For Immediate Release
Media Contact:
Cathy Szmurlo
Manager, Communications
American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology
Announces 2020 Board of Directors
January 15, 2020, Deerfield, Ill. --- The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. (ABPN) announces its 2020 Board of Directors. The board’s term runs from January through December 2020.
Paramjit T. Joshi, MD
2020 Board Chair of the ABPN
J. Clay Goodman, MD
2020 Vice Chair of the ABPN
Paramjit T. Joshi, MD has been elected Chair. Dr. Joshi is Professor of Psychiatry & Human Behavior at the University of California, Irvine (UCI) and Director of the Child & Adolescent Fellowship Program. 

As an ABPN Director, Dr. Joshi also serves as Chair of the Psychiatry Council, and as Chair of the Bylaws, 2021 Nominating of Officers, Psychiatry Appeals Review, Irregular Behavior, and Disability Accommodations Committees. She is Vice Chair of the Alternative Pathways Oversight and Continuing Certification (CC) Pilot Project-CAP Committees. She is a liaison to AACAP and is also on the Task Force on Continuing Certification (with AACAP). In addition, Dr. Joshi serves on the Communications, Finance, Investment, and Strategic Planning Committees. 

Dr. Joshi has held several national leadership positions as President of the Society of Professors of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry and of AACAP. She is a Distinguished Fellow of the APA and the AACAP.

Dr. Joshi succeeds J. Clay Goodman, MD as Chair. 

J. Clay Goodman, MD has been elected Vice Chair. Dr. Goodman is Professor of Pathology & Immunology and Neurology at Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX. He is Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education directing the Foundational Sciences Curriculum and he directs the Neuropathology Program. 

As an ABPN Director, Dr. Goodman also serves as Chair of the Neurology Council and as Chair of the Appeals Review-Neurology and Certification Examination Combined-Neurology Committees. He is also Chair of the Certification Examination Combined General Neurology Subcommittee. In addition, Dr. Goodman serves on the committees for Bylaws, 2021 Nominating of Officers, Communications, Finance, Investment, Irregular Behavior, Disability Accommodations, and Strategic Planning. 

At the AAN, Dr. Goodman serves on the Member Engagement Committee, and has held positions of Chair of RITE Subcommittee and Chair of the Program Accreditation and Development Subcommittee of the Education Committee, founding Editor for Online CME for Neurology, and founding Co-Chair of the Credentialing Council of the UCNS. He has served as Member and Treasurer of the Board of Trustees of the American Brain Foundation. He is Board Certified in both Neurology and Neuropathology. Dr. Goodman is an internationally recognized authority on traumatic brain injury.  

Dr. Goodman succeeds Robert N. Golden, MD, Dean of the School of Medicine and Public Health, Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs, Robert Turrell Professor in Medical Leadership, and Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, as Vice Chair.

Newly elected to the ABPN 2020 Board of Directors are Sheldon Benjamin, MD and Jaffar Khan, MD.  

 “The ABPN is indeed very fortunate to have Dr. Paramjit T. Joshi as its Chair and Dr. J. Clay Goodman as its Vice Chair this year,” said Larry R. Faulkner, MD, ABPN President and CEO. “Both have been excellent directors of the ABPN for the past seven years and bring a wealth of relevant professional experience to their new roles.”

“Likewise, the ABPN is pleased to welcome Drs. Sheldon Benjamin and Jaffar Khan as its newest directors. Drs. Benjamin and Khan have had distinguished careers as academicians, clinicians, and leaders in their respective disciplines, and the ABPN will benefit greatly from their experiences."

Additional members of the Executive Committee include: John B. Bodensteiner, MD, Board Secretary; Christopher R. Thomas, MD, Board Treasurer; Jeffrey M. Lyness, MD, Board Member-at-Large; and Allison Brashear, MD, MBA, Board Member-at-Large. 

For the ABPN, the specialties of both psychiatry and neurology are represented on its board of directors. 

In addition to Dr. Joshi, the 2020 ABPN Psychiatry Directors include:

  • Joan M. Anzia, MD 
  • Sheldon Benjamin, MD
  • Robert J. Boland, MD
  • Josepha A. Cheong, MD
  • Jeffrey M. Lyness, MD
  • Andrea G. Stolar, MD
  • Christopher R. Thomas, MD

In addition to Dr. Goodman, the 2020 ABPN Neurology Directors include:

  • Imran I. Ali, MD
  • John B. Bodensteiner, MD
  • Allison Brashear, MD, MBA
  • Amy Brooks-Kayal, MD
  • Terrence L. Cascino, MD
  • Jaffar Khan, MD
  • Steven L. Lewis, MD
  • Nina F. Schor, MD, PhD
About the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc.
The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. is a not-for-profit corporation dedicated to serving the public interest and the professions of psychiatry and neurology by promoting excellence in practice through certification and maintenance of certification processes. 

For more information, please visit our website at or contact us at