April 2021
April Updates
All the titles featured in this email can also be ordered from our Bookshop.org page. Head on over to browse these and other titles and SHOP SMALL (because it's a BIG DEAL to us)!
Whisper Down the Lane with Clay McLeod Chapman

Thu Apr 8th 7:00pm - 8:00pm

"[A] spellbinding psychological thriller...a suspenseful tale of paranoia that will keep readers riveted until the last surprise is sprung."-- Publishers Weekly, starred review
The Salt Fields with Stacy D. Flood

Tue Apr 13th 7:00pm - 8:00pm


April Is National Poetry Month!


"Poetry is the rhythmical creation of beauty in words." --Edgar Allan Poe

Be sure to stop by TLB this month to check out the great poetry selections we have!
SAVE THE DATE!!

Our favorite day of the year is drawing near...Independent Bookstore Day!! Join us Saturday, April 24 to celebrate. We'll have fun giveaways and surprises all day.
Books We're Excited About

Out This Month
AVAILABLE NOW!

"Stunning." --CNN
"Dynamic." --NPR
"Deeply rousing and uplifting." --Vogue

AVAILABLE APRIL 27!

"Both buoyant and bittersweet, Garvin's impressive first novel, a luscious paean to the bonds of friendship and limitations of family, is the kind of comforting yet thought-provoking tale that will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler and Sue Miller."
-- Booklist
AVAILABLE APRIL 20

"This plant refernce has all the perfect descriptors; it's charming, erudite, educational, and aesthetically pleasing...Readers will pick Plants up, time and again, in observation and wonder." - Booklist
AVAILABLE APRIL 6

"Resounding history of Jewish women who fought the German invaders in World War II. In a vigorous narrative that draws on interviews, diaries, and other sources, Batalion delivers an objective view of past events that are too quickly being forgotten--and a story much in need of telling."
-- Kirkus (Starred Review)
AVAILABLE APRIL 6

"You'll laugh, wince, writhe in discomfort, cry, then laugh again....But the two things you'll never do is doubt Jenny's brilliance or her fearlessness when it comes to having honest discussions about mental illness, shame, and the power of human resilience." -- Brené Brown

AVAILABLE APRIL 27

Skillfully condenses the history of the Earth. ... An expert primer on the history of everything.-- Kirkus Reviews




AVAILABLE APRIL 6

From the James Beard award-winning Milk Street team, enjoy 125 easy weeknight dinners that bring the flavors of the Mediterranean into your home--with most meals ready in under 45 minutes.
AVAILABLE APRIL 27

You may have heard of a little shoes company called Vans...now you can read the story behind the founder!
AVAILABLE APRIL 6

Set in a world far along the path to ecological and political breakdown, this striking mix of thriller and biotech speculative fiction from VanderMeer charts a seemingly mad quest by its anonymous narrator. . .Exquisite prose pulls the reader deep into the labyrinthine plot. VanderMeer reinforces his place as one of today's most innovative writers. --Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Out This Month In Paperback
AVAILABLE APRIL 6

The two young women at the heart of this rich debut come of age under the hardest of circumstances, and Kelly Mustian has given us their world entire. We ache for their sorrows, we cheer for their victories, and we recognize both ourselves and our nation in their troubles and their hopes. - Jon Clinch, author of Marley and Finn

Perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing!!

AVAILABLE APRIL 6

'Bewitching... will make you want to throw away your travel pass and move to a remote cottage... Read it to de-stress' - The Lady
AVAILABLE NOW

A welcome expansion of this universe and lays the groundwork for more stories to come in a series that continues to grow and impress. -- Booklist, starred review

One of Mary's favorite series!
Have you read these new historical fiction titles available now for purchase?
Fans of Christina Baker Kline and Kate Quinn will love this beautiful, richly detailed novel about a lost bit of American maritime history. In a seamless blending of fact and fiction, Patti Callahan has created an atmospheric, compelling story of survival, tragedy, the enduring power of myth and memory, and the moments that change one's life.--Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Great Alone
In this book of her heart, Lisa Scottoline delivers what her readers expect and so much more, fast-paced intrigue, but also an authentic, tender coming of age tale of three best friends navigating the complexities of fascism, war, political and family strife and romantic competition.-- Lisa Wingate, author of Before We Were Yours and The Book Of Lost Friends
"Expert storytelling...highly recommended, sure to appeal to fans of women's fiction, WWII-era historical fiction, and the musical Hamilton."
-- Booklist (starred review)
New In Kids
AVAILABLE APRIL 13

