June 29. 2022
APRx President Laird Leavoy
Receives TPA Service Award
American Pharmacies President Laird Leavoy has been honored with the Tennessee Pharmacists Association's (TPA) 2022 Herman Lubin Sales Representative of the Year Award.

Leavoy received the award from TPA President Kim Jones (right) on June 17 during the TPA annual conference in Chattanooga, TN. The award is given in recognition of outstanding service to the pharmacy profession in the state of Tennessee.

American Pharmacies directly supports the economic and advocacy needs of a large number of customers in Tennessee. We make an annual contribution to TPA on behalf of its Tennessee members to support the association's robust advocacy activities, and we have a close working relationship with Executive Director Anthony Pudlo. We also have provided input and language for legislation in Tennessee and have written letters to the goveror in support of two important PBM reform bills passed the last two years: HB 1398 in the 2021 session and SB 2458/HB 2661 in 2022. APRx also made a financial contribution to Tennessee pharmacy owners Julie and Greg Bohannon to support their defense of Tennessee’s HB 1398 in a lawsuit by a Tennessee food manufacturer alleging that the law is preempted by ERISA.  

"The Tennessee Pharmacists Association is the embodiment of an effective state association that delivers results for its members," Leavoy said. "Tennessee is the first state in which we developed a significant customer base outside our four-state origin, so we've been engaged here for several years now. We are grateful to have a strong, cooperative partner in Tennessee that shares our values and our commitment to defend community pharmacy."

"I am honored to receive this award on behalf of our entire American Pharmacies team, which is dedicated to supporting the independent pharmacists of Tennessee in partnership with this great association."