ACMF launches the Fern Khan Grant
The ACMF Fern Khan Grant is open to returning students for undergraduate degree programs at the Caribbean Maritime University. The award is tenable for the 2019/2020 school year and the first set of students awarded are from St. Vincent and Jamaica. They are James Foster, Kamal Swaby, Athina Francis, Andre Theobald, Horatio McLean, and Jenelle Hinds. The Scholarship celebrates Jamaican American Fern Khan’s 60 years in academia. Ms. Khan retired from her last position as Dean of the Division of Continuing Education at Bank Street College of Education in New York. "I am honored to be named for this scholarship," says Ms. Khan, Vice President of the ACMF.
ACMF appoints new board members
Michelle Otero-Valdes, Esq
Partner in the law firm Chalos & Co, P.C., Coral Gables, FL, was recently appointed to the ACMF board of directors. She is a highly accomplished maritime attorney and board certified in Admiralty and Maritime Law by The Florida Bar since 2007 and previous Chair and Vice Chair of the Admiralty and Maritime Law Certification Committee. She is a regular guest lecturer and writer on topics such as admiralty law, marine insurance law, marine pollution, and blogger and acknowledged expert on all facets of admiralty and maritime law. Recognition in the industry along with Spanish-speaking skills has led to a multinational practice.
Daphne Ewing-Chow
An established strategic communications professional with a focus on the environment and Caribbean Affairs. She is widely published in the area of fisheries and marine conservation, is an environmental and agriculture contributor with Forbes. She has a Master’s Degree in International Economic Policy from Columbia University and has held senior positions in the financial services and venture capital industries in the Cayman Islands, Barbados and San Francisco.
Christopher Bovell, Esq
Corporate attorney and senior statesman, Christopher Bovell has served on the Boards of Directors of several major Caribbean companies including Grace Kennedy Limited and CIBC First Caribbean International Bank (Jamaica) Limited. Chris is a former member of the Jamaican Senate (1983-89) and served for several years as the Chairman of the Disciplinary Committee of the General Legal Council. He is a former Chairman of the Corporate Governance Committee of the Private Sector Organization of Jamaica. After 55 years at Jamaica's most prestigious law firm, DunnCox, he is currently a consultant in the firm.
ACMF President Receives Prestigious Maritime Award
Dr. Brown Metzger is the 2019 recipient of the RAdm. Stephen Bleecker Luce Award for Maritime Leadership in recognition of her tireless and ground breaking work as founder of the only Caribbean focused maritime foundation, and the accomplishments of the organization. “The board of the James Dudley Luce Foundation overwhelmingly voted to honor her with one of its most prestigious awards” says James Luce, President of the James Dudley Luce Foundation. “I am humbled to receive this important honor, and only learned of it at the event, says Dr. Brown Metzger.
ACMF Welcomes Product Management Intern
The ACMF recently welcomed its newest team member, Frenandez Lawrence. Frenandez is a Jamaican student studying Computer Information Systems at Monroe College in New York. With his skills and interests lying at the intersection of business and technology, he aspires to be a product manager. "We are thankful and excited to have Frenandez with us, and look forward to the amazing things he will do to support the ACMF," says Dr. Brown Metzger, ACMF President.
ACMF mentioned in Forbes article on the shipping industry
"The widening of the Panama Canal in 2016 had a profound effect on the Caribbean cargo shipping industry, placing it at a strategic crossroads to better serve North America, impacting container trade flows and imports and putting an imperative on the region to maintain its global competitiveness as one of the major waterways in the world...." Continue Reading
Want to help make an impact?

Click donate to change a student's life for the better, forever.

Contact Geneive Brown Metzger, ACMF President and Executive Director at
Follow us on social