ATAC is very pleased to report that attendees described this year's Canadian Aviation Conference and Tradeshow as a real success.
Over 500 delegates participated in discussions on key issues throughout the many committee meetings, during the Plenary with Nicholas Robinson, the Director General at Transport Canada Civil Aviation, in corridor meetings and during the popular networking events.
Animated discussions could be heard during all three days of the Conference on topics such as the critical shortage of pilots and AMEs, the difficult implementation of the new Flight and Duty Time regulations, the hasty implementation of passenger protection regulations, dangerous goods, the emergence of ATOs, and the significant impact of climate change, just to name a few.
A record number of exhibitors contributed to the success of the event. We were happy to have many new members participate. Our valued sponsors were given unmatched visibility.  
The 2019-2020 Board of Directors
New Directors
Chris Avery, Canadian North
Colin Copp, Chorus Aviation
Michael Fitzmorris, Air Canada Maintenance
Returning Directors
Bob Connors, Waterloo Wellington Flight Centre 
Eric Edmondson, Air Georgian
Douglas McCrea, Central Mountain Air
Lynne McMullen, Seneca College
Gord Johnston, Cargojet
Peter Scheiwiller, North Cariboo Air
Joe Sparling, Air North
Mark Williams, Sunwing Airlines
Retiring Directors
Patrick Coulter, FightSafety Canada
Rick Flynn, Chorus Aviation
Steve Hankirk, Canadian North
Bob Lamoureux, EnviroTech Aviation
New Executive Committee
Chair of the Board - Eric Edmondson, Air Georgian
First Vice-Chair - Eric Scott, Harbour Air
Second Vice-Chair - Calvin Ash, PAL Airlines
Honorary Treasurer -   Peter Scheiwiller, North Cariboo Air
Honorary Secretary - Robert Connors, Waterloo Wellington Flight Centre
President & CEO - John McKenna, ATAC
For a list of the full Board, click here!
Over 60 Speakers Engaged with Conference Attendees
Keynote & Sponsor Speakers
Pierre Cardin, Airbus (Sponsor Speaker)
Kathy Fox, Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Hélène V. Gagnon, CAE
Joseph Hincke, Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Carmele Peter, Exchange Income Corporation
Nicholas Robinson, Transport Canada
Diane Weismuller, The Boeing Company
Committee Presenters (in alphabetical order)
Thomas Batteux, International Air Transport Association
Charles Boisvert, Global Affairs Canada
Gilles Bourgeois, Transport Canada
Christian Busch, Air Inuit
Wayne Chapin, Transport Canada
Carol Clark, Canadian North
Bob Connors, Waterloo Wellington Flight Centre
Christopher Dann, Transport Canada
Steve Demy, SND Aviation (FleetCaptain)
Jean Robert Deschamps, Transport Canada
Ashan Edoo, Transport Canada
David Evans, Evans Dangerous Goods Consulting
Gregg Evjen, KF Aerospace
Joanna Eyquem, AECOM
Mike Fitzmorris, Air Canada Maintenance
Amandine Gicquel-Leduc, International Air Transport Association
Dan Glass, Mitchinson Flight Centre
Parvin Gurbonov, International Air Transport Association
Bob Henderson, Moncton Flight College
Alyssa Herage, Canada Border Services Agency
Jonathan Jasper, International Air Transport Association
Marcia Jones, Canadian Transportation Agency
Suzanne Kearns, University of Waterloo
Tom Keene, U.S. Transportation Security Administration
Rudy Kellar, NAV CANADA
Carl Kumpic, Chorus Aviation
Larry Lachance, NAV CANADA
Neil Lavoie, Red River College Stevenson Campus / Southport
Benoit Legault, Canadian Air Transport Security Authority
Anthony MacKay, NAV CANADA
Chris Markou, International Air Transport Association
Deborah Martin, Transport Canada
Bryon Mask, Applied Informatics & Research
Heather McGonigal, Keewatin Air
Lynne McMullen, Seneca College
Martin Mikkelsen, FlightLogger
Ben Mills, Conlin Bedard LLP
Karen Moore, Symbiotics
Christopher Mulley, Canadian Aviation Instruction
Micheline Paquette, Transport Canada
Jeff Phipps, Transport Canada
Bob Pouliot, Air Canada
Søren Rehné, FlightLogger
Jennifer Roberts, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Steve Roberts, Applied Informatics & Research (AIRINC)
Pierre Ruel, Transport Canada
Mario Saucier, Transport Canada 
David Sheppard, NAV CANADA
Marie-Hélène Simard, Octant Aviation
Owen Sims, Flybe
Aaron Speer, Canadian North
Colin Stacey, Transport Canada
Benoit Tardif, IDS North America Division Navigation
J.S. Theriault, Applied Informatics & Research
Kathleen Van Benthem, Carleton University
Michael Varney, EBT Solutions
Mathew Vaughan, International Air Transport Association
Steven Williams, Emond Harnden
Rob Wills, AirStart
Congratulations to this Year's Award Winners
ATAC Outstanding Achievement Award - Pierre Jeanniot
ATAC Lifetime Honoree - Mark Williams, Sunwing Airlines
Hope Air Outstanding Philanthropist Award - Bearskin Airlines
Webster Memorial Trophy Award - Brady Parcels, Moncton Flight College
David Charles Abramson Memorial Flight Instructor Safety Award - Jack Proctor, Seneca College

Please note that the 2020 Canadian Aviation Conference and Tradeshow will be held on November 17-19 in Vancouver at the Westin Bayshore Hotel.


Chambly, QC

St. Laurent, QC
Chinook Helicopters
Abbotsford, BC
CSI Leasing Canada
Oakville, ON
De Havilland Aircraft of Canada
Toronto, ON
First Nations Technical Institute
Deseronto, ON
Aarhus, Denmark
Jetstream Aviation Capital
Miami, FL
Keitas Systems
Quebec, QC
Multi Pilots Simulations BV
Groenekan, Netherlands
Northsands Air Services
Calgary, AB
Pulsar Informatics
Seattle, WA
Springer Aerospace
Echo Bay, ON
Thomas Aviation Services
Washington, DC
Web Manuals
New York, NY

Air Transport Association of Canada

Association du transport aérien du Canada
1505 - 222 rue Queen Street | Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5V9 |Canada