April 2021 Newsletter
JOIN US AS WE CELEBRATE AUTISM AWARENESS & ACCEPTANCE MONTH WITH OUR PITCH A KISS FOR AUTISM CAMPAIGN!


Pitch a Kiss for Autism is an autism awareness, acceptance, and fundraising effort by 4 collaborating autism organizations raising money to support families and individuals with autism.

How to Pitch a Kiss:
2. Record your own creative, fun short video of you “pitching a kiss.” Click HERE to see some videos on the PAK Facebook page.
3. Upload your video to your social media platforms. 
4. Add the donation website www.pitchakiss.org and hashtag #pitchakiss2021 
5. Invite your friends, family and co-workers to join you to Pitch a Kiss.
6. Have fun. Be safe. Thank you.
7 Learn more about the prizes you can win by entering the Pitch A Kiss sweepstakes HERE
Image of balloon with Thank You words
SPECIAL THANKS TO THE BADOINO FAMILY & TEAM 4 KIDS FOR PUTTING ON THE AUTISM AWARENESS CRUISIN CAR SHOW ON WORLD AUTISM DAY APRIL 2ND BENEFITTING ASGP!

We are so thankful for all of the time and effort Janine and Victor Badoino put into the Autism Awareness Cruisin Car Show last Friday!

They raised over $3,000 for the Autism Society of Greater Phoenix!

At this fun event, there were over 113 classic cars to see, a raffle,
the Easter bunny, prizes for the cars, and lots of fun for all ages.

Such a wonderful way to give back to our community!

Thank you Team 4 Kids for hosting this event at your Surprise location!
Take a peek at just a few of the great cars from this fun event.

THANK YOU!
Handwriting text writing Take Action Now Motivational Call. Concept meaning Urgent Move Start Promptly Immediate Begin White Text two words green tab key button press computer keyboard work.
Contact your Senator TODAY -
Help Make 
Supported Decision-Making
a Reality in Arizona

HB2538 - Supported Decision-Making - 
has passed the House of Representatives and 
the Senate Judiciary Committee.

NOW IT NEEDS A VOTE OF THE FULL SENATE - and
YOU ARE ESSENTIAL TO MAKING THAT HAPPEN! 

► Supported Decision-Making (SDM) preserves the right of individuals with disabilities and aging seniors to determine how they wish to live their lives.
SDM gives them the help they need to make their own informed decisions, rather than having others make decisions for them.

► House Bill 2538 will establish legal protections for individuals with disabilities who use Supported Decision-Making and for the volunteers who act as their Supporters. This bill passed the House 59-0 on February 24th
It now needs the Senate's approval in order to move to the Governor.

► Supported Decision-Making does not affect legal guardianship in any way, but it can be used as an alternative to guardianship.

► Ten others states and the District of Columbia have adopted SDM laws.
Now it's time for Arizona to do the same!
​​​​​​​
To learn more about Supported Decision-Making, view this Fact Sheet.

You can help ensure this Supported Decision-Making bill succeeds. But we need your help today!

What to Do & What to Say:
  • ​​​​​​Call Senate President Karen Fann today at (602) 926-5874.
  • Tell her you support placing HB2538 (Supported Decision-Making; Supporter Obligations) on the calendar for a full Senate vote. Follow up your call with an e-mail to kfann@azleg.gov.
  • Call your State Senator today. Urge them to vote YES on HB 2538 (Supported Decision-Making; Supporter Obligations) when it is brought to a floor vote. Follow up your call with an e-mail requesting a YES vote.
  • Sign in to the Legislature’s Request to Speak (RTS) System and register your support of HB2538.
  • Share this e-mail with your friends, family, and others who care about individuals with disabilities.

