Candidates for the 10th Bishop
of the Episcopal Church in Minnesota
Canon to the Ordinary 
Diocese of California
Dean, Trinity Cathedral
Omaha, Nebraska
A Message
from the Standing Committee
Trusting in the guidance of the Holy Spirit and with great enthusiasm, the Standing Committee presents The Rev. Canon Abbott Bailey and The Very Rev. Craig Loya as the slate of candidates for the 10th Bishop of the Episcopal Church in Minnesota.

We believe their manner of life, experiences, gifts, and sense of call to this sacred responsibility are well-suited to the bold and creative call expressed in the ECMN Profile.

The Rev. Susan Moss, Chair of the Search Committee, put it this way:

“Over the past 10 months, with great care, the Search Committee reviewed many qualified applicants in a rigorous and Spirit-led discernment process. These two candidates soared to the top. It is with great confidence and excitement that we present Canon Bailey and Dean Loya.”

The Standing Committee is grateful for the Search Committee’s faithful energy and commitment to their Charge, and we encourage all in ECMN to send their gratitude to these hardworking individuals .

The Standing Committee now presents these two candidates to the Episcopal Church in Minnesota as the slate of candidates for our 10th Bishop. 

The Petition process is now open. Click here for more information.


The Rev. Deborah Brown
President, ECMN Standing Committee
Information about both of these candidates can be viewed online at .
Petition Process Now Open
November 22nd - December 2nd
The Standing Committee is formally opening the petition process at this time. The Petition Process allows for the addition of candidates after the Search Process has concluded and the Standing Committee has announced its slate of candidates to the Episcopal Church in Minnesota. A Petition Candidate will undergo the same degree of background and reference screening as the announced slate of candidates.

Candidates wishing to submit their names for the slate via the petition process may find instructions to do so by clicking the link below. The petition process will close at 5:00 pm (CST) on Monday, December 2, 2019.
Upcoming Events
Add these to your calendar
Bishop Candidate Road Trip
Below find information about the Road Trip, which offers everyone in ECMN an opportunity to meet and interact with each of the candidates. There will be opportunities to participate in several of these forums online. Click here for more information about these events.

At forums, you’ll hear from each candidate about their faith, their vision, and how they think we might join the work of the Holy Spirit here in ECMN in the coming years.

January 13: 1pm Forum, St. Christopher’s, Roseville
January 13: 6:30pm Forum, St. Paul’s, Duluth
January 14: 6pm Forum, Mahnomen, White Earth
January 15: 6pm Forum & Conversation, Bishop Whipple Mission/St. Cornelia’s Church, Morton
January 16: 6pm Forum, The Inn at Shattuck-St. Mary’s, Faribault
January 17: 6pm Closing Celebration & Forum, St. Mark’s Cathedral, Minneapolis

ECMN Electing Convention
On Saturday January 25th, 2020, lay delegates and canonically resident clergy are welcome to St. Mark’s Cathedral at 9am to elect the 10th Bishop of the Episcopal Church in Minnesota. Click here for more information.

For all others, there will be a livestream of the electing convention on the ECMN Facebook Page.

The Rev. Deborah Brown, President
Ms. Laura Bathke, Vice President

The Rev. Devon Anderson
The Rev. Amelia Arthur
Mr. Chris Commers
Ms. Sue Grove
The Rev. Siri Hustad
Ms. Julia New-Landrum
The Rev. Blair Pogue
Ms. Alexis Roy
The Rev. Ramona Scarpace
Mr. Rich Simons