FCB Logo 2
Announcing six amazing speakers for the What's New in Children's Books Half-Day Conference!
Quick Links

Donate to the FCB

Like us on Facebook  Follow us on Twitter


We have a fantastic lineup for our fall Saturday morning conference, which will take place on Saturday, November 2nd from 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.




Meg Kearney is the author oThe Secret Life of Me and The Girl in the Mirror, novels in verse for teens, as well as Trouper, her first picture book, published this fall. She directs the Solstice MFA in Creative Writing Program at Pine Manor. 


Jarrett Krosoczka has written and illustrated ten picture books, nine graphic novels and the recent chapter book, Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked. His Lunch Lady series has twice won the Children's Choice Book Award.


Catherine Gilbert Murdock is the author of six young adult novels, including Princess Ben and Wisdom's Kiss, as well as the popular Dairy Queen trilogy. Her first middle grade novel, Heaven is Paved With Oreos, is new this fall.


Ifeoma Onyefulu has written several picture books that feature her own photographs of life in Nigeria, including Emeka's Gift, Chidi Only Like Blue: an African Book of Colors, A is for Africa, and for younger children, such titles as Home, Play, and Clothes.


Other program highlights include a discussion by Christian Porter, librarian at the Park School, and Terri Schmitz, owner of the Children's Book Shop, on their favorite new books for fall 2013.  


As always, attendees will also enjoy book sales and author signings, as well as coffee and refreshments.


The event will take place at

Pine Manor College's Ferry Administration Building, located at 400 Heath Street 

in Chestnut Hill. 


The cost is $65 for individuals, $25 for students (with valid ID) and $40 for attendees from organizations that are institutional members. 


The registration process will be similar to the spring event. For complete details on how to register and pay your fee, please click on the link below.




Jennifer Cusack, Executive Director

The Foundation for Children's Books