ACTION ALERT!
 

Quick Links
Join Our List
 
June 22, 2020
Increase the tobacco tax to generate revenue!
Thank you to Consumer Champion Senator Chuck Hufstetler, Senator John Albers, Senator Nan Orrock, Senator Lester Jackson, and Senator Bruce Thompson in the Senate Finance Committee for leading the effort to raise Georgia's tobacco tax!

As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, Georgia is facing an economic and fiscal crisis. The state is projecting a budget shortfall of $3 to $4 billion for fiscal year 2021. Currently, the legislature is considering significant budget cuts that could harm Georgians for years to come. It is critical for the legislature to consider alternatives to budget cuts to programs Georgians will need to climb out of this economically unstable period. To generate additional revenue and avoid budget cuts that could slow economic recovery, the legislature should implement a higher tobacco tax that is in line with the rest of the country. Lifting Georgia's tobacco tax from 37 cents per pack to the national average of $1.81 could generate $600 million in revenue per year.

Actions Needed:  

We are asking you to make an important call to 
1) The Senators on the Rules Committee today to urge them to support an increase in the tobacco tax.  See below. 
2) Your Senator  to let them know you support raising the tobacco tax. You can find your Senator  here

Let the Senators know you strongly support raising the tobacco tax to protect all Georgians and help the state climb out of this economically unstable period!

Senate Rules Committee

Jeff Mullis (R), Chairman
* R - Chickamauga (53) 
* Capitol Phone - (404) 656-0057
* jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov

Bill Cowsert 
* R - Athens (46)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 463-1366
* bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov 

Burt Jones, Secretary
* R - Jackson (25)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 656-0082
* burt.jones@senate.ga.gov

Mike Dugan
* R - Carrollton (30)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 656-7872
* mike.dugan@senate.ga.gov

Steve Gooch
* R - Dahlonega (51)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 656-7872
* steve.gooch@senate.ga.gov

John F. Kennedy
* R - Macon (18)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 656-0045
* john.kennedy@senate.ga.gov

Butch Miller
* R - Gainesville (49)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 656-6578
* butch.miller@senate.ga.gov

Larry Walker III
* R - Perry(20)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 656-0095
* larry.walker@senate.ga.gov

Brandon Beach
* R - Alpharetta (21)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 463-1378
* brandon.beach@senate.ga.gov

Matt Brass
* R - Newnan(28)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 463-1376
* matt.brass@senate.ga.gov

Dean Burke
* R - Bainbridge (11)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 656-0040
* District Phone - (229) 243-6267
* dean.burke@senate.ga.gov

Gloria Butler
* D - Stone Mountain (55)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 656-0075
* gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov

Tyler Harper
* R - Ocilla (7)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 463-5263
* tyler.harper@senate.ga.gov

Steve Henson
* D - Stone Mountain (41)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 656-0085
* steve.henson@senate.ga.gov

Harold Jones
* D - Augusta (22)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 463-3942
* District Phone - (706) 339-1424
* harold.jones@senate.ga.gov

Horacena Tate
* D - Atlanta (38)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 463-8053
* horacena.tate@senate.ga.gov
 
Renee Unterman
* R - Buford (45)
* Capitol Phone - (404) 463-1368
*  renee.unterman@senate.ga.gov