​​​​​​​Senate Members & Contact Info:

Lela Alston (LD24)   (602) 926-5829   lalston@azleg.gov
​​​​​​​Nancy Barto (LD15)   (602) 926-5766   nbarto@azleg.gov
Sonny Borrelli (LD5)   (602) 926-5051   sborrelli@azleg.gov
Sean Bowie (LD18)   (602) 296-3004   sbowie@azleg.gov
Paul Boyer (LD20)    (602) 926-4173   pboyer@azleg.gov
Lupe Contreras (LD19)  (602) 926-5284   lcontreras@azleg.gov
Kirsten Engel (LD10)   (602) 926-5178   kengel@azleg.gov
Karen Fann (LD1)   (602) 926-5874   kfann@azleg.gov
Rosanna Gabaldon (LD2)   (602) 926-3424   rgabaldon@azleg.gov
Sally Ann Gonzales (LD3)   (602) 926-3278   sgonzales@azleg.gov
David Gowan (LD14)   (602) 926-5154   dgowan@azleg.gov
Rick Gray (LD21)   (602) 926-5413   rgray@azleg.gov
Sine Kerr (LD13)   (602) 926-5955   skerr@azleg.gov
Vince Leach (LD11)   (602) 926-3106   vleach@azleg.gov
David Livingston (LD22)   (602) 926-4178   dlivingston@azleg.gov
Christine Marsh (LD28)   (602) 926-3184   cmarsh@azleg.gov
Juan Mendez (LD26)   (602) 926-4124   jmendez@azleg.gov
J.D. Mesnard (LD17)   (602) 926-4481   jmesnard@azleg.gov
Tony Navarrete (LD30)   (602) 926-4864   tnavarrete@azleg.gov
Lisa Otondo (LD4)   (602) 926-3002   lotondo@azleg.gov
Tyler Pace (LD25)   (602) 926-5760   tpace@azleg.gov
Jamescita Peshlakai (LD7)   (602) 926-5160   jpeshlakai@azleg.gov
Warren Petersen (LD12)   (602) 926-4136   wpetersen@azleg.gov
Martin Quezada (LD29)   (602) 926-5911   mquezada@azleg.gov
Rebecca Rios (LD27)   (602) 926-3073   rrios@azleg.gov
Wendy Rogers (LD6)   (602) 926-3042   wrogers@azleg.gov
Thomas Shope (LD8)   (602) 926-3012   tshope@azleg.gov
Victoria Steele (LD9)   (602) 926-5683   vsteele@azleg.gov
​​​​​​​Kelly Townsend (LD16)   (602) 926-4467   ktownsend@azleg.gov
​​​​​​​Michelle Ugenti-Rita (LD23)   (602) 926-4480   mugenti-rita@azleg.gov


Thank you for your advocacy!!

CALLING ALL PRESENTERS...

We are looking for interested individuals who would like to present at our
2021 Annual Autism Conference
held September 16th - 18th, 2021.

We will have a virtual conference again this year and we are looking for presenters on a variety of topics and session lengths of 15, 30, or 45 minutes.

These sessions will be recorded before the conference and available as a Conference Season Pass for individuals, families, and professionals to view over 6 months time. (LIVE speakers for this conference are already confirmed.)

If you have a great idea, story to tell, research to present, therapies that are effective, job opportunities, and more - we want to hear about it!
Feel free to submit for more than one presentation!

Please submit your presentation ideas HERE
Include your name, title (if any), contact information, session topic & desired length of presentation, and any other information that will help us decide.

Deadline to submit presentation ideas: May 1st, 2021

DID YOU KNOW?
Autism Society of Greater Phoenix (ASGP) serves on a variety of committees within AHCCCS and the health plans including the Governor’s Advisory Committee on ASD. We are grateful for all the hard work both AHCCCS and the health plans have done to improve mental health services, however we believe there is much more work to be done. We advocate for better behavioral health services, including the addition of more relationship based therapies such as Floortime, Relationship Development Intervention, PEERS, and Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT). We advocate for therapists to be trained in autism in addition to the various therapeutic modalities they specialize in including, but not limited to trauma informed care and EMDR. We advocate for increasing provider options and incentive pay to create more providers in the behavioral health space who can provide support to all those with autism and their families. We believe the current behavioral health choices are too heavily relying on Applied Behavioral Analysis and that families deserve a variety of choices including relationship based therapies. We believe that mental health services for adults with autism is sorely lacking and network capacity must be expanded.
As always, we believe in increased choice both in providers and in evidence based modalities that best serve the needs of the individual.
Times are challenging. We are here for you.

With 12 FREE monthly online meetings,
ASGP offers something for everyone, including:

LEGO Club & Show & Tell * Parent Support Groups *
Teen & Adult Support Groups * Women’s Support Group *
Virtual Game Nights * Parent Coffee Meet Ups * Autism 101 Class *

If you need help: Visit our website for information, resources, and our calendar of online meetings. Please email us with any questions.

