The AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards showcase the best of built work by members of AIA Central Oklahoma. Entrants must be members of The American Institute of Architects, Central Oklahoma Chapter. Award winners will be announced during the AIA Design Excellence Awards event (details to be announced soon).

  • Eligible projects must be designed by an AIA member of AIA Central Oklahoma built anywhere in the world.

  • Residential Projects can be designed by an AIA or Associate AIA member of AIA Central Oklahoma.

  • Only AIA Central Oklahoma members in good standing with The American Institute of Architects Central Oklahoma Chapter may submit entries.

  • An individual submitting an entry must have designed the project or been a member of the project team who executed the project.

  • An entry executed by a Joint Venture shall be eligible if any member the Joint Venture is an AIA or Associate AIA member of AIA Central Oklahoma.

  • Only projects completed after January 1, 2014 are eligible.

  • Previously honored projects in other AIA state or regional, or national awards are eligible but projects previously honored in an AIA Central Oklahoma Awards program are not eligible.
Eligibility for Students

  • Students enrolled in the architecture program at the University of Oklahoma and Oklahoma State University are eligible to enter under the Student Unbuilt category. 
Entry Categories

Large Commercial Architecture
Commercial Architecture projects over 50,000 square feet

Small Commercial Architecture
Commercial Architecture project under 50,000 square feet

Residential Architecture
Single family home or multi-family projects

Interior Architecture
Projects involving primarily the design of interior spaces.

Master Planning
Long range planning of land, community or a building complex

Urban Design
Structures and other placemaking elements within an urban environment that create distinct public spaces

Historic Preservation
Projects involving the preservation, restoration or rehabilitation of older structures. Projects must remain historic in character.
Adaptive Reuse 
The renovation and reuse of an existing structure for new purposes

Student - Unbuilt
Students who are currently enrolled in the architecture program at OU or OSU *or* graduated from one of these programs the previous academic year are eligible to enter under the Student Unbuilt category. Projects must be unbuilt. The jury will award one award to a student from each university.

This year’s specialty category: 

Government Projects
Any project completed for a federal, state or local government.
Submission Requirements

AIA Central Oklahoma uses a paperless, digital submission entry. 

All entries must include:

  1. A PDF presentation derived from a template provided by AIA Central Oklahoma that includes up to 11 pages (including the cover page) showcasing the project to the jury.
  2. Identification forms in Word format.
  3. Up to 6 high resolution project images, a selection of which may be used during the Awards Ceremony and / or for publication and publicity.
  4. One slide of the project in PowerPoint format to be used during the Awards Celebration.
  5. Completion of the AIA Sustainability Scorecard to give the jury a better understanding of the entry’s environmental response. 

People’s Choice participation is optional.

  1. People’s Choice entry form in Word format.
  2. Two images (less than 2MB in size) to be used in promotion of the People’s Choice Competition.

Full submission details will be sent to entrants on or before September 4. 
The AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards jury from the Des Moines, Iowa area and will be comprised of three noted architectural professionals representing different states of practice- experienced, mid-career, and emerging. 
Judging Criteria

The jury may make any interpretations necessary to carry out the intent of the competition: to recognize the highest quality and achievement in architectural design and honor the creativity of Central Oklahoma architects. Entries will be judged on the success with which the project has met its individual requirements, overall design quality, and its achievement of excellence in one or more of the following:

A project that displays significant sustainable design attributes and makes intelligent use of available resources.

A project that displays excellence in its use of materials or in the use of a particular material.

A project that displays excellence in overcoming a technical challenge – i.e. structure, MEP systems, site, or envelope.

A project that elevates user experience through spatial interpretation of programmatic goals and regulatory requirements.

A project that makes much out of little – space, budget, other constraints.
A project that responds to and relates with its context.

A project that applies new and better solutions that meet new requirements or unarticulated needs.

Honor Award
The Honor Award is AIA’s highest level of award. It acknowledges a project with distinctive character and outstanding merit.
Merit Award
The Merit award recognizes projects that clearly demonstrate a level of design that exemplifies superior achievements.

Citation Award
The Citation Award is awarded to projects of notable accomplishment and excellent design qualities.

COTE Award
The COTE Award is awarded to the project that best addresses the sustainability as presented in the sustainability scorecard and the overall submission.  
Awards Presentation
Details of the awards presentation will be announced soon.
Fees & Deadlines

  • A non-refundable registration fee of $150 is required for each entry into the AIA Central Oklahoma Design Excellence Awards. 

  • Student Entry Fee is $25 for each entry into the Student Unbuilt Category. 

  • Entry form and fees must be received by the Chapter Office no later than August 28, 2020. 

  • Detailed Submission Requirements will be sent to entrants no later than September 4, 2020. 

  • Final submissions will be due no later than 11:59 p.m. on October 5, 2020.

Questions regarding the AIA Central Oklahoma Design Awards Program should be submitted in writing to