No Day Shall Erase You From the Memory of Time.jpg

Dear Residents & Community Members,

As August winds down and we shift our focus to back-to-school and everything Autumn, we do so hoping the Summer afforded you the opportunity for time away, a chance to hit the reset button and plenty of memory making!

In just a few short weeks, we will solemnly mark the 20th Anniversary of 9/11. As we reflect on the countless lives lost that day and those forever affected by the day's events, we remember in a special way the Town of Monroe community members who left their loved ones and hometown that morning and never returned. Let us always remember them and their sacrifice and may we forever be reminded of the brevity of life by living each day to the fullest in their memory.

We remember:

Michael E. Asher

Matthew E. Barnes, FDNY

Thomas Dowd

Kenneth Marino, FDNY

Edward Mazzella Jr.

Michael Montesi

Lynne Irene Morris

"Our hearts and minds are one-We shall not forget."


Tony Cardone

Supervisor, Town of Monroe

Valerie Bitzer Appointed Town Clerk

Valerie Bitzer was recently appointed to the position of Town Clerk at the August 16th Town Board Meeting. Valerie previously held the position of Deputy Clerk since September 2017.

Former Town Clerk, Mary Ellen Beams recently retired after 19 years of service to the Town of Monroe.

Val Appointment.jpg
Doug Krauss Retirement .jpg

Pictured from left to right: Town of Monroe employees, Ann Marie Morris, George Kydon, Helen Knickerbocker, Town Supervisor Tony Cardone, Sgt. Doug Krauss and Orange County Legislator Pete Tuohy

The Town of Monroe congratulates Sgt. Doug Krauss on his recent retirement from the Monroe Police Department. We sincerely appreciate Sgt. Krauss' commitment to protect and serve over the past 20 years with both the New York City Police Department and Monroe Police Department.  We wish him much health and happiness in his next chapter!

M-W Little League 9-11U District Team Are New York State Champions!


Congratulations to the Monroe-Woodbury 11U Little League All-Star team on their recent New York State Championship! This amazing team went 10-1, defeating Tri-Village for the title. This achievement marks the first time a Monroe-Woodbury Little League baseball team has won a New York State Little League Championship in more than 40 years.

Town of Monroe Food Truck Festival Organizers Present Donation Check to Community Foundation of Orange and Sullivan

Community Foundation Check Presentation 08032021.jpg

Pictured from left to right: Jennifer Schnaars, Secretary to the Supervisor, Elizabeth Rowley, President and CEO, Community Foundation of Orange and Sullivan, Ann Marie Morris, Senior Center Director and Parks Department Head, Nicole Feller Lee, Director of Development & Communications, Community Foundation of Orange and Sullivan, and Tony Cardone, Town of Monroe Supervisor

*Not pictured, Councilman Sal Scancarello 


The Town of Monroe was pleased to present a donation check to the Community Foundation of Orange and Sullivan for money raised at the Town of Monroe Food Truck Festival held in June at O&R Park. Through the support and generosity of the festival’s attendees, over $2,000 was raised in support of the Foundation’s mission of enabling charitable individuals and organizations to become meaningful donors by providing trusted support and expertise for their contributions to make a difference in the community.

Founded in 1999, the Community Foundation of Orange and Sullivan currently manages more than 300 separate component funds and has distributed over $17 million in charitable grants and educational scholarships since the organization was established.

In response to the COVID pandemic, the Foundation established the Orange and Sullivan COVID-19 Response Fund in April 2020. Since its inception, this fund has distributed $586,000 in grants to 110 nonprofits. Additional information on this initiative and available funding can be found at or by contacting the Foundation at 845-769-9393.

2021 Town of Monroe Back to School Photo News Ad - Copy.jpg

Welcome Dave's Daylight Donuts!

Daylight Donuts New Owners.jpg

Pictured from left to right: Dave Abt (owner), Town Supervisor Tony Cardone & Dave Abt (owner)

Dave's Daylight Donuts (previously known as Daylight Donuts) recently reopened under new ownership. In addition to some old favorites, Dave has added some delicious new menu options and is open 7 days a week. Please consider patronizing this local business located in the Gateway Plaza at 371 Route 17M in Monroe.

Town Hall Eagle Scout Project Progresses With Addition of

Picnic Tables

Picnic Tables.jpg

Eagle Scout candidate, Jack Thau recently completed the second phase of his Town Hall focused project by constructing (5) handicap accessible wood picnic tables for the rear deck of the Monroe Town Hall. Jack previously planted Green Mountain Boxwood Bushes around the perimeter of the patio, as well as (3) Colorado Blue Spruce Trees in the area in front of the windows of the Court Room for privacy.

To conclude his project, Jack is working on a memorial perpetual plaque made with 24 plates for engraving the names of first responders, who were residents of the Town of Monroe, and died in the line of duty, The number of plates for engraving can be increased, if needed.

Community Pride for Orange County Olympians

Mike Tobey - Copy.jpg

Congratulations to Monroe native, Mike Tobey on his Olympic run with the Slovenia Men's Basketball Team at the Tokyo Games. Mike played collegiately for the University of Virginia and currently plays professionally in Spain. After obtaining a Slovenian passport, Mike was eligible to play for the country's national team.

Stefanie Dolson - Copy.jpg

We also extend our congratulations to Stefanie Dolson of Minisink Valley whose participation with the U.S. Women's Basketball team resulted in a Gold Medal win! In recognition of this achievement, County Executive Steve Neuhaus declared Saturday, July 31, 2021 as Stefanie Dolson Day in Orange County.

Flagship Monroe Opening Sept 3.jpg
Meeting Graphic.jpg

Upcoming Meetings:

Town Board: September 7th, September 20th, 7 p.m. at Town Hall

Planning Board: September 21st, 7:15 p.m. at Town Hall

Zoning Board of Appeals: September 28th, 7:30 p.m. at Town Hall