If you can help: $10, $20 or any donation amount you can give directly benefits kids, teens, adults, & families with autism in ArizonaDonations of any amount qualify for the Charitable Organization Tax Credit. (See below.) Additionally, we can arrange monthly giving for you.

If you need a tax credit: ASGP qualifies for the Charitable Organization Tax Credit. Maximum credits are $400 for individuals, and $800 for married couples filing jointly. The Charitable Organization Tax Credit does not conflict with public or private school or foster care tax credits -- you can donate to all of them according to the tax laws.

Be sure to take advantage of the tax credit before April 15th!

Our Qualifying Charitable Organization (QCO) Code is 20728.
Please consult your tax advisor with questions.
Does your employer have a payroll deduction program through your work where they match your donation to our organization through United Way?

Consider making a tax deductible donation of any amount through the United Way program at work by using the Autism Society of Greater Phoenix number: #0281 
DUE TO THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC, THE AUTISM SOCIETY OF GREATER PHOENIX WILL NOT BE HOLDING ANY OF OUR REGULAR IN-PERSON MEETINGS THIS MONTH.

HOWEVER, WE ARE EXCITED TO CONTINUE SEVERAL ONLINE MEETINGS THROUGH ZOOM BELOW. WE HOPE YOU WILL JOIN US ONLINE!
ONLINE SUPPORT FOR TEENS &
YOUNG ADULTS

ASGP VIRTUAL
GAME NIGHTS:
Come and hang out with fellow teens and young adults on the spectrum. Must RSVP below to receive the link to the instructions for each night.

Minecraft & Super Smash Bros Ultimate Game Night

WHEN: Tuesday, April 6th
TIME: 6 - 7:30 PM (NEW, EARLIER TIME!)
This Game Night will include Minecraft (must own full version to play), Super Smash Brothers Ultimate (must have a Switch, the game, & an online Nintendo account to play), & some free games as well. We will be playing in our Discord room.


Questions about Discord?
CLICK HERE to watch a 1 minute video on how to join our Discord room.

Questions about playing Super Smash Brothers at our Game Night?
CLICK HERE for instructions

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

JackBox & Minecraft Virtual Game Night

WHEN: Thursday, April 22nd
TIME: 6 - 7:30 PM (NEW, EARLIER TIME!)
This Game Night will just be games through JackBox on Zoom and Minecraft on Discord.

Questions about JackBox?
CLICK HERE for instructions on how to join us on Zoom using JackBox

ASGP AUTISM PARENT
MEET UPS

HELD THE 2ND & 4TH FRIDAY
OF EACH MONTH

Come and chat with others on the same journey! Share your laughs, struggles, triumphs, & more. No speaker, but there will be someone to lead the discussion each week. Must sign up using the link and will be emailed the Zoom link for the meeting. Join us online!

Limit of 20 people per meeting to keep these meetings small.

WHEN: Friday, April 9th, 9:30 - 11 AM
Meet Up Led by Rachel Lack

WHEN: Friday, April 23rd, 9:30 - 11 AM
Meet Up Led by Cynthia Cypher
ONLINE SUPPORT FOR
AUTISTIC ADULTS

HELD THE 2ND & 4TH SATURDAY OF EACH MONTH

ASGP Asperger's/Autistic Adult Support Group:
Monthly support group for autistic adults ages 18+. (Normally held at the Pyle Center in Tempe)

WHEN: Saturday, April 10th
TIME: 1 - 3 PM

WHEN: Saturday, April 24th
TIME: 1 - 3 PM
NEW: SPANISH ONLINE SUPPORT
FOR CAREGIVERS

ASGP COMUNIDAD DE AUTISMO

Únase a nosotros para nuestra nueva reunión del grupo de apoyo en español de la Sociedad de Autismo del Gran Phoenix que se lleva a cabo el segundo martes de cada mes de 6: 30-8 pm y está dirigida por Catherine Valdivia Moore.

WHEN: Tuesday, April 13th, 6:30-8 PM

ONLINE SUPPORT
FOR WOMEN ON THE SPECTRUM

ASGP GIRL TALK: VIRTUAL MEET UP FOR WOMEN ON THE SPECTRUM

Fun meet up for women on the spectrum ages 16+! Join other women on the spectrum to share challenges unique to women.

Click the link below to RSVP and you will be sent the Zoom meeting information.

