June 16, 2020

ESA Spotlight . . . Region V BOCES (WY)
Ever wonder about how an ESA operates from another state? You won’t want to miss this interview with Dan Mayer, Executive Director, Region V BOCES, Wyoming on EduTalk Radio! Listen to Dan’s interview to learn about the work of the BOCES in Wyoming:


Federal Advocacy
Federal Legislative Update: COVID-19
June 30, 2020
12:00 - 1:00 pm Eastern
Join us Online!

Noelle Ellerson Ng, Associate Executive Director, Advocacy & Governance, will share the latest news from Capitol Hill in Washington D.C. and detail the congressional response to the COVID-19 pandemic to date including what it means for ESAs. 
Affinity Group: Program Evaluation
The Program Evaluation Affinity Group focuses on program evaluation and its use in education settings. We will explore ways of quantifying the impact and demonstrating the effectiveness of the various programs offered at educational service agencies (ESAs). Our group is comprised of coordinators, analysts, and directors who utilize data and evidence to support decision making. Help us grow our group and share it within your ESA!  
 
If you have an interest or your work involves any of the following: evaluation, research, assessment, accountability, strategy, professional learning, or building capacity, then join us for our upcoming meeting on Wednesday, June 17, 2020 at  1:00 pm EST, 12:00 pm CST, 11:00 am MST, 10:00 am PST, and 9:00 am AKST.   The session will last from 45 minutes to an hour and you can use this link to join:  June 17, 2020
 
The topic for this meeting will be evaluating the professional development of teachers and our guest speaker will be  Dr.   Shelby Danks, Director of Impact of Illustrative Mathematics .   We hope to see you at one of the upcoming meetings:  June 17, August 19, and  October 21. Check out our community:  AESA Community
 
If you would like any further information, please contact Rhonda Williams, Ph.D. at  rhonda.williams@region10.org   or 972-348-1012.  
Business Partner Profile
Avoid Layoffs and Encourage Targeted Retention with Tax-Advantaged Benefit Plans


As ESAs reckon with the impact of COVID-19, most will contemplate two seemingly incongruous challenges to varying degrees.

Many ESAs face budget shortfalls and are considering significant reductions to a broad range of core services and staff – a path to short-term savings that introduces potential higher costs in the long-term.
On the other hand, some agencies face employee retention hurdles in the wake of the pandemic. Signs among teachers already point to difficulty ahead, with 1 in 5 indicating an uncertain desire to return to their positions come Fall [1].

With former school business officials on staff, PlanMember and MidAmerica fully understand the complex situation ESAs face in the wake of COVID-19. Our Workplace Savings Program is uniquely positioned help you and your employees maximize the value of both voluntary separation and targeted retention initiatives.

Contact Trent Teesdale ( trent.teesdale@mymidamerica.com) or Steve Barber ( steve.barber@mymidamerica.com) to learn more and schedule a free consultation on the challenges your agency faces.

From all of us at PlanMember and MidAmerica, thank you for all you do to take care of our communities. Stay safe!

[1] USA Today/Ipsos Poll of 5/26/2020: USA TODAY POLL

A Reminder . . .
Notifications regarding annual conference breakout session proposals were sent out last week. If you haven't already done so, please respond by Wednesday, June 17th .
Thank you!
Upcoming Events...
Visit the AESA webinars webpage for details of these upcoming online events.


Join us this week!


Click on the date to register . . .
And don't forget our annual events!
Virtual Summer Leadership Conference
July 20-23, 2020
Educators' Call to Action Conference
September 28-30. 2020
Registration Open Soon
AESA Annual Conference
December 2-5, 2020
Hilton Orlando, Florida