August 2019 e-Notes
Be sure to watch your home mailbox for our annual August mailing!
Franciscan Center, Lourdes University, Sylvania, OH
Northwest District is proud to host this year's conference October 24-26 at the Franciscan Center, Lourdes University, Sylvania, Ohio.
You won't want to miss the exhilarating performance by this year's guest artists, the Brooklyn Duo , and the motivating sessions presented by our guest pedagogue, Sam Holland. C heck out the multitude of presentations, master classes and forums, as well as the link to registration HERE.
Competition Registration Deadline
3:00 pm Eastern Time
September 11, 2019
This year's state MTNA competitions will be held October 19–20, 2019 at Baldwin Wallace University in Berea, Ohio.
2019 Certified Teacher of the Year
Congratulations to Rachel Mauricio Mills, OhioMTA's 2019 Certified Teacher of the Year! Rachel has been a Nationally Certified Teacher of Music through MTNA since 2014, and is currently serving her second term as President of the Central East District of OhioMTA. She holds a BM in Keyboard Pedagogy from Capital University, an MM in Piano Performance & Pedagogy from Bowling Green State University. Rachel will be honored at the OhioMTA State Conference Awards Banquet Dinner and Keynote Address on Friday, October 25, 5:30-7:00 pm.
Teacher Scholarship Deadline
October 1, 2019
OhioMTA's Teacher Scholarship enables teachers to attend conferences and workshops, receive advanced training and further their musical studies. A $500 scholarship will be awarded to the project that best furthers the mission of OhioMTA "to advance the value of music study and music-making in society."
Click Here for more information.
2020 Composer of the Year - Call for Nominations
MTNA encourages the creation of new works by American composers and assists affiliated State Associations with the generation and performance of new music through the national Composer Commissioning program. The newly commissioned work will receive its premiere performance at OhioMTA's 2020 State Conference and then be submitted to MTNA to be considered for its Distinguished Composer of the Year award. Nominees are solicited from the membership; a member or local association may nominate a composer, or a composer (MTNA member) may nominate themselves. 
Deadline for composers' submission of materials is September 15, 2019. For complete information click here and scroll down the page .
OhioMTA Welcomes
New Member Linda Pratt!