Your Action is Needed Now:
Elections & Voting Access
SB 90 will be presented in the Senate Rules Committee TUESDAY (4/6/2021) at 9:30 a.m. (EST).

A bill moving through the legislature is attempting to alter the frequency in which voters must request vote-by-mail ballots and ban ballot drop boxes. The bill makes it more burdensome on voters to have their voices heard in our elections.

As written, SB 90 will make voters work harder to get mail-in ballots. Parts of this bill complicate voting by mail in Florida for voters, Supervisors of Elections, our own Secretary of State and numerous civic organizations like the League. 

Senate Bill 90 will:

  • Make it harder to vote-by-mail by forcing voters to submit vote-by-mail requests more often than is currently required, a completely unnecessary administrative hurdle.
  • Retroactively cancel voters’ current vote-by-mail ballot requests, meaning a voter who submitted a request last year thinking it was valid through next year’s election will need to submit a new request.
  • Make it a crime for voters to ask a trusted friend or caregiver to pick up or drop off a vote-by-mail ballot, thus limiting voting access for working, elderly, and mobility-impaired Floridians who cannot retrieve or turn in their ballot themselves.
  • Eliminate secure vote-by-mail drop boxes, which more than 1.5 million Floridians used during the 2020 Election to safely, conveniently, and securely return their ballot.

We're urging every Florida League member to contact the members of the Senate Rules Committee and encourage them to vote "NO" on this bill.
Senate Rules Committee Members and Contact Information
  1. Chair Kathleen Passidomo (R)
  2. Vice Chair Ileana Garcia (R)
  3. Sen. Ben Albritton (R)
  4. Sen. Dennis Baxley (R)
  5. Sen. Aaron Bean (R)
  6. Sen. Lauren Book (D)
  7. Sen. Randolph Bracy (D)
  8. Sen. Jeff Brandes (R)
  9. Sen. Manny Diaz (R)
  10. Sen Gary Farmer, Jr. (D)
  11. Sen Audrey Gibson (D)
  12. Sen Joe Gruters (R)
  13. Sen. Travis Hutson (R)
  14. Sen. Debbie Mayfield (R)
  15. Sen. Bobby Powell (R)
  16. Sen. Kelli Stargel
  17. Sen. Perry Thurston, Jr. (D)
You can also send emails and conveniently copy and paste these addresses as a group:
  1. (850) 487-5028
  2. (850) 487-5037
  3. (850) 487-5026
  4. (850) 487-5012
  5. (850) 487-5004
  6. (850) 487-5032
  7. (850) 487-5011
  8. (850) 487-5024
  9. (850) 487-5036
  10. (850) 487-5034
  11. (850) 487-5006
  12. (850) 487-5023
  13. (850) 487-5007
  14. (850) 487-5017
  15. (850) 487-5030
  16. (850) 487-5022
  17. (850) 487-5033
*If you are a constituent of one of these listed legislators please indicate that in your communication.

*The email addresses listed above are clickable to write to legislators individually or can be copied and pasted into one message to save time.
Thank you for making these calls and writing these emails to help make democracy work!

In League
Patricia Brigham
President, League of Women Voters of Florida