The library will be closed all day  Tuesday, December 31st
and  Wednesday, January 1st.

We will see you back at 9 a.m. on  Thursday, January 2nd.

Happy Holidays!
KID CITY | CHILDREN'S OFFERINGS
Winter Dance Party
December 26th, 2:00 p.m.

Warm up at the library with a winter-themed dance party!
Put on your dancing shoes and get ready to get your groove on with an assortment of instruments and props at this interactive program.
(Ages 2-3 with caregiver)



Future Engineers
December 27th, 1:00 p.m.

Build amazing structures with a variety of materials. 
How tall will your structure be?
(All Ages)

NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED

Indoor Playground
December 30th, 11 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Get your winter wiggles out while you dance and play all day!

(All Ages)

DROP IN,
NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED

I Spy Winter Wonderland
December 22 - January 4

Challenge yourself to find all of the items in the Winter Wonderland I-Spy Box. Stop in both weeks of Winter Break to spy the changes and receive a prize.

(All Ages)
Yeti, Set, Go!
January 2nd, 2:00 p.m.

Join us for a showing of Abominable (PG) .
Three teenagers must help a Yeti return to his family while avoiding a wealthy man and a zoologist who want it for their own needs.

(All Ages)


Spin the Wheel Lego Challenge
January 3rd, 1:00 p.m.

Show off your Lego© building skills. Spin the wheel, receive a challenge, and build an amazing creation!
(All Ages)

NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED
ADULT | ADULT OFFERINGS
In the Loop Meetup
January 4th, 11 a.m. - 1 p.m.

Drop-in for social time with like-minded crafty adults. Knitting, crocheting, embroidery, quilting -all forms of needlework are welcome here. 

Bring your project and dedicate quality uninterrupted time to stitch your way to completion. 
Join a Book Club!
Monday, January 6th, 7 p.m.
Mozart's Starling by Lyanda Lynn Haupt

Friday, January 10th, 10 a.m.
The Bookseller by Mark Pryor

Tuesday, January 14th, 7 p.m.
*At Honey Hill Coffee Company
Unbecoming by Jenny Downham

Wednesday, January 15th, 7 p.m.
Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty
LIBRARY NEWS | LIBRARY HAPPENINGS FOR ALL AGES
The Giving Tree
December 1 - January 1

The Library's Tree is transforming into a Giving Tree again for the month of December. We're asking for donations of new hats, gloves, and scarves in adult and childrens sizes.

Once the tree gets good and "dressed" we will make a donation to two area charities.
Food for Fines
December 1 - January 3

Help area families in need and eliminate your library fines!
The Library will accept unexpired, never opened, nonperishable items for the Wauconda/Island Lake Food Pantry in lieu of overdue fines. Each item will equal $1 in fines. Donations cannot be used toward replacement costs or collection fees.
COMMUNITY | COMMUNITY HAPPENINGS
Chess - Open Play
December 26th, 6:00 p.m.
Whether you're an expert or a beginner, you are welcome to come. For those just starting out, the Wauconda Chess Club will hold a 30 minute class each week to teach fundamentals and hold an open play for the remainder.
(Grades 6-12)

NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED
WELL READ | BOOKS WE LOVE
Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams
by Matthew Walker

Submitted by Molly J.
If you have ever heard the saying, “I’ll sleep when I’m dead,” this book may make you rethink that old adage. Author Matthew Walker deconstructs the critical importance sleep plays in a healthy life. Scientific discoveries in sleep and dream research have changed the way we can understand these misunderstood brain functions. Personally, I was scared straight by this book. I’m already getting more sleep! 
(Non-Fiction)

Janis: Her Life and Music
by Holly George Warren

Submitted by Kelly F.
The author has gathered new, firsthand information to capture the intense life, and beatnik to hippie times, of Janis Joplin. Janis grew up in a conventional world that attempted to girdle (quite literally) her creativity and zest for love and life. Read about Janis’ early family years, her college escape to Austin, Texas, and her San Francisco tribe. The many photos complete the picture of Janis’ life.
(New Non-Fiction)


Fake It Till You Break It
by Jenn P. Nguyen

Submitted by Emily D.
This is a classic romance set up – what is not to love? A girl and a boy who can’t stand each other pretend to date so their parents will stop forcing them into situations together. As they spend more time together, something changes in their relationship. But are their differences still too great to overcome? This is the perfect read for fans of Sarah Dessen and Kasie West.
(New YA Fiction)


The Lost Book of the Grail
by Charlie Lovett

Submitted by Lynn M.
Among the ancient manuscripts of a neglected library in a mostly overlooked British cathedral, a middle-aged academic researches a secret his grandfather hinted at - and tries to protect it from a digitizing young American. The most fun book I’ve read in ages.
(Fiction)