Three Counties Added to AHFA Disaster Policy
The following counties have been added to AHFA's Disaster Policy regarding Hurricane Dorian:

  • Duplin
  • Jones
  • Sampson

Please see the information below from an email sent September 9, 2019, for ServiSolutions' Disaster Policy related to this event.
In the wake of recent hurricane activity in North Carolina, AHFA would like to remind you of our Disaster Policy. Natural disasters can inflict varying degrees of damage to a property. To mitigate risk, Alabama Housing Finance Authority (AHFA), maintains and publishes requirements for properties that are located within a disaster area.

AHFA’s Disaster Policy applies to properties located in counties where:
  • The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has issued a major disaster declaration
  • An investor has issued a disaster notification
  • AHFA has made a determination that there is risk of damage from a disaster that has not yet been declared by FEMA or an investor (i.e. AHFA pre-emption)

Please note that properties with appraisals dated prior to the incident date and located in the following impacted counties will be required to provide a re-inspection, dated no earlier than September 9, 2019, verifying that the property has incurred no damage as a result of the recent severe weather prior to being eligible for purchase by ServiSolutions:

Wayne, Wilson, Brunswick, New Hanover, Columbus, Pender, Bladen, Onslow, Carteret, Lenoir, Craven, Pasquotank, Bertie, Pitt, Hertford, Dare, Tyrell, Beauford, Hyde, Washington, Chowan, and Pamlico 
If you have any questions about AHFA's disaster policy, please contact Lisa Treece at .