En français

View as Webpage

The CS-CAN|INFO-CAN awards acknowledge exemplary contributions to computer science research, education, community and professional service, and the significant accomplishments of computer scientists. 

The process to review and determine the award recipients is rigorous. Nominations are brought forward to Awards Committees, a panel of computer scientists from different disciplines across the country who, after careful consideration of each nomination, select the recipients.

Congratulations to the following CS-Can|Info-Can Award recipients:

Lifetime Achievement Award

The award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to the field of computer science over their careers. These awards recognize career excellence in research, teaching, service, or any combination of these.

Sheelagh Carpendale Simon Fraser University

Robin Cohen

University of Waterloo

Russell Grenier

University of Alberta

Guy Lapalme

Université de Montréal

Alan Mackworth

The University of British Columbia

Outstanding Early Career Computer Science Researcher Award

The award recognizes top early-career computer science academic researchers who are within 10 years of completing their Ph.D. for excellence in research. 

Parmit Chilana

Simon Fraser University

Alec Jacobson

University of Alberta

Julia Rubin

The University

of British Columbia

Excellence in Teaching Award

The award recognizes faculty who have demonstrated exceptional teaching ability, at the undergraduate or graduate level, via classroom lectures, laboratory instruction, thesis supervision, design and development of courses, and use of innovative teaching methods.

Bowen Hui

The University of British Columbia

Elisa Baniassa

The University of British Columbia

Daniel Zingaro

University of Toronto

Canadian Computer Science Distinguished Dissertation Award

The award recognizes computer science doctoral students completing degrees at Canadian institutions and recognize excellence in research and writing in a doctoral dissertation.

Yasha Pushak

The University of British Columbia

Distinguished Service Award

The award recognizes outstanding service to CS-Can|Info-Can and the Canadian computer science community at large (selected by the CS-Can|Info-Can Board of Directors).

Jörg-Rüdiger Sack 

Carleton University

“Canada’s success on the global stage depends entirely on our accelerated adoption of technology across all sectors,” said Dr. Marc Frappier, President CS-CAN|INFO-CAN

“As a nation we have a history of award-winning thought leaders, innovators and founders of some of the most globally disruptive technologies. On behalf of CS-CAN|INFO-CAN, its Board of Directors and its members, I offer my sincere congratulations to all this year’s winners and finalists. We salute the leadership, ingenuity and passion of these individuals who help change and improve the lives, communities and businesses in Canada and often globally for the better.”



CIPPRS Award Gala

June 7 in Montreal

For the first time, CS-CAN|INFO=CAN and CIPPRS are co-hosting the Annual Awards Gala.

Come celebrate with us the major contributions to the field in terms of either research or service to the community.

Registration for this event is required!

Registration Link (takes you to the Co-Located Conference registration site where you can register for the conference and/or the awards dinner)

Hope to see you there!

Computer Science Canada/

Informatique Canada

Get In Touch