August 2020 e-Notes
*Watch your USPS mailbox for our annual August mailing!*
Certified Teacher of the Year
Congratulations to Sally Sansbury, OhioMTA's 2020 Certified Teacher of the Year!
Over the years, Sally has been involved in Central East District in various capacities: Co-Chair of Graves Competition, Chair of Buckeye Auditions and Publicity Chair.  She is currently the Vice-President of Student Competitions and Co-Chair of Summer Music Scholarships.  Sally became a Nationally Certified Teacher of Music in 2004. Her students have placed in district as well as statewide competitions, garnered top honors in the Royal Conservatory Exams, and won music scholarships to noted colleges.
Membership Renewal Due Date
September 1, 2020
As a member, you know that in response to the pandemic, MTNA graciously extended the membership renewal deadline to September 1, 2020. In the meanwhile sources such as Legal FAQs for studios considering a return to in-person lessonsa curated list of some of the best and most helpful resources to support your teaching practice during the COVID-19 health crisis, and a document of COVID-19 FAQs for State and Local Music Teacher Associations
have been invaluable to us as teachers.
Don't delay, RENEW YOUR MEMBERSHIP today!
2020 State Competitions:

The registration deadline to participate is 3:00 pm Eastern Time, September 16, 2020.
The competition will be video-only. The deadline to submit videos is 11:59 pm Eastern Time, October 17, 2020.

More information is at the following links: 

If you have any further questions, please contact:
Dr. Cole Burger, Competitions Coordinator
Dr. Sun Min Kim, Young Artist Competitions Coordinator
Dr. Andy Villemez, Junior/Senior Competitions Coordinator 
OhioMTA’s Slate of Officers
(2020-2022 term)
President: Andrew Focks
President-Elect: Susan Treer 
VP-Conferences: Holly Kessis
VP-Membership: Peter Oehrtman 
VP-Student Activities: Siok Lian Tan 
VP-Affiliated Associations: Jessica Briggs 
Treasurer: Brent Schloneger 
Immediate Past President: Sonya Szabo Reynolds 
Welcome New Members!
Melissa Bair (CE), Brianna Campbell (CE), Scott Cuellar (CE), Claire Greene (W), Deborah Inks (NE), Irwing Shung (NE)
* Be sure to like and follow us on Facebook *