United Way of Washtenaw County's Virtual
Annual Meeting & Volunteer Appreciation
Pam Smith, CEO and Board Chair, Yodit Mesfin-Johnson would normally be on stage this time of year celebrating with you but the pandemic has changed our reality and we acknowledge now more than ever we have work to do. We extend our sincere gratitude and acknowledgement to the volunteers who helped us make incredible strides this past year and we promise, as we advance towards 100 years of helping this community, we will be here tomorrow with you.
Our Annual Meeting and Volunteer Appreciation event recognizes business partners and volunteers who make a difference in our community by giving, advocating, and volunteering. Since we could not publicly congratulate each nominee in person, we wanted to continue to extend our thanks virtually and honor the 2019 award-winning partners and volunteers who helped us advance our vision-- A Washtenaw County where your zip code no longer predicts your opportunity in life.

We are #UnitedforEquity.
Our 2019 Campaign Co-Chairs Kyle Mazurek, Manager of External Affairs at Comcast and Megan Mazurek, Realtor at Charles Reinhart Realtors led the campaign season by announcing a $4.25 million goal. They have supported United Way for more than ten years as Emerging Philanthropists members, event sponsors, and United Way's Board of Directors.
We are proud to announce our 2020 Campaign Chair, Brandon Tucker. He serves as the Associate Vice President of Workforce and Community Development at Washtenaw Community College. Tucker previously served as the Leadership Giving Co-Chair and currently serves on United Way’s Board of Directors.
Congratulations Award Recipients
David Fair
News Director
Greg Dill
County Administrator 
Washtenaw County Government
Judy Walker
Community Volunteer
Thank you to each awardee for supporting the 2019 United Way Campaign Season!
Live United Award
  • David Fair, WEMU 89.1

Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Judy Walker, UWWC Board Treasurer

Spirit of Washtenaw County Award
  • Patrick Helman, Community Volunteer

Rising Star Award
  • Stephanie Moriarity, Superior Materials
  • Joanna Satterlee, City of Ann Arbor
  • SOS Community Services
  • DTE
Robert E. Guenzel Award
  • Greg Dill, Washtenaw County Government

Poppenger Award
  • Jamie Raab, Bank of Ann Arbor
  • Dan Rose, Bank of Ann Arbor
  • Marsha Gordon, Honigman
  • Edwin Peart, Washtenaw County Government

Huron Valley Award of Excellence
  • FCA/CPG Chelsea/UAW 1284
  • A3C Collaborative Architecture
  • Charles Reinhart Realtors
  • University of Michigan
Board of Directors Updates
Join United Way in thanking our outgoing board members, David Canter, previous United Way Board Chair and Judy Walker, Board Treasurer  for their service and commitment to our community.
David Canter
Senior Associate VP, University of Michigan Health System
Executive Director, North Campus Research Complex
Judy Walker
Community Volunteer
Welcome our Incoming Board Members:
Marjorie Dixon
Conlin, McKenney & Philbrick, PC
Mia Milton
Interim Executive Director
of Alumni Relations and Engagement
Eastern Michigan University
Nicole Torbert
Senior Client Experience Manager
2019 Annual Report
Our 2019 Annual Report is now available online. View the full report on our website at uwgive.org/annualreports. Some highlights include:

  • 85% of grants supported racial inequity in Washtenaw County. This is a 10% increase from 2018
  • $1.9 Million in funds returned to Washtenaw County people through our Voluntary Income Tax Assistance Program (VITA)
  • 58% of our financial coaching participants achieved a credit score above 650 after working with a financial coach