ACTION ALERT!
 

Quick Links
Join Our List
 
February 23, 2018
Help us put the breaks on a bill that could keep voters and ratepayers in the dark!
House Bill 924 is being considered by the Georgia House Ways and Means Committee. The Bill would amend Georgia code to allow exemptions for local governments to issue revenue bonds for electric utility projects without first seeking a vote of approval from local residents. The electric utility for the City of Dalton, a co-owner in the Plant Vogtle project, is seeking this exemption, which could allow them to raise rates to cover higher Vogtle costs without any advance notice to or vote of approval from Dalton residents! Other Georgia Municipal electric utilities could follow!

Our executive director Liz Coyle spoke in opposition to the Bill before the Committee earlier today. We thank Representative Trey Kelley for moving to table the Bill, but only until Monday. 

Action Needed on HB 924:
 
Call or email members of the Ways and Means Committee  today and ask them to please oppose the bill!  Below is a list of Members and their contact information:

Jay Powell (R), Chairman
* R - Camilla (171)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.5103
* District Phone - 229.336.3962
* jay.powell@house.ga.gov

Trey Kelley (R), Vice Chairman
* R - Cedartown (16)
* Capitol Phone - 404.657.1803
* trey.kelley@house.ga.gov

Dale Rutledge, Secretary
* R - McDonough (109)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.0254
* dale.rutledge@house.ga.gov

Paul Battles
* R - Cartersville (15)
* Capitol Phone - 404.657.8441
* paul.battles@house.ga.gov

Sharon Beasley-Teague
* D - Red Oak (65)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.0221
* sharon.beasley-teague@house.ga.gov

Patty Bentley
* D - Butler (139)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.0287
* District Phone -
* patty.bentley@house.ga.gov

Shaw Blackmon
* R - Bonaire (146)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.0177
* shaw.blackmon@house.ga.gov

Debbie Buckner
* D - Junction City (137)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.0116
* District Phone - 706.269.3630
* debbie.buckner@house.ga.gov

John Carson
* R - Marietta (46)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.0287
* District Phone - 404.520.8826
* john.carson@house.ga.gov

John Corbett
* R - Lake Park (174)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.0213
* john.corbett@house.ga.gov

Terry England
* R - Auburn (116)
* Capitol Phone - 404.463.2247
* terry.england@house.ga.gov

Spencer Frye
* D - Athens (118)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.0265
* spencer.frye@house.ga.gov

Brett Harrell
* R - Snellville (106)
* Capitol Phone - 404.463.3793
* District Phone - 404.966.5804
* brett.harrell@house.ga.gov

Penny Houston
* R - Nashville (170)
* Capitol Phone - 404.463.2247
* penny.houston@house.ga.gov

David Knight
* R - Griffin (130)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.5099
* david.knight@house.ga.gov

Chuck Martin
* R - Alpharetta (49)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.5064
* chuck.martin@house.ga.gov

Howard Mosby
* D - Atlanta (83)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.0287
* howard.mosby@house.ga.gov

Don Parsons
* R - Marietta (44)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.9198
* District Phone - 770.977.4426
* don.parsons@house.ga.gov

Allen Peake
* R - Macon (141)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.5132
* District Phone - 478.474.5633
* allen.peake@house.ga.gov

Bert Reeves
* R - Marietta (34)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.0298
* District Phone - 770.427.1605
* bert.reeves@house.ga.gov

Trey Rhodes
* R - Greensboro (120)
* Capitol Phone - 404.651.7737
* trey.rhodes@house.ga.gov

Ed Rynders
* R - Albany (152)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.6801
* ed.rynders@house.ga.gov

Mickey Stephens
* D - Savannah (165)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.0265
* District Phone - 912.661.1733
* mickey.stephens@house.ga.gov

Ron Stephens
* R - Savannah (164)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.5115 -
* District Phone - 912.596.1998
* ron.stephens@house.ga.gov

Sam Teasley
* R - Marietta (37)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.5025
* sam.teasley@house.ga.gov

Robert Trammell
* D - Luthersville (132)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.5058
* robert.trammell@house.ga.gov

Sam Watson
* R - Moultrie (172)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.0213
* sam.watson@house.ga.gov

Wendell Willard
* R - Sandy Springs
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.5125
* District Phone - 770.481.7110
* wendell.willard@house.ga.gov

Bruce Williamson
* R - Monroe (115)
* Capitol Phone - 404.656.5024
* District Phone - 770.267.2566
* bruce.williamson@house.ga.gov