Vol. 4, Issue 7
August/September 2018

Homecoming 2018
Please join CBC and the College of Science for Homecoming on Sat., Oct. 27, 2018. CBC students will present a free Science "Magic" Show for all ages at 11 am, and the College of Science will host a Tailgate Party for the 2 hours prior to the football game.

Don Upson Receives Professional Achievement Award
The UA Alumni Association has selected CBC alumnus Donald Upson to receive their 2018 Professional Achievement Award.

2018 CBC Graduate Research Symposium Winners
The 2018 CBC Research Symposium celebrated the recent research accomplishments of the department.

Rachel Utterback Honored
Rachel Utterback, a 4th year Ph.D. student in the Tomat Lab, was selected as this year's winner of the Victor P. Thalacker Graduate Fellowship.

Beth Vinson Retires
After 37 years of devoted service to the Department and the University of Arizona, Beth Vinson has retired.

Jon Njardarson Selected for Fellowship
CBC Prof. Jon Njardarson has been honored with a prestigious Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Fellowship.

Amanda Warner Accepted into Beckman Scholars Program
Biochemistry and Molecular & Cellular Biology double major undergraduate student Amanda Warner has been selected as a Beckman Scholar.

Alumni News

Peter Verhey (BS in Biochemistry, 2010) For the past 2 years I have worked for Medtronic in their Surgical Navigation product line. I recently relocated to Minneapolis, MN as I continue to learn and grow in the medical device industry.
Kevin Zavadil (PhD in Chemistry, 1989) I am serving as a science thrust leader for the recently renewed Joint Center for Energy Storage Research, a USDOE Energy Innovation Hub.