WHEN: Wednesday, April 14th, 6:30-8 PM

ASGP ONLINE MONTHLY SUPPORT GROUP MEETING FOR PARENTS

Our online support group will have guest speakers and will allow time for questions. It will also be recorded and uploaded on our website if you are not able to make it to the meeting or we reach our limit.

*We will also raffle off an Amazon gift card at the end of the meeting!*

ASGP Online Monthly Support Group Meeting (3rd Thursday of each month)

JUST ADDED: For the hour before the meeting, come and get your questions answered on ANY topic and get support from Cynthia Macluskie, VP of Autism Society of Greater Phoenix from 6 - 7 PM!

WHEN: Thursday, April 15th
TIME: 7 - 8 PM (Speakers & questions for speakers)
SPEAKERS: Hope Kirsch & Lori Kirsch-Goodwin, Special Education Lawyers
TOPIC: Come and learn all about Special Education questions such as Compensatory Education, Assistive Technology, & more. Bring your questions on these topics and any others on Special Education. Come and learn from the experts! Don't miss it!

ONLINE SUPPORT FOR
YOUNG ADULTS

ASGP North Valley Young Adult Asperger's/ASD Support Group:

Used to meet at Paradise Valley Community College when we could still meet in person.
Currently meeting online during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Led by Dawn Oliver

Attendees: Many hold a diagnosis of non-verbal learning disorder, ASD, ADHD or a learning disability. Build connections and friendships, expand support network, social involvement and interests. Diagnosis is not necessary.

Engage in activities and small group discussions geared toward advancing social skills and building friendships. The group may also plan additional social activities. Ages 17--35.

WHEN: Saturday, April 17th 
TIME: 12 - 1 PM
ASGP AUTISM 101 CLASS:

FREE Class for those new to autism or new to Arizona.

WHEN: Tuesday, April 20th
TIME: 6:30-8:30 PM


*Be sure to visit www.phxautism.org and click on Autism in Arizona for more information on how to access services and even watch an Autism 101 online.*
ONLINE SUPPORT
FOR YOUNG ADULTS

ASGP AZ ASSIST VIRTUAL HANG OUT FOR AGES 18+:

Join other individuals on the spectrum for our AZ ASSIST Virtual Hang Out for ages 18+. During these uncertain times, our young adults need a place to connect too! Let's check in with each other online. RSVP here & you will be sent a link to join the Zoom meeting. FREE!

WHEN: Wednesday, April 28th
TIME: 6:30 - 8 PM
Led by Teri Beardsley

Thank you for all you do. You make a difference, every day!
Ways to Give Back
Support Autism Society of Greater Phoenix * Helping families for over 45 years! 

Awareness * Trainings and Social Events * Lego Clubs * Picnics * Conferences * Advocacy * Outreach * Autism 101 Classes * Rural Advocacy Trainings *Be Safe Trainings for Law Enforcement and the Community *Legislation * Workshops and Classes * Family Events * Mom's Meet Ups * Support Groups for Parents and Adults on the Spectrum * Government Relations * 
 
Almost everything we do for families is free. 91% of all donations go right back out to the local community. All donations are tax deductible. You can give in several ways: 
 
1. Sign up for a payroll deduction program through your employer or consider making a $25 or more tax deductible restricted contribution today to Autism Society of Greater Phoenix through United Way: #0281 

2. Donate online at www.phxautism.org 

3. Donate through Amazon Smiles and a percentage
will come back to us.

4.Donate goods, services or volunteer for our events. Contact Katie for more information on volunteering or donating items.

5. Sign up through Fry's Community Rewards Program for those that use a Fry's card, click the link above, then search for Autism Society of Greater Phoenix either by name or use FE489 and then click Enroll and donations will be sent to ASGP.

6.Mail a donation: 
    Autism Society of Greater Phoenix 
    PO Box 10543 
    Phoenix, AZ 85064 

**REMINDER: the Autism Society of Greater Phoenix is now a Qualified Charitable Organization for the Arizona Charitable Tax Credit. The maximum credits are $400 for individuals, and $800 for married couples filing jointly and you are welcome to donate any amount, and can make payments too.

Our Qualified Charitable Organization (QCO) number is: 20728

Contact a tax professional for more information
on this tax credit.
You will be emailed a receipt for your donation.


THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT!