Announcing the 2018 Award Nominees and Winners
January 29, 2018
Region 6 Administrators of the Year
Parvin Ahmadi, Castro Valley USD
Julie Duncan, Tri-Valley ROP
Arlando Smith, New Haven USD
Janet Schulze, Pittsburg USD (Region Winner)

Secondary Principal
Paul Mansingh, West Contra Costa USD (Region Winner)

Middle Grades Principal
Jon Ovick, Brentwood Union SD
Matthew Burnham, West Contra Costa USD
Sheryl Sweeney, Dublin USD (Region Winner)

Elementary Principal
Amy Wallace, Brentwood Union SD
Shari Johnston, Livermore Valley Joint USD
Deborah Meylan, Antioch USD
Lorianne Ventura, Dublin USD (Region Winner)

Central Office Administrator
Kelly Quinn, Byron Union ESD
Kirby Hoy, San Ramon Valley USD
Sherri Beetz, Castro Valley USD
Lynn Mackey, Contra Costa COE
Julio Franco, West Contra Costa USD (Region Winner)

Secondary Co-Administrator
Jesse Hansen, Castro Valley USD
Hugh Bursch, Liberty Union HSD
Allison Huie, West Contra Costa USD
Jennifer Friesen, Pleasanton USD (Region Winner)

Elementary Co-Administrator
Kristen Candaux, Dublin USD (Region Winner)

Classified Leader
Sandra Cattarusa, San Ramon Valley USD
Julio Arroyo, West Contra Costa USD
Jackie Carvajal, Antioch USD (Region Winner)

Confidential Employee
Aimee Cayere, Castro Valley USD (Region Winner)

Personnel Human Resources Administrator
Norma Gonzales, Pittsburg USD
Cheryl Cotton, West Contra Costa USD (Region Winner)

Adult Education Administrator
Beth Cutter, Pleasanton USD (Region Winner)

Special Education Administrator
Bryan Cassin, Mt. Diablo USD
Kevin Nazario, West Contra Costa USD (Region Winner)

Business Services Administrator
Bill Clark, Contra Costa COE
Cindy Peterson, Oakley Union SD
Micaela Ochoa, Pleasanton USD (Region Winner)

Curriculum & Instruction Administrator
Michael Bowen, Brentwood (Region Winner)

Continuation/Ed Options Administrator
Amy Brown, Tri-Valley ROP
Ilene Foster, Liberty UHSD (Region Winner)

Technology Administrator
Todd Airola, Liberty UHSD (Region Winner)

Valuing Diversity Award
Celine Liu, Alameda COE
Sean Brown, Oakley Union SD
Tracie Noriega, New Haven USD (Region Winner)

Partners in Educational Excellence Award
Counseling Options and Parent Education (COPE)
Big Break Visitor Center - East Bay Regional Parks District (Region Winner)

All these outstanding leaders will be recognized at the Region 6 Awards Dinner on the evening of Thursday, June 21 at our annual conference.

Save the dates: 
ACSA Region 6 Leadership Summit
June 20 and 21, 2018
Casa Real at Ruby Hill Winery in Pleasanton
ACSA Members: Don't Miss Out on These Benefits! $$$$
Have you applied for the three ACSA Region 6 awards/scholarships? Don't delay!

Ten $1,000 grants are provided to ACSA members who are in need of financial support to start a new program (any school or district office) that enhances student learning.
DUE DATE – February 23, 2018

Ten $1,000 scholarships are provided to children of ACSA Region 6 members who are seniors in high school going off to college or continuing their education as graduate students.
DUE DATE- March 16, 2018

ACSA Region 6 recognizes students who have made significant academic growth and have overcome physical and/or emotional barriers to succeed in school. Winner receives $1,000 and each nominee receives $250.
DUE DATE – March 16, 2018

You will find the application forms and submission addresses by going to our region website at (click awards/scholarships for the forms). 

We welcome your feedback and suggestions.
Region 6 Staff
Bob Giannini, Executive
Rose Lock, Consultant
Region 6 Leadership
President:  Essence Phillips
President-Elect: Sonja Neely-Johnson
Past President: Steve Collins
Vice President, Staff Development: Pam Comfort
Vice President, Programs: Cindy Matteoni
Vice President, Legislation: Lynn Mackey
Vice President, Membership: Kris Martin-Meyer
Secretary: Pam Hughes
Treasurer: Pam VandeKamp
Comptroller: Lorianne Ventura
ACSA Board Director: Karen Sakata
Equity Chair: Tovi Scruggs
At-large Representatives: Bruce Burns, Kevin Grier, Kathy LaCome, Tracie Noriega
"Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." - Nelson Mandela