biggest influences on me professionally:
Freelancing and growing up in church, both were big lessons on people.

My greatest unfulfilled ambition is:
I wish I could host one of those shows where you travel to different restaurants, try all the food and talk with the chefs.
When nobody's looking, I like to:
watch cartoons

The one thing I really want the world to know about me:
My creativity comes from the Creator. I would be nothing without Him.

Best thing about being an AAF Toledo member:
Love attending the ADDYs!

I am:
Valerie Thompson
Environmental Designer
Office: 567-585-3538
Mail Stop Code: MSC-S48932
100 Madison Ave., Floor: 4
Toledo OH 43604
2018-2019 Officers & Board of Governors

Ryan Hall, President

Melanie Dunn, 1st Vice President

Katelin Reinhart, 2nd Vice President

Ashley Yoakam, Trasurer

Casey Pogan, Ex-Officio

President's Advisory Council
Patrick Bruen

Matt Rubin

Chairman, AAF District 5 and National Board Member
Michael Seay

Executive Director
Patty Schoepf
office: 419.866.4199
cell: 419.260.9572

Board of Governors:

Liz Allen

Chrissy Arvin

Jodi Dixon

Jean Drees

Scott Grosteffon

Kelly Henry-Hahn

Holly Kemler

Jessica Ovall

Greg Reece

Lucas Stall

Sally Stearns

Mike Toth
About AAF Toledo
AAF Toledo, formerly the Advertising Club of Toledo, is a professional and social organization for individuals actively involved in the creation and production of advertising and marketing communications materials. The nonprofit (501C6) organization was originally formed in 1909 and remains dedicated to providing professional education and promoting fellowship among members and the community they serve.