AIA Central Oklahoma Design Awards

Call for Entries

The AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards showcase the best of built work by members of AIA Central Oklahoma. Entrants must be members of The American Institute of Architects, Central Oklahoma Chapter. Award winners will be announced during the AIA Central Oklahoma Awards Banquet on Friday, April 19, 2024 at the Petroleum Club in BancFirst Tower in downtown Oklahoma City.



  • Eligible projects must be designed by an AIA member of AIA Central Oklahoma built anywhere in the world.
  • Residential Projects can be designed by an AIA or Associate AIA member of AIA Central Oklahoma.
  • Only AIA Central Oklahoma members in good standing with The American Institute of Architects Central Oklahoma Chapter may submit entries.
  • An individual submitting an entry must have designed the project or been a member of the project team who executed the project.
  • An entry executed by a Joint Venture shall be eligible if any member the Joint Venture is an AIA or Associate AIA member of AIA Central Oklahoma.
  • Only projects completed after January 1, 2018 are eligible.
  • Previously honored projects in other AIA state or regional, or national awards are eligible, but projects previously honored in an AIA Central Oklahoma Awards program are not eligible.
  • Projects previously honored in the Excellence in Craft category are eligible to be entered in another category. 

Entry Categories                     


Large Architecture (above 25,000 sf)

Any new build or addition / renovation project above 25,000 sf



Any new build or addition / renovation project below 25,000 sf. 


Interior Architecture

Projects focusing on interior architecture.


Adaptive Reuse 

The renovation and reuse of an existing structure for new purposes.


Excellence in Craft

Any building detail or special feature on a project. This category is intended to highlight a specific part of a project, not an entire building.


This year’s rotating categories: 



Healthcare Architecture projects


Urban Placemaking

Structures and other placemaking elements within an urban environment that create distinct public spaces.

Submission Requirements

AIA Central Oklahoma uses a paperless, digital submission entry. 


All entries must include:

  1. A PDF presentation derived from a template provided by AIA Central Oklahoma that includes up to 16 pages (including the cover page) showcasing the project to the jury. Slide 1 is the cover slide, Slide 2 is a narrative addressing how your project addresses the AIA’s Framework for Design Excellence.
  2. If submitting for the COTE Award, include a completed Common App form (included in submission requirements email). 
  3. Identification forms in Word format.
  4. Up to 6 high resolution project images, a selection of which may be used during the Awards Ceremony and / or for publication and publicity.
  5. One slide of the project in PowerPoint format to be used during the Awards Banquet.


People’s Choice participation is optional.

  1. People’s Choice entry form in Word format.
  2. Two images (less than 2MB in size) to be used in promotion of the People’s Choice Competition.


Final submission details and files will be sent to entrants on or before February 2, 2024.  


The AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards jury will be comprised of four noted architectural professionals representing different states of practice- experienced, mid-career, and emerging. Along with a fourth juror with experience with AIA COTE and AIA Framework for Design Excellence.

Jury Criteria

The jury may make any interpretations necessary to carry out the intent of the competition: to recognize the highest quality and achievement in architectural design and honor the creativity of Central Oklahoma architects. Entries will be judged on the success with which the project has met its individual requirements, overall design quality, and its achievement of excellence.

Framework for Design Excellence represents the defining principles of good design in the 21st century. Comprised of 10 principles and accompanied by searching questions, the Framework seeks to inform progress toward a zero carbon, equitable, resilient, and healthy built environment. These are to be thoughtfully considered by designer and client at the initiation of every project and incorporated into the work as appropriate to the project scope. The Framework is intended to be accessible and relevant for every architect, every client, and every project, regardless of size, typology, or aspiration.


Honor Award

The Honor Award is AIA’s highest level of award. It acknowledges a project with distinctive character and outstanding merit.


Merit Award

The Merit award recognizes projects that clearly demonstrate a level of design that exemplifies superior achievements.


Citation Award:

The Citation Award is awarded to projects of notable accomplishment and excellent design qualities.


COTE Award

The COTE Award is awarded to the project that best addresses the sustainability as presented in the sustainability scorecard and the overall submission.  

Awards Presentation

The AIA Central Oklahoma Awards Banquet will take place on Friday, April 19 at the Petroleum Club in BancFirst Tower in downtown Oklahoma City. Cost to attend the awards dinner is separate from the registration fee for entering the Design Excellence Awards competition.

Fees & Deadlines

  • A non-refundable registration fee of $150 is required for each entry into the AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards. 


  • Entry form and fees must be received by no later than February 2, 2024. 


  • Detailed Submission Requirements will be sent to entrants no later than February 2, 2024. 


  • Final submissions will be due no later than 11:59 p.m. on Friday, March 1, 2024.

Questions regarding the AIA Central Oklahoma Design Awards Program should be submitted in writing to [email protected]