Dear Brothers and Sisters in Christ,

Yesterday, Bishop Prior and Bishop-elect Loya met with the Presiding Bishop, members of his staff, and other bishops-elect about plans for bishop consecrations in light of the growing COVID-19 pandemic. Click here to read the announcement recently released by the Presiding Bishop regarding bishop consecrations .

After further discussion with the chair of the Transition Committee and heads of ECMN’s elected bodies, we have determined that the Minnesota consecration will still, God willing, take place on June 6.

However, in the interest of public health, and following the recommendations of the C.D.C. and other experts, it is very likely this will be a significantly smaller event than we originally envisioned , with a small number of people attending in person and a livestream of the liturgy available to everyone. Other dioceses with upcoming bishop consecrations are proceeding in a similar way. 

We will continue to provide updates about details as the situation and plans develop.

We have also been notified that Presiding Bishop Michael Curry will no longer be available to serve as chief consecrator. Bishop Todd Ousley, Bishop for Pastoral Development, will serve in his place. 

As we are all acutely aware, the way in which things will unfold in the coming months remains uncertain. Bishop Prior, Bishop-elect Loya, and the Transition Committee, chaired by the Reverend Beth Royalty, will continue to monitor public health recommendations as they evolve and design a consecration that conforms to the latest recommendations of experts.

We know that welcoming a new bishop offers a rare opportunity to celebrate the unique identity and gifts we have been given as Minnesota Episcopalians, and an opportunity to offer to God our hopes and longings for this next season of our life together.

In order to celebrate as the body of the Episcopal Church in Minnesota, we will plan a larger event for later in the year, when circumstances allow us to be physically together again.


The Rt. Rev. Brian N. Prior, Bishop of Minnesota
The Very Rev. Craig Loya, Bishop-Elect of Minnesota
The Rev. Debbie Brown, President, Standing Committee
The Rev. Beth Royalty, Chair, Transition Committee