KMPR Logo.jpg




Download press assets HERE.


(Los Angeles, CA) February 25, 2022 Indie-rock band Filligar releases their long-awaited eighth album, Future Self, available TODAY, February 25, on all DSPs via the band’s label, Decade Records. Stream or purchase tracks HERE.


Filligar formed as teenagers in a Chicago basement and consists of Casey Gibson (piano/keys) and the three Mathias brothers: Johnny (guitar/vocals), Teddy (bass) and Pete (drums). Their 11-track LP explores tunes about love and life, recorded almost entirely during the pandemic, from home and various locations before being mixed and mastered at Chicago’s Gravity Studios and San Diego’s Singing Serpent. Doug McBride took the reins mixing and mastering Future Self, while additional mixing and production was helmed by Casey Gibson, Grey Taxon and Daniel Farnsworth. Engineering was handled by Grey Taxon and Mike Butler, with additional vocals and instrumentation by Mina Lauren and Lex Taxon.


Future Self came from a collection of ideas that lived on notebooks and hard-drives over the past few years,” said the band. “Like many, we had to adapt our process during quarantine—sending files across the country from room to room—and are more excited to share this album than any before. We had a lot of fun writing this one.” 


The new record is a labor of love, tapping into the Filligar’s musical versatility, with sounds and tempos ranging from delicate folk to striking rock, with elements of electronic blended throughout. Whether a warm embrace on piano-rock lead single “The Force of the Feeling or anthemic and stadium-ready "At Sea,” that they created a lyric video for, the experimental, percussive “Heartache” or the danceable guitar and drum-driven “Wait A Minute,” Filligar tap into the ever-evolving sub-genres infused in modern alternative rock.


Beyond the band’s longevity as recording artists and a touring act on the road with the likes of Counting Crows and The Black Keys, Filligar has had the rare honor of taking on the role of cultural ambassadors to the United States Department of State, visiting Russia, Kuwait, Guyana and Azerbaijan. The origins of this appointment began while playing Austin’s SXSW Festival several years back, when a festival goer who worked for the U.S. government’s cultural outreach program took a chance on the band, broadening their global audience, but more importantly giving their music purpose and inspiring in them a platform for change and betterment. Filligar’s world travels have ushered in performances in various climates and settings, playing in front of foreign dignitaries and community leaders, leading workshops, joining other bands and ensembles, high school music classes and elementary schools, a rehabilitation center for the physically and mentally disabled and an orphanage. These tours were all in the spirit of togetherness and spreading positivity while sharing American culture in person beyond what locals may observe on television.


Filligar’s catalog of over 90 original songs has been celebrated by Consequence of Sound, quoting their music as a “breath of fresh air,” and “of prestige value” by The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP).


The band has sold out numerous iconic venues around the U.S., from Los Angeles’ career-launching Troubadour to New York’s Bowery Ballroom to one of Filligar’s hometown venues, Chicago’s Lincoln Hall.

Future Self track listing:

1. The Force of the Feeling

2. 17th Hour

3. At Sea

4. The Fire in the Sun

5. Wait a Minute

6. A Walk in the Woods

7. Angel on Earth

8. All Around

9. Heartache

10. Wavy Days

11. The Parade

Filligar - Press Photo 1_Credit Anna Lee Media.jpg

  Photo credit :Anna Lee Media       


Website | Apple Music | Facebook | Instagram | Spotify | Twitter | YouTube



For more information on Filligar, please contact:

Kelly MacGaunn

kelleemack pr, inc.

[email protected]

Facebook  Instagram  Twitter  Web