ACC held their 44th Commencement on May 25th at Springfield Symphony Hall. ACC graduate Johanna Connors brought greetings on behalf of the students. Additional photos from the evening can be found on ACC's Facebook page. Photo by Julie Cotnoir 

President's Message


The month of May was a very exciting time for Asnuntuck. Being able to see final projects from our students, attending two commencements and watching the progress of the construction projects on campus has been wonderful. Several activities will be taking place this summer. We have the ACC Foundation Golf Tournament scheduled for Monday, July 10th and on June 19th the ribbon cutting will be held for the 27,000 square foot Advanced Manufacturing Technology Center. ACC is proud to offer opportunities to the entire community. Whether it is a change in career, earning a degree or picking up a new hobby, the college has courses, degrees and certificates for every interest. I encourage you to check out the college's fall schedule.

Congrats to our grads and enjoy the start of summer!

President James Lombella

Asnuntuck Community College (ACC) held a commencement ceremony for students at the Cybulski Reintegration Center. The students earned a certificate in Advanced Machine Technology through the Second Chance Pell Program. Read more about the ceremony. Photo by Julie Cotnoir
Foundation News 


Sheila Rivest, representing the Carol Rivest Memorial Foundation, presented ACC's Institutional Advancement and Community Engagement Director Keith Madore with a donation for $3,500 to be used for ACC's Women's Leadership Institute. Learn more about the Foundation. Photo by Margaret Van Cott 

ACC President James Lombella and ACC Foundation Chair Stuart Rosenberg presented ACC Faculty member
Cheryl Turgeon with a plaque recognizing her 12 years of service to ACC's Foundation. Carol LaLiberte has been appointed to the board as one of the two faculty voting seats. Photo by Gennaro DeAngelis
Changing Lives 

Asnuntuck Community College's Changing Lives program's newest episode is hosted by ACC Dean of Continuing Education and Workforce Development, Eileen Peltier. Dean Peltier spoke with guests Michele Howard-Swan, Asnuntuck Allied Health Coordinator and Instructor; Jessica Poirier, Asnuntuck Continuing Education Coordinator; and Kelly Krivacs, Asnuntuck Esthetician Instructor, about the college's healthcare career programs. Read more about the episode. Photo by Sandy Zukowski.

The Month in Review 

Freshwater's Literary Journal held their Festival last month. Freshwater editorial board member Victoria Orifice ( left photo) led a workshop on the benefits and drawbacks of second-person narration. Freshwater faculty advisor John Sheirer and bestselling author Jane Yolen are featured in the photograph on the right. Ms. Yolen was the featured speaker for the event and is the author of  more than 300 books.


ACC students in Professor Coach and Professor Trueman
's  microbiology classes visited Plum Island Animal Disease Center this past month.

Matt Hall, John Sheirer and Margaret Van Cott represented ACC in the Enfield Rotary's Cinco K Mayo Road Race. ACC Alumna and Enfield Rotarian Chris Casey is also photographed. To learn more about Enfield Rotary visit 

  • ACC's Early Childhood Program partnered with the College Career Pathways Program for a high school program. Students enrolled in Early Childhood classes at Suffield and Enfield High Schools visited the college. The program introduced groups of students to creative math, literacy, and music activities.  Students rotated to different stations and engaged in hands on learning. They left each station with a lesson plan of the activity so they can try it out with the children who participate in the high schools' child development programs. 
  • Jim Wilkinson's business students presented their marketing and promotional video and radio advertising ideas to Advanced Manufacturing Technology Director Frank Gulluni as part of their final project. Photos by Julie Cotnoir

Epsilon Pi Tau Student
Students enrolled in ACC's Advanced Manufacturing Technology Program were inducted into the Epsilon Pi Tau (EPT) International Honor Society on May 5th. EPT recognizes academic and leadership accomplishments in science, technology and engineering. Pictured, from left to right, Ezra Bloom, Eric Chung, Guy LaChance, Xavier Pagan, Amanda Harris, Justin Poskus, Alexandria Reid, Andrew Sakowski, Sabrina Czelazewicz, Matthew Streich, Prasanta Upreti and Quinten Welti.

Summer Term Library Hours
Tuesday, June 6 - Tuesday, August 1
Mon-Thurs: 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Fri: 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: CLOSED