Students, Parents, Teachers & Friends of Education,

AHS Yearbook Wins 1st Place

Apalachee High School's 2017 publication of Azure has won a first place award in the American Scholastic Press Association's annual yearbook competition. The school's yearbook shows excellence in the fields of writing, photography, page design and contains elements/sections of a memorable yearbook that will be treasured for years to come. Congratulations to the editors, writers, photographers, layout/graphic designers, staff, and adviser who created this publication.

Ready, Set, LEGO

Statham Elementary's LEGO Robotics team recently earned the title of Grand Champions at the Lanier Longhorns Regional Competition through Georgia's FIRST LEGO League. The Statham Wildcats competed against twenty-two other elementary schools across Georgia. The team was judged on their core values, project presentation, and robot game. This year's challenge asked students to identify a problem within the human water cycle, design a solution that makes this problem better, and share their problem and solution with others. The team developed a "Leak Alert" app and device prototype that notifies a homeowner if their losing an excessive amount of water and allows the homeowner to shut off water flow to their home remotely.

The team will move onto the Athens Academy Super-Regional Competition on January 13th. This competitions will allow the team to compete against both elementary and middle school regional champions from across the state. Good luck Statham Wildcats!

Team Members: Kayla Boebel, Caleb Brown, Owen Forsythe, Kira Fuller, Jake Hansen, Jackson Nash, Collin Waldrop, and Joseph Wren.
Coaches: Eric Hammarlund and Laura Payne

For Our Kids

Winder-Barrow High and Apalachee High faculty teams participated in a lunch time basketball competition January 5. The goal was to raise $500 for Barrow Food 2 Kids. The total raised for the fundraiser was $1,102.58. This will sponsor 4 of 216 students now being served by Barrow Food 2 Kids. Many thanks to both school principals and Rob McFerrin and Ralph Neeley for this great idea and tremendous success!

                                             * * *

Dr. Chris McMichael

Board Members
Debi Krause
Garey Huff Sr.
Connie Wehunt
Michael Shelley
Lynn Stevens
Rickey Bailey
Suzanne Angle
Rolando Alvarez
Mark Still 


*    *    *    *    *

January 15
MLK Holiday

January 16
BOE Meeting

January 30
BOE Work  Session
*    *    *    *    *
*   *   *   *   *

Barrow County
School System:

Boldly Committed to
Student Success

Ensuring an exceptional education that leads each student to become a high achieving and responsible citizen.

179 West Athens Street
Winder, Georgia  30680
(770) 867-4527
*   *   *   *   *