In this collection of five connected short stories, clocking in at over ninety pages and composed solely of dialogue, Klassen introduces readers to a turtle, an armadillo, and a snake--all in hats, of course. . .Throughout, Klassen's characteristically deadpan humor refuses to patronize readers; he lets them in on the joke, as always, putting them one step ahead of the protagonists. Smart, funny, and offbeat, this is quintessential Klassen.
--The Horn Book (starred review)
AVAILABLE APRIL 6

"A proboscis-in-cheek introduction to butterflies that will appeal to reluctant readers and bug enthusiasts alike." -- STARRED REVIEW, Kirkus Reviews
AVAILABLE APRIL 13

"Sweetly comic . . . this sustained conversation offers giggles, reassurance, and warmth. Readers may even recognize themselves in a certain hound's bedtime reluctance to say goodbye to the day's pleasures" --Publishers Weeklystarred review
AVAILABLE APRIL 20

Sophie meets a ladybug setting up for a surprise party in Silverlake Forest. Sophie offers to run some errands in town to help her new friend. But by the time Sophie gets to town, she's forgotten what the ladybug said! Will Sophie's friends be able to help her in time to pull off the big surprise?
AVAILABLE APRIL 6

Includes SIX brand new Last Kids short stories by Max Brallier, featuring full-color art by Anoosha Syed, Xavier Bonet, Lorena Alvarez, Jay Cooper, Christopher Mitten and The Last Kids on Earth series illustrator Douglas Holgate!
AVAILABLE APRIL 6

"The twelfth (and final) book about Ivy and Bean finds these best friends still in second grade but hurtling toward their futures by way of career day at school. . . . Blackall's spot art captures the fervor and diligence of the friends. . . [N]ew readers will find funny situations and a fast-moving plot to enjoy."- The Horn Book Magazine
AVAILABLE APRIL 6

In this sequel to the Newbery-winning Merci Suárez Changes Gears (2018), 12-year-old Merci takes on growing responsibilities both within her family and as a seventh-grader...Filled with the familiar, laugh-out-loud humor from the first title, this sequel will quickly pull readers, both returning and new, into Merci's world... Fans of Merci will root for her as they are immersed in her vibrant world full of unique characters and heartfelt surprises.
--Booklist (starred review)
AVAILABLE APRIL 6

The Treehouse books are a perfect balance of minimal text, maximum black-and-white drawings packed with jokes, and unbelievable amounts of nonstop action, gags and exuberant, anarchic storytelling. These books seem ideally designed to make a new reader feel--and be--successful. -- The New York Times
Great YA Titles Now In Paperback
AVAILABLE APRIL 27

"Kritzer's take on a benevolent AI is both whimsical and poignant. An entertaining, heart-filled exploration of today's online existence and privacy concerns." -- Publishers Weekly, starred review

Edgar winner 2020 for best YA mystery!
AVAILABLE APRIL 6

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Raven Boys, a mesmerizing story of dreams and desires, death and destiny.
AVAILABLE NOW

"Acevedo continues to create beautifully realized characters with complex lives... Readers of all sorts will find something to connect with in this honest and ultimately hopeful story."--Horn Book (starred review)
AVAILABLE APRIL 20
"A must-read for fans of Code Name Verity, Taylor's debut aptly blends mystery, romance, history, and complicated family dynamics into a compulsively readable story."----Liz Lawson, author of The Lucky Ones


AVAILABLE APRIL 6

heartbreaking and heartwarming story of survival, loss, and renewal. Sure to please a variety of readers; those interested in historical fiction, romance, and mystery will not be able to put this book down.-- School Library Journal, starred review
What We're Listening to on Libro.fm
Decoding Boys is the ultimate guide to help you understand and raise your boys with acceptance and perspective. Reading it is like having an empathetic, really smart friend who totally gets what you are going through and is helpful every step of the way!" --Mallika Chopra, author of Living with Intent


"Thoughtfully curated by Adler ( His Hideous Heart), this sumptuous anthology reframes Shakespeare's work, linking themes to contemporary concerns while bringing a critical eye to the originals' cultural assumptions. With its range of narrative styles and diverse protagonists, this collection offers much to savor." -- Publishers Weekly
The Little Bookshop | 804-464-1244 | info@thelittlebookshopva.com