Welcome to OICMF Scherzo (skert·sō/ noun:  a vigorous, light, or playful composition)
The monthly newsletter of the Orcas Island Chamber Music Festival
A Message from our Founder and Artistic Director

An Unprecedented Exciting Opportunity

There is a lot of online music and creativity happening right now, which is a wonderful thing. We want to let you know about one truly special event, this Saturday, April 4th at 5:00 PDT
which includes our very own Jackie Parker.


A new streaming platform, ourconcerts.live , will be launching this Saturday with a very special virtual concert benefiting Artist Relief Tree.

The concert will feature

Emanuel Ax, Jon Kimura Parker, J’Nai Bridges,
Rachel Barton Pine, Anthony McGill, and Bridget Kibbey

Saturday, April 4, 2020 at
8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT

Tickets Starting at $5


This Saturday, April 4, 2020 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT, OurConcerts.live , a new online channel and streaming service, will bring together some of the industry’s biggest stars for a virtual benefit concert. All proceeds will go to the Artist Relief Tree, a fund created in the past few weeks to financially support artists who are affected by cancellations due to COVID-19.

The concert will feature pianists Emanuel Ax and Jon Kimura Parker , mezzo-soprano J’Nai Bridges, violinist Rachel Barton Pine, clarinetist Anthony McGill, and harpist Bridget Kibbey. Tickets are available on the OurConcerts.live website
( http://www.ourconcerts.live )  , with contributions beginning at $5.

“The COVID-19 pandemic has profoundly affected all of our lives, classical musicians and
audiences among them. We're thrilled and grateful to be working with this wonderful
group of artists, who are all generously donating their time, to bring live music to viewers
everywhere while raising much needed funds to support the classical musicians who
currently lack the ability to earn a living,” says John Zion, Managing Director of MKI Artists and OurConcerts.live co-founder.

OurConcerts.live is a new online channel and streaming service that promotes the
creation and widespread distribution of high quality, live classical music by uniting artists,
presenters, and audiences. It allows performers to share their art from almost any setting,
whether from home through a computer or smartphone, or from a studio or venue with a
professional, multi-camera set-up. Performances can be viewed on a computer, tablet,
mobile device, or cast to a television. In the near future, they will also be available on services like Roku or Amazon Fire.

“Our hope is that this venture will give performers and presenting organizations an
income doing what they do best – enriching the lives of their audiences.” says
OurConcerts.live co-founder Gregory Pine. In contrast to free streaming events, which rely on advertising for revenue, OurConcerts.live , in collaboration with presenting
organizations, sells tickets to live events. The service intends to offer subscriptions that
will include access to multiple live concerts as well as on-demand content. The revenue
from tickets sales and subscriptions will then be shared with both artists and presenting
organizations.

When: Saturday, April 4, 2020 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT
Tickets: Contributions begins at $5

We look forward to sharing more OICMF news and events with you - keep your eyes peeled for next month's Scherzo !
All the best,
Anita Orne
Executive Director
Orcas Island Chamber Music Festival
Orcas Island Chamber Music Festival
Aloysia Friedmann, Artistic Director

917B Mount Baker Road • PO Box 646
Eastsound, WA 98245
(360) 376-6636 • toll-free 1-866-